WordPress! What are you doing to me?

Dear WordPress Boffins,

I understand you have to maintain the system, and introduce new features etc, etc., but some of the unintended consequences are really annoying! Like not being able to look at my comments for three days.

Then this morning I pressed the comments notification icon, and lo and behold, my comments were back! I thought the problem, whatever it was, was fixed, but tonight at 8 pm it was back :

Image

What you are looking at is a connection that never connects.

But wait, there’s more. Something similar happens with the quick post feature. I can create a new post without any problems, however when I try to save the draft, or preview the post, I get this :

quick post problem

You guessed it, the never-ending connection again.

By contrast, everything on the old dashboard works just fine.

Now comes the interesting part. I use the Opera browser, and it is very strict with html, so I thought I’d try my blog using IE, which I loathe. And lo, comments work again, which tells me there is something wrong with the WP code, because IE is notoriously slack.

I can’t believe you would optimize your code just for IE! Please do something to fix this situation because it’s becoming unbearable.

Yours most unhappily,

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

16 responses to “WordPress! What are you doing to me?

  • EllaDee

    Ah, the upside of having very little time to spend online at the moment… WP glitches. I use IE and ordinary Google which works fine (fingers & toes crossed) but I’m constantly getting messages that I need to upgtrade to Google Chrome which last time I used it was very buggy… groan… so I agree, I know programmers, analysts etc need to do something to spend their time but we users have so many better-other things to do than be testers for their bright new ideas. If I could tick a preference box saying plain, basic options, I would.

    Like

  • Honie Briggs

    Comment viewing must be an upgrade. Connectivity, also an upgrade. In case it is three days before you read this, I knew exactly how you felt. Tweaks make me crazy.

    Like

    • acflory

      Sadly it has been a couple of days. The good news is that I’ve worked out how to fix the problem, but I’m still annoyed because I shouldn’t have to jump through hoops like this. Ah well…

      Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    Sorry you’re still having problems. I drafted a post for next week about my unfollowing problem, so I feel your pain!

    Like

    • acflory

      I stumbled on a solution [for me] but it may be applicable to whichever browser you are using as well. It involves finding the ‘error console’ on your browser, and getting rid of the error messages listed there.

      That said, my problem was a simple display issue, unfollowing sounds like a more heavy weight problem. :/

      Like

  • geooorge

    Actually, it may be Opera’s fault.
    I’m also using Opera and i have issues with Blogger and Google’s developer site. Opera stopped updating their browser and are instead pushing Opera Next which is using Google’s Chrome engine.

    But i friggin hate Opera Next! so, give Chrome a try. At least until Opera decides to put Bookmarks back as they were in their old and great browser, instead of that dumb tile based thing that takes the whole screen without needing to…

    Like

    • acflory

      Damn! If I could have read your reply I could have fixed my issues days ago. 😦

      You are absolutely right – it is an Opera issue. The browser takes exception to every non-standard piece of code, and I guess the error console eventually fills up or something.

      I finally stumbled across mention of the error console this morning and now I’m back in business.

      I don’t particularly like Chrome so your news depresses me enormously. I think I’ll just stick with this version of Opera until it dies of old age.

      Like

  • pinkagendist

    nightmare… this happens to me every couple of weeks. I thought it was my ancient computer’s fault.

    Like

    • acflory

      Aaaaah. Have a look at the post I wrote today – just before the bushfire one. It details how to clear something called the ‘error console’ in your browser. Apparently most? every? browser has one but where they hide it will depend on the browser you use. Good luck!

      Like

  • davidprosser

    I get very frustrated that sometimes I’m unable to comment on WordPress blogs I follow unless I choose to do so as a Twitter or google+ entity. Or, every time I want to comment it makes me sign into wordpress again. Just recently it’s been behaving until this morning when it started again though since the last sign in it appears to be working. I’m on Google chrome.I like WordPress a lot but there appears to be a lack of consistency.
    xxx Hugs and hopes for it getting better xxx

    Like

    • acflory

      Ugh, I had no idea so many people were experiencing problems. It seems as if every tweak of the software results in something unexpected. I wish they’d give us some warning. 😦

      Like

  • dianaroggenbuckebrown

    Oh my goodness I totally feel your frustration. I updated WordPress today and this new update is just terrible, it is not user friendly at all. For someone like me that has very limited IT knowledge it’s a total nightmare. Hope your glitches get fixed.

    Like

Don't be shy!

