My pc just blew up – literally

Three hours ago I was sitting, playing Final Fantasy XIV, and cursing because the air-conditioner wasn’t keeping up with the heat, when bang!

Actually it was more of a loud pop than a bang, but it was the fact it came from my pc that scared me. That, and the slight smell of scorching. My beautiful, [relatively] new computer was dead.

I’m not nerd enough to know what happened but I do have a few clues. For starters, the fan on the pc always runs very loud when I play Final Fantasy XIV, but otherwise you can hardly hear it. The second clue is that the case of the pc always heats up when I play the game. If I’m just doing normal computer stuff it stays cold.

So putting 2 + 2 together, I thought that perhaps the video card had fried from a combination of over-work and ambient heat. It’s not the fastest, most cutting edge video card but it is a good one so replacing it won’t be cheap.

Unfortunately, in this case I fear that 2 + 2 does not equal 5. You see, when I opened up the case, and had a look, I saw that the video card is nowhere near the hot spot I could feel on the outside of the case. In that spot is the CPU and the motherboard, and together they make up the heart of the pc. Replacing them is going to be expensive, and that’s assuming that everything else is still ok.

I won’t know whether my diagnosis is correct until tomorrow, when I take the beast in to my tech guy, but it looks as if I’ll be working on my old XP machine for some time to come.

I always try to look for the bright side to things, but I’m digging to China with a plastic spoon tonight. I could say that I’m glad I’m a hoarder and didn’t throw my old pc out, but I know this incident will just make me an even worse hoarder in the future.

Oh well, IΒ am glad I didn’t throw the old beast out, but I can’t help wondering what else is going to collapse on me. Β So far I’ve had to have the big heater fixed. Then it was the fire-fighting pumps, then both air-conditioners, then one of the pumps again. And now this. Enough already!

Oh, and to put the icing on the cake, I haven’t been able to see the comments to my blog for two days. 😦

Goodnight everyone, I’m going to bed. At least my Kindle is still working!

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

29 responses to “My pc just blew up – literally

  • Candy Korman

    An exploding PC!
    Should I be happy that I’ve always been a Mac person? LOL…
    Hope you recover soon.

    Like

    • acflory

      lmao – in defence of pc’s, I’ve been using them since 1984-ish and this is the first time it’s ever happened. Thankfully it was only a faulty power supply and easily fixed. :p

      Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    Sorry to hear that! At least you know what you’re looking at inside the case. I wouldn’t have a clue!

    On a separate note, I must apologize. It appears WordPress has unfollowed your blog for me. Two weeks ago, I noticed this happening with some blogs I’ve followed for a long time. If it weren’t for following people on FB and Twitter, I wouldn’t have known they posted and probably wouldn’t figure out I hadn’t seen a post from them in a while. Sure enough, I saw your post on Twitter today and thought, “Hmm, I don’t think I’ve seen a post from ACFlory in a while.” I click the link and see that I’m no longer following your blog. I’ve since refollowed you, but I’m left wondering who else has been unfollowed for me that I don’t realize. Argghh!

    Like

    • acflory

      Ouch. 😦 I love WordPress, but sometimes the hidden tweaks drive me crazy. I suspect they’ve been making changes of some sort and the unfollow was one of the unintended results. The only thing I’ve noticed recently is that my little notifications icon – the orange one – doesn’t work. So I can’t see who’s responded to one of my blogs. I’ve resorted to commenting on my own blog posts as if I was an outsider. It’s really frustrating as I can’t check all of them manually.

      Hopefully this latest round of tweaks will be sorted out soon.

      Like

  • littlemissobsessivesanatomy

    hope the computer guy fixes it without a hitch … 😦 i know how that feels… i lost part of story when my laptop’s hard drive died on me…

    Like

    • acflory

      Hi Little. πŸ™‚ I hope so too! I as just starting to get excited about a new story I’m working on. Now I have to wait until everything is fixed before I can get back to it as I hadn’t done a backup in a week. 😦

      Like

  • EllaDee

    Mercury retrograde is lurking about, maybe it’s snuck up on you early… surprise!!!…. but bloody hell… so annoying. Just keep telling yourself it could be worse – maybe that will make you feel a bit better, but it’s a painful way to start a new year.

    Like

    • acflory

      lol – it really does feel as if /something/ has it in for me. You’re right though, things could be much worse. Luckily a good night’s sleep has given me a more positive outlook this morning. πŸ™‚

      Like

  • Yvonne Hertzberger

    Oh brother! As if the heat wave isn’t enough to deal with. I hope you haven’t lost anything important. You likely already have back-ups, right?

    Like

  • davidprosser

    You know I have my fingers crossed for you that it’s not as bad as you fear.Maybe your techie will have the right parts in and have the box back to you for the weekend.
    xxx Hugs Galore xxx

    Like

    • acflory

      I would love to think so David, but I know he had to order the motherboard and CPU in especially when he built the pc to my specs. I hate Intel so I always use AMD processors. Unfortunately, because they’re not so popular, he doesn’t keep them in stock. 😦

      Like

  • metan

    Eeek! That is bad. 😦 it was pretty hot today, and it is going to be way worse on the weekend. All bad.

    It was the kids last day of holidays today so I let them spend the day on the xbox. Before they turned it on I pulled it out of the cabinet, put it on a box where it was going to get some air flow and directed a small fan at it, there it remained all day to keep the thing from doing what your PC has done.

    I hope your bang was something minor and not PC killing, good luck with the tech guy.

    Like

    • acflory

      You know I really should have done that too. I did have a floor fan directed at it but in hindsight I should have pulled it away from the wall for better air flow. -sigh- Keep your fingers crossed for me.

      Like

      • metan

        Fingers and toes crossed…..

        You might not have gone to the extremes I did to cool it though, you would have laughed to see the construction I built to direct the fan at exactly the right spot. It was a desktop clip-on fan so there was a pile of DVD box sets and video game boxes topped by a thick hardcover gardening book to clip it on to, all in order to get it to the right height and on the right angle…. πŸ˜€

        Like

        • acflory

          -giggles- After what you did with your grey water setup, nothing you do would surprise me :p Seriously, though, it does highlight how extreme this heat is getting.

          When I was in the shop getting my pc fixed, another woman came in with a similar problem. We got to chatting and she said she’d been forced to open the case and setup a fan directly infront of the innards to keep the pc cool enough just to finish her work.

          They may have to develop pcs specifically for the Australian market soon. I know hardcore techies setup complicated water cooling systems so they can overclock their pcs [make them go faster] so maybe we’ll all need something similar in 5 year’s time. :/

          Like

          • metan

            I think you’re right. It seems our hot spells are something a bit extreme doesn’t it. Look at the big wheel in Melbourne! Built, broke in the first hot days then spent years getting fixed. Same design worked in other places in the world, just couldn’t sit out in the sun on a hot day without dying. I know how it feels! πŸ˜€

            I used to work in an office that was kept so cold for the computers the girls I worked with wore woolly cardigans at their desks all summer. 40+ outside, 12 inside!

            It is definitely worth ventilating our precious gamey things. I’ve even got the boys trained now, they get up from the couch regularly to put a hand on the case to check the temperate of the console. They even make different game choices on a hot day so they can play for longer. Minecraft has been getting a really good go at the moment as the box stays cool all day. War of the North seems to make the box combust almost immediately so that one has been pushed to the back! They even went and spent some of their hard earned on a cooling fan that strapped over the vents of the Xbox. Sadly it was for an older console so it wouldn’t fit properly. Grrrr…. They didn’t have the correct one in stock so the kids got their money back and I have to keep building my tottering fan tower on the floor. Bring on winter I say!!

            Like

          • acflory

            Oh this made me smile. Your boys are getting such an amazing education without even knowing it. By the time they grow up they’re going to know so many self reliant things.

            I suspect that the better the graphics of the game the more the console/pc has to work to display them. Definitely a trade-off there.

            Trust me, after the fire scare today, winter can’t come soon enough for me. It turned out to be another dress rehearsal but I don’t actually find that reassuring. It’s as if Fate is standing in the wings, sniggering and saying ‘just you wait, your turn will come’. Sheesh.

            You know what else I’m looking forward to? A roast pork dinner, and pumpkin soup…getting so very sick of salad!

            Like

          • metan

            Totally with you there. I baked biscuits this morning before it got too hot, I’m sick of cold dinners and no real cooking!

            Re the hot console, that is exactly what I told the boys, the more the game thingo has to think the hotter it gets, that is why they’ve turned to Minecraft, basic graphics and no battles. They have been building massive flame-covered pyramids though, so just as well the outer temp is no reflection on what is going on inside the game! πŸ˜€

            Bring on spring I say! Heatwave, I’m over ya! πŸ˜€

            Like

          • acflory

            lol – great minds. I cooked a real meal tonight. Now I can hardly wait to curl up in my doona!

            Like

  • dianaroggenbuckebrown

    I hope it’s not as bad as you suspect. They say bad luck comes in threes but seems like you have already exceeded that number. Still I guess it’s only material stuff which can be replaced.

    Like

Don't be shy!

