Hershey bars on tap

Ok, I admit I love a good gadget, and I’ve been fascinated by the concept of 3D printers since I first heard about them some years ago. A friend and I used to brainstorm about the uses to which such a new technology could be put. Now it seems Hershey, the candy maker, has been thinking along the same lines.

Follow this link to an amazing article on Venture Beat. When you finish reading it, ask yourself how you’ll stick to that diet once this technology really gets off the ground. πŸ˜‰

Enjoy,

Meeks

Oops – and p.s., part 2 of my article on Indies Unlimited is not up.

http://www.indiesunlimited.com/2014/01/27/pitching-to-the-new-gatekeepers-part-ii/

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

15 responses to “Hershey bars on tap

  • davidprosser

    I’m amazed that they’re ready to roll 3D printers off the conveyor belt at just over $100 a pop. But what about the ‘inks’? Surely these will have to be something way different from now especially if you’re printing chocolate bars off one minute and robotic arms the next.
    I was astonished when I read some months ago that hospitals were ready to print off body parts for use in surgery, perhaps a new heart valve or something designed to fit but I can’t get my head round all the different things that would be needed to create these things. Many of us already find the cost of new inks prohibitive in our cheap printers but can often find generic ones that will do. What kind of materials will we need to run these 3D printers and will each type cost an arm and a leg? Will there be Hershey chocolate one to create the Hershey bars , Cadbury chocolate ones for their bars, maybe titanium alloy ones for robot enthusiasts with a side ability to create computer chips? Will we find ourselves looking on Ebay for generic inks to fit these too?
    xxx Huge ‘Confused’ Hugs xxx

    Like

    • acflory

      No real idea how the manufacturers will wangle it, but I’m confident they will. 3D printers are exactly what online shopping needs to really take off – the perfect convenience. πŸ™‚

      Like

  • acflory

    Great questions David! My guess is you’d have to buy something like ‘cassettes’ containing the relevant inks which you would then swap in and out as needed. So say you love Cadbury’s Dairy Milk chocolate bars. Instead of going to the supermarket and buying a big block of the chocolate, you could order a cassette containing enough material for say, 10 bars. Then you’d ‘print’ them off when you get peckish. In 100 years’ time out pantries might contain nothing but ‘cassettes’ – probably doing away with tinned goods and frozen meals in the process.

    Honestly? I’m glad I won’t be there to eat printed food, but as a sci-fi buff I’m excited by the concept. πŸ™‚

    Like

  • Colin

    When they make a 3D printer for strong morning tea, sign me right up! πŸ˜›

    Like

  • DV Berkom

    Love it! When I first heard about 3-D printers, my imagination just took off. I KNOW I can fit it into a book, somehow πŸ™‚

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes! I keep trying to imagine how this technology will be used in, say, 50 years time. Will it be as ubiquitous as personal computers are now? The possibilities are literally endless!

      Like

  • Ilil Arbel

    quite honestly, it seems pointless to me. A perfect example of Excessive consuming by those who can afford it, while the rest getting closer and closer to devastating poverty.

    Like

    • acflory

      Hi Ilil, lovely to see you again! And yes, in real terms you’re absolutely right. But…but… there could be positives too! Just think, in years to come you might be able to get your prescription filled without having to leave the house! Or something. Ok, I know I’m a bit of a gadget freak but to me, this is more exciting than the smart phone revolution. πŸ™‚

      Like

  • anne54

    I get that dilemma of over-consumption, but I think that what is exciting about a 3D printer at the moment are the possibilities they might create. Unfortunately, we know that as well as the benefits there will be problems.

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes, every single new technology has its dark side. Who would have thought the simple mobile phone would become such an obsession to so many people?

      Like

      • Ilil Arbel

        There are tremendous benefits to the technology — for example, they can make custom made prostheses for animals, and I saw one made for a beloved pet duck who needed it for his foot. But chocolate? And plastic toys? Whatever for? And why would I want my prescriptions made at home? Soon we will never leave our houses, bury ourselves in a million machines… I think we should go out more, not less!

        Like

        • acflory

          lmao – good points Ilil! I definitely agree re the food – I think there’s not need for it. But then I still know how to cook, and I enjoy the flavour of real food, but an awful lot of people these days are more interested in convenience than nutrition.

          I suspect the spread of 3D printer products will cause an ever widening divide between those who embrace the convenience of this technology, and those of us who still like doing things for ourselves.

          Re getting out more – I totally agree with you…/now/…but I can see myself at 90, using this kind of technology to maintain my independence long past the point where people can now. I watched my mother’s world shrink when she couldn’t get around much any more, and I swore that would never happen to me. I live in hope. πŸ™‚

          Like

  • Kathryn Chastain Treat

    This is all a little too futuristic for me. Maybe it is may environmental illness that makes me so wary.

    Like

    • acflory

      Ah…good point Kathryn.Every new technology has its negative aspects and the /quality/ of the food that might result is definitely one of those.

      I won’t touch GMOs on principle, and try to eat organic where possible, so like you, I don’t think I’d be printing off any candy! Other things I’m far more excited about – like say being able to buy a print book on Amazon and having it delivered at low cost to /my/ 3D printer. It shouldn’t be that hard to print a nice shiny cover and pages of print. πŸ˜€

      Like

Don't be shy!

