A cool breeze through my window…

There were times over the last five days when I doubted I would ever say ‘cool’ and ‘window’ in the same sentence again. It really was that hot. Then yesterday, day five, the downstairs air conditioner refused to work. The one upstairs in the Daughter’s room gave up the ghost the day before. Which just goes to show things can always get worse, but I’m not actually complaining – the fire stayed away despite the weather. That is worth a great deal.

I’ve never thought of myself as superstitious before, but now I have this overpowering feeling that we all pay for good luck in big things by having bad luck in small things. So far, I’ve had bad luck with the servicing of my fire fighting pumps, my ignorance about how to run them properly, the subsequent leak in one of the pumps, the breakdown of two air conditioners, and a mild touch of heat exhaustion. But if all that adds up to no bushfire threatening my home then I truly do count myself lucky in the ways that really matter.

I’m not looking forward to the cost of repairing all these big gadgets of mine, but for now I’m loving the feel of cool air caressing my skin. It’s so cool I’m just a whisker off goosebumps. It feels wonderful. πŸ™‚

Enjoy the cool Warrandyte, and stay safe.

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

16 responses to “A cool breeze through my window…

Don't be shy!

