Can you guess what this is?

Oh no, it's that time of year again...

Oh no, it’s that time of year again…

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

20 responses to “Can you guess what this is?

  • davidprosser

    Well it looks like a ping-pong ball or some kind of an egg. Or is it a football pitch on a bald head? Gissa clue……….
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

    • acflory

      lol – not even close! It’s a light fitting [with the light on] covered in tiny flying bugs. They’re absolutely rife this time of year and seem to get in /through/ the flywire screens.

      Like

  • metan

    Hee hee, we had that night too. There was me, all alone In front of the tv, all the doors and windows open for a slight breath of cool air with all the lights off hoping the bugs would stay outside. They glued themselves to the tv but not as badly as they have on nights when we have left a light on.
    Horribly hot again today already isn’t it. Bring on the ice age I say! πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • acflory

      -grin- I had a feeling you’d know. I’d literally just cleaned out the light fittings. Then I looked up and there was a cloud of those tiny bugs again. They’re so small they seem to make it through the fly wire without any trouble.

      Like

      • metan

        And they’re bitey little buggers too!
        I actually climbed up on a high stool and took a photo of them the other night to blog but couldn’t get it to work as I wanted. The kitchen light was covered and there were hundreds on the ceiling around it casting long shadows. “Don’t go into the light!” Was the first thing that came to mind. πŸ™‚

        Like

        • acflory

          Gawd, you’re nice. My first thought was ‘where did I put the bug zapper!’. I try not to twitch every time one lands on me but I swear they make my skin crawl.

          Like

        • metan

          He he, Apparently as a child I used to get a reaction to them if they were on my clothes or sheets. My mum had to dryer everything to kill them before I could use them. Now I’ve learnt not to attract their attention! I hate them walking on me too.

          Like

        • acflory

          Yuck! I wonder if I’m a bit allergic to them as well. Every year about this time I get ‘bitten’ by something. Maybe it’s as simple as a contact allergy. I noticed they weren’t around as much last night after the cool down. I think I will have to look for that bug zapper under the house. Thanks for telling me.

          Like

  • anne54

    Bugs on a light? We have light fittings that seem to encourage bugs to mass suicide too, ending up with all the bodies on the inside of the fitting.

    I think part of the problem with the heat was that we had so many dull days of around the 20 mark, and then — whamo — 40 degrees! So glad I am no longer in the classroom, occupying kids on their second last day at school for the year, in 40 degrees. That would have just beeen cruel!

    Like

    • acflory

      lol – I remember those days. Nothing much happening, just watching the clock sloooooowly tick past one minute after the other. And yes, you got it in one. I wonder if this is an Aussie only phenomenon?

      Like

      • anne54

        We don’t get them in the house — fortunately. But we do get them in Alice the Caravan. Sitting in bed with the reading light on is not fun when these annoying bugs are dropping on you or flying around. Even after you spray there is the issue of all those little bodies……

        Like

  • EllaDee

    Planet of the Bugs. Get out the spray, and the mozzie coils!

    Like

    • acflory

      Can’t use sprays so it’s out with the vacuum cleaner again. Kind of like the Little Dutch Boy sticking his finger into the hole in the dyke but… I’ve got guests coming, dammit!

      Like

  • Candy Korman

    Looks like bugs on a balloon, but I’m guessing it’s a light.

    So… give it up. What is it?

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes! It’s a round light fitting with all these teeny, tiny bugs that explode in numbers this time of year. All my aussie blogger friends picked it straight away so I wonder if this is something unique to us?

      Btw the bugs are so small they get in /through/ the flywire screens. Hate them. 😦

      Like

  • Jeri Walker-Bickett (@JeriWB)

    Your picture makes me decidedly okay with the light fixture I keep telling myself I should clean the bugs out of πŸ˜‰

    Like

Don't be shy!

