Boring pictures from a lazy blogger

Apologies for being so slack lately. I have had an attack of domestic 20/20 vision…and what I saw was not pretty. I have people coming over for Christmas Eve dinner, and suddenly the dirty windows, clutter, dust, muddy paw prints, dust bunnies etc etc etc. sent me into a panic of cleaning. Sadly, the more I do, the more mess I see. With the clock ticking, I’ve had no energy left over for writing.

Anyway, I thought you might like to see some pics I took from the outside.

big pond drain 1

This is a drain I dug around my big[ger] fish pond to stop sediment washing in during heavy rains.

big pond drain 2

This is the same drain half filled in. Down the bottom of the drain is a flexible, black plastic agricultural pipe [aggi pipe in the local parlance]. It connects to a drainage layer protecting the retaining wall at the top of the pic. On top of the pipe is a thick layer of scoria, and on top of that are the beautiful river pebbles.

2 pond pic

Tah Dah – the ‘after’ picture. If you look carefully you can see the second, small pond I finished putting in less than a week ago. No fish in this one, just water lilies, although I’m sure the frogs claiming the big pond will soon migrate over. πŸ™‚

pool pond and alpaca

The two ponds featuring in the previous pic are tucked in behind the retaining wall you can see in the fore front. One of the alpacas decided to get in on the photo shoot. Behind, and to the left of the alpaca is a section of the Clark pool that isn’t hidden by the pool fence. The small, bright blue thingie hard up against the house is my greywater tank. Water from the laundry and the shower is plumbed into the tank. The greywater usually flows straight through to the terraced area in the middle of the picture. During high fire danger days I close the tap off so the greywater fills the tank and becomes another source of firefighting water.

wine cellar 1

This is my, um… wine cellar. -cough- It looks a bit like an igloo and the whole structure is buried into the hillside.

wine cellar 2

This is an inside shot of the wine cellar showing the inner doorway and the yellow ladder leading down [about 1/2 a metre] into the main area.

wine cellar 3

Last but not least, this is a shot of the cellar with its protective covering of soil and rocks. The plants directly around the cellar are all succulents. The black plastic water tank in the background belongs to my neighbour.

Okay, I think that’s probably enough photography for one day. I’ll try and take some pics of the inside of the house before it degenerates into its normal, comfortable clutter again. Until then, do what I say, not what I do, and have a relaxing weekend. πŸ˜‰

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

26 responses to “Boring pictures from a lazy blogger

  • Colin

    I am so envious that you actually have your own dungeon. Well, what you call wine cellar. I’ve said that we should get a castle so that my Mark could become a real scientist, with a dungeon lab. And here you have one already. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • acflory

      Meh…I’d rather have your kind of dungeon/castle! Mine is quite small and pokey. I envisage something labyrinthine with guttering torches, rats and moss. Can I come visit when you get one?

      Like

  • Candy Korman

    Thanks for a tour of the property!

    Like

  • Jeri Walker-Bickett (@JeriWB)

    Your yard is gorgeous. Someday I will have a dream yard too. Right now mine is covered in snow and fog has been hanging in the air for three days.

    Like

    • acflory

      Oh gods…send some my way…please! It’s going to be 40 C here today. That’s 104 in F. I’ve got aircon but it’s still going to be miserable as I have to continue cleaning. Just praying it cools down before the weekend as then I have to bake. -sigh-

      Like

  • DV Berkom

    Great pics, AC. What a beautiful place you have πŸ™‚ And as for housework, ugh. I think most writers can feel your pain…I’ve practically forgotten what a dust pan looks like.

    Like

    • acflory

      Do you know what I would really, really like for Xmas? One of those super dooper robo vacuum thingies. In fact, I want robots for every chore in the house. Why is technology lagging so much? -sigh-

      Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    “the more I do, the more mess I see”—Isn’t that the truth? Before you know it, you’re scrubbing down the whole house. Or, as in my case, you feel guilty for not scrubbing down the whole house…

    Enjoyed looking at your pictures. It’s always fun to get a glimpse into another blogger’s world. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes! I’m about to get the vacuum out to dust the book shelves…because my guests might want to go see what we read and…

      I’m glad you enjoyed my pics. In many ways, the garden [sic] is where I truly live so now I don’t feel quite so guilty about the house. πŸ˜€

      Like

  • dadirri7

    firstly, not boring, but great, and fascinating for others who are doing similar things! good work Meeka! I love ponds, we always have dam adjacent to the house, and this time I have a lily pond too … we need water around us, not only for fire fighting … thanks for the tour πŸ™‚ We will come down and visit another time πŸ™‚

    Like

    • acflory

      I’d love a damn! My neighbour has a small one and it’s full of frogs. I agree about the need for water. I love sitting by my big pond with a cup of coffee, just watching the reflections in the water. And you’re welcome any time. πŸ™‚

      Like

  • davidprosser

    Since I found I couldn’t stand to see the mess in some rooms I thought it best just not to go in them any more. That didn’t work so I’ve cleared a path through them and now wear blinkers as I pass through them.
    Your place looks fantastic, especially Bilbo’s house of fun and bottles. I like the alpaca who decided to get in on the act too, why not!
    I hope your Christmas eve gathering goes well, my invitation seems to be lost in the pot.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Hugs Galore xxx

    Like

    • acflory

      lmao – I used your technique for too long – that’s why I’m cleaning so much now. And I can’t imagine where your invite went. I sent it by carrier pigeon last week! -hugs-

      Like

  • Honie Briggs

    Dust is a protective coating. That’s how I see it. πŸ™‚ Happy Holidays!

    Like

  • EllaDee

    Domestic 20/20 vision… sounds awful, I hope it never happens to me. However despite the tediousness of domestic goddess duties it’s an enjoyable feeling when it’s done, and you can start 2014 afresh.
    Your efforts outside look amazing. Your surroundings are beautiful and I’m impressed by the seriousness of the mattock and shovel. The wine cellar looks like a Hobbit hole. Perhaps Peter Jackson could use your property for location shots. I’m sure there’s be a role for the camera hogging alpaca also.
    But I’m with Jennifer, wine cellar- fallout shelter… works for me… drink wine and wait for the coast to clear πŸ™‚

    Like

    • acflory

      -grin- Haven’t heard from Peter Jackson yet but I have a nice bottle of red in case he ever shows up. I’ll even through the alpacas in for free. πŸ™‚ One thing I haven’t done yet is install some seating. I’ll have to put in some director’s chairs I think. And you’re right about starting 2014 with a clean house. Just wish I could skip the slog between then and now. lol

      Like

    • josh

      The first thing I did after reading this post was to search the page for “hobbit” to see if anyone beat me to that observation…and sure enough someone did!

      That alpaca is too cute, but where are the dingoes, kangaroos and “drop bears”? πŸ™‚

      If you’re a lazy blogger, I don’t even want to think what that makes me.

      Like

      • acflory

        lmao – yes, you weren’t the first, but I’m tinkled pink you saw the resemblance too. The effect was deliberate. I wanted the um, cellar to be attractive as well as functional.

        No wild dingoes anywhere around here, or koalas, but we’ve had a couple of kangaroos pass through, plus a wallaby [smaller cousin to the kangaroo], an echidna [like a porcupine], and just the other day I found a small tortoise mooching along the fenceline!

        It’s a weird spot that literally straddles the divide between country and urban.

        -grin- Lazy is relative. For almost two years I’ve tried to post 2 – 3 articles a week. Now I’m down to barely one. But hey, it is the silly season, right?

        Like

  • Jennifer

    Awesome, a wine cellar. Could double as a fallout shelter for when the zombies arrive…

    Like

  • metan

    I hate housework so I feel your pain. 😦
    Lovely ponds there, good work! I’m sure the frogs and birds love you. I bet you’re glad it is done before the 40deg day we are having tomorrow too. Bleh…..
    Lovely wine cellar too….. Looks like a nice place to hang out on a very hot, windy, day. πŸ˜€

    Like

Don't be shy!

