Nelson Mandela, 1918 – 2013.

Nelson MandelaWe knew it was coming, and I suspect Mandela himself would have preferred not to be kept alive for so long through the miracle of modern medicine, but now that he is truly gone, I cherish every day he spent on this earth.

Nelson Mandela was the symbol of hope, not just for his own nation, but for the rest of us as well.

Nelson Mandela helped end Apartheid in South Africa, without a bloodbath. When that news swept the world I felt a rush of joy – if such a thing was possible, then anything was possible.

Nelson Mandela is gone, and we’re left to pray for another good man who can show us that humanity is capable of peace, and compassion.

Rest in peace Nelson Mandela.

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

12 responses to “Nelson Mandela, 1918 – 2013.

  • metan

    The kids and I were late to school he morning he died, I couldn’t tear myself away from the radio, listening to the long and heartfelt speech being given by the president of South Africa.
    It was good to be able to discuss what he did with my boys too, they kinda knew who he was but it was good to reinforce it when it was clear how much he meant to the world.

    Like

  • Candy Korman

    “It’s always seems impossible until it’s done.” Nelson Mandela

    Like

  • Catherine

    How well I remember that day, 23 years ago, staggering into the staffroom all bleary eyed. I’d been glued to the TV set waiting waiting waiting through those long early hours of the morning to final see Nelson Mandela released from prison and what a joy it was. Jenny and I looked at each other and all we could do was nod and say… “amazing…”
    Other staff began asking “what’s amazing…?” We said, in unison, “Nelson Mandela free…” A couple of people actually asked “…who is Nelson Mandela?” 🙄
    You may also enjoy this tribute, to the great man… Vale Nelson Mandela!!!

    Like

    • acflory

      I just watched that BEAUTIFUL video clip. Thank you so very much.

      For me, the abolition of Apartheid and the fall of the Berlin Wall will be forever linked in my memory. I can remember thinking that both of these world changing events gave the lie to violence and bloodshed. Change was possible through goodwill and persistence. We didn’t need to kill each other for freedom. That is the gift Nelson Mandela gave to me, and to millions of others around the world. Peace IS possible.

      Like

      • Catherine

        Indeed… and Mahatma Gandhi also shared this message with the world.
        Guess what reverberated with me, at a very deep level, is that after so many years of supporting our Australian Trade Unions and Australian Labor Party in bringing a whole host of sanctions against South Africa; economic, trade and sports etc… the tide was finally beginning to turn and I actually felt a true part if this huge social change… the end of Apartheid in South Africa. Glad you enjoyed the vid too 🙂 …

        Like

  • davidprosser

    A guiding light has left the world but together we can light enough candles to keep the dark at bay and his memory alive. New generations should not be allowed to forget him or the work he did to forge brotherhood between all races, all colours. Under the skin we are one.
    Our differences lie in culture and we should learn to celebrate those differences that don’t encompass the pain of others, and not fear them. By talk he showed we can achieve more than by war.
    RIP Nelson Mandella.

    Like

    • acflory

      One of our ex Prime Ministers was interviewed on TV today and he was talking about a meeting he had with Mandela soon after Apartheid ended. He was saying to Mandela that South Africa would need the capital and expertise of the Old Guard, despite what they had done.

      Apparently Mandela said something like “I can never forget but I can learn to forgive.” For the greater good he did just that and South Africa survived. Amazing man.

      Like

  • EllaDee

    I think Nelson Madela’s gave us a lesson in using the tools of wisdom and compassion. His efforts made the world a better place, and it’s up to us to take what he showed us and make it even better.

    Like

Don't be shy!

