Success and deflation

You all know the feeling – you work your butt off for weeks or months, and then suddenly the goal you thought would never arrive, does. You’re finished. You’ve achieved what you set out to do. You should be feeling euphoric. Instead, the whole thing feels like an anti-climax, and you feel blah.

That’s me right now. Four months ago I set out to complete my Certificate IV in Training and Assessment. Yesterday I achieved my goal, and fairly well, if I do say so myself. So why do I feel so flat? Where is the euphoria? 

To be honest, that last question is really a rhetorical. I’ve been here before, many, many times. I should have been expecting the deflation. Yet it still caught me by surprise. 

Oh I admit there was a moment of euphoria yesterday, when I handed in my last assignment and realised that I’d done it, that the great struggle was over. But that moment was overshadowed by a bit of sadness as we said goodbye to our trainer, and each other. Our Wednesday classes were over too, and all the people I’d come to know were going their separate ways. We will meet up again at graduation, but it won’t be the same because the glue that bound us will be gone.

So here I sit, mulling over the incontrovertible truth that the journey is always its own reward. And I have enjoyed this journey. Now I’m going to give myself a couple of days off, and then I’m going to start the next journey on my list, I’m going to start looking for a job.

I don’t expect the job hunting to be pleasant, but I will try to find something enjoyable in the process because, really, the process, the journey, the striving is where the true payoff lies. 

Ultimately, it’s the little successes along the way that make us happy, not the moment of euphoria at the end. Carpe diem. 🙂

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

24 responses to “Success and deflation

  • Colin

    Welcome to my life a year ago after I failed to get into Cambridge. 🙂 I felt incredibly deflated; more so that I think I wanted to admit. But I got over it, and so will you. Even if you actually had success. Now I’m wondering if I would have felt the same getting in, as I felt not getting in. 😀

    Like

    • acflory

      Yeah I remember how down you were then. I have a feeling it’s the /expectation/ that leads to the deflation, not whether you win or lose, or whatever. That said though, I’m sure that missing out would have added to it. 😦

      Like

  • jenniferscoullar

    Too true! Congrats on finishing your course, and good luck with the job-hunting. Any employer would be lucky to have you! x

    Like

  • Jennifer

    This was me early in the week after the community market I am co coordinating, went off with a bang. Now I’m left with the ok, so what now. More hard word.
    Congrats and good luck with the job hunting, so long as we still get to read your amazing stories. 🙂

    Like

    • acflory

      Oh my, now that would not have been an easy job. I’ve never had to do anything half as complex but I can imagine your stress levels!

      Thanks Jen. 🙂 I have no idea how the juggling act will go but I’m hopeful. I want the stories to continue too. 🙂

      Like

  • Jon Jefferson

    When I finished my bachelors degree it was a strange feeling. I spent so long chasing after it that when I had nothing more to chase I was a little lost.

    Seems we always need something on our list that we are working toward.

    Like

    • acflory

      Lost. Yes, that’s exactly how I felt. The feeling is fading now but after months of writing lists so I wouldn’t forget something important, suddenly there was nothing. Today I started ‘doing’ things again so I think I’m recovering fairly quickly but…it was weird, and not a little unpleasant the other day.

      Like

  • EllaDee

    Yay 🙂 Congratulations.
    I know from experience how much work is involved in attaining Certificate IV in Training and Assessment. I also did it with a great group who I missed for a while, while not missing the weekends spent doing assignments or 2 classes a week after work and an almost 2 hour train commute from the city… But, what you’ve done is a real accomplishment, so I’m very happy for you.
    I have no doubt while feeling a little daunted at the outset you will also competently and successfully undertake job hunting.
    Just one thing, sometimes the end of year as far as job vacances and ads go can affect what’s on offer.

    Like

    • acflory

      Thanks Ella, it was a lot more work than I was expecting, and brought out the utter perfectionist in me which added even more work. But I /am/ glad I put in the extra hours. Luckily my course was just one day a week, and I didn’t have to juggle life, study AND work to do it. I honestly don’t know how you managed.

      And yes, I’ve been telling myself not to expect miracles 3 weeks before xmas. Sometimes I even listen. 😀 -hugs-

      Like

  • pinkagendist

    I go through this regularly. I bought and started the kindle version of Vohktah the day before yesterday- does that help? 😀

    Like

    • acflory

      OH MY GOD????? -huge hugs- That helps enormously Pinky. 😀 I promise I won’t ever ask you what you thought of it. Just knowing you’re reading it is more than enough to make me happy! Thank you, seriously.

      Like

  • metan

    Well done on finishing your course, a definite achievement. 🙂 Good luck with the job hunting too, that won’t be anywhere near as much fun as the course was though. 😉

    Like

  • davidprosser

    After a few days grace where you can look back on all the achievements you can start again on the next journey and enjoying the little landmarks along the way. Interview, acceptance, meeting new people and that first time you train someone successfully.
    In the meantime, don’t allow that feeling of deflation to kick in because you can start the next book and be buoyed up by a brilliant first chapter.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

  • Tasha Turner Lennhoff

    snugs. I warn people of this happening whenever they work towards something: graduation, wedding, finishing a book, completing any goal. Achieving goals is a dangerous thing. We expect upon reaching a goal to feel a “change”. That we will be different now. Nothing magically happens but something inside us expects it to. Life is a journey and we have goals/steps along that journey. The goal (excuse my pun) is not to make too much or too little of the goals and achievements. Don’t expect magical changes. Do feel pride in what you’ve accomplished. Another check mark of things you’ve done. Now on to the next step along your journey.

    Congrats on getting your certificate. Now on to the next step in your life journey, finding a good job somewhere you fit in.

    Like

    • acflory

      You are so right Tasha, and I should have been expecting the let down but… I forgot! lol

      I’m giving myself a couple of days of respite, and to catch up on all the things I’ve let slide the last 4 months. Then it’s off to work we go. 🙂

      Like

  • Kathryn Chastain Treat

    What is that saying? It is all about the journey. I remember when my daughter was little and Christmas night as she was being put in bed she started crying. I asked her what was wrong. She said it is all over! I always feel that way after the holidays as well. All the work, all the preparation, all the hoopla, and then suddenly it is gone.

    I thought I would feel that way after submitting the book, but I have been keeping myself so busy here at the computer on the internet doing everything possible to get the word out that I haven’t had the chance yet to have that feeling of anti-climax.

    Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    I know exactly of what you speak. Guess it’s a side effect of our driven natures. I have to remind myself to sit back and enjoy the accomplishment once I’ve achieved it. Congrats!!

    Like

    • acflory

      Achievement rarely lives up to our expectations, and even when it does it’s short lived. Oddly enough my happiest memories are of things I /didn’t/ expect! And thank you. 🙂

      Like

  • Yvonne Hertzberger

    I can definitely relate, Meeks. Hugs.

    Like

Don't be shy!

