Doing something about Climate Change can be fun!

I’ve just discovered you can never predict how and when you will meet another kindred spirit! I’m not a sporty person by any stretch of the imagination, but thanks to my friend Candy Korman, and my post on the Climate Change rally, I’ve just met Lew Blaustein from New York City.

Lew is a blogger who combines his passion for sport with his passion for climate change action in posts that speak the language of sports fans. You can read some of Lew’s posts here and here.

For now though I’d like to share a Nike commerical that Lew showed me. Yes, a commercial. Trust me on this, you’ll enjoy it!

I doubt Nike intended to support action on climate change, and I’m not sure whether basketball superstar LeBron James had that intention either, but this one commercial boosted the uptake of bicycle riding by something like 10%. It almost got me off my chair as well. πŸ˜‰

cheers,

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

18 responses to “Doing something about Climate Change can be fun!

  • EllaDee

    I love things link. It makes sense, if we are out and about doing something physical under our our steam, we’re not using up [much] other resources.
    I amazed myself (& the G.O.) a little while ago by hopping on & proficiently riding a bicycle – it’s been many years – but you never forget. However, deteriorated eyesight means my coordination & reflexes aren’t what they were, so I prefer to get my exercise via shanks pony πŸ˜‰
    P.S. I HATE hills.

    Like

    • acflory

      Gawd – your comment made me think. The last time I can remember riding a bicycle was one of those ones you could hire down near the Yarra [river]. Four of us went for a ride and a picnic – before our respective kids were born. That means it had to have been at least 27 years ago. 😦 I think I’d need training wheels now. πŸ™‚ [I hate hills too!]

      Like

  • metan

    That is a great commercial!
    Almost got you off the couch, eh? Damn those Warrandyte hills… πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • acflory

      Hey! I have an excuse – I’ve been mowing around the house every day. The grass shot up so quickly the alpacas can’t keep up with it. I use a dinky little electric mower I bought from $unnings so can only mow as far as the very long cord will go. That’s still further than my old, unfit muscles would prefer to go. By January I should manage those hills again. πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • metan

        This weather certainly has been good for the grass hasn’t it. Ours has been growing like anything! We normally mow it high but we are cutting it shorter just to give us a few extra days. πŸ™‚
        Maybe you should borrow a goat or some sheep from someone to give the alpacas a hand!

        I have a bike and am happy to ride it, the only problem is the steep start to our street. Going out is all happiness, coming back it’s hard enough to push my body up let alone a bike loaded with my shopping.
        I’m lazy, I admit it, but one of my friends is a gym instructor/fitness nazi and she even balks at the sight of it, that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it πŸ˜‰

        Like

        • acflory

          -grin- If your hill is anything like mine you need pitons and a safety harness to walk up πŸ˜€ I’ll accept your excuse if you accept mine. πŸ˜‰

          Like

          • metan

            Absolutely! Sadly, there was a time, not that long ago it seems, when I pushed a heavy old-style pram up the hill every day with a toddler perched on the footrest. How on earth did I do that?!

            Like

          • acflory

            Meh…your legs were younger. 😦 I know mine were. Back when I still had my beloved Kush and Missy, I took them for a long walk one day and on the way back Missy, who was a bit…plump, flatly refused to walk any further. I had to carry her up the damn hill. These days my knees give out if I even /think/ about going for a stroll down That Hill.

            Like

          • metan

            I expect that I had some sort of superhuman powers back then. Number 1 woke repeatedly through the night until after he had started school so I spent about 6 years living on half hour naps.

            Oh, if only we all had someone to carry us home when we couldn’t go on any further, eh?

            Like

          • acflory

            Gah…the lack of sleep. It’s burned into my memory. 😦 No one ever talks about the sleep deprivation. Those kids owe us big time! And yes, I’ve often thought I’d like to be reincarnated as one of my furkids – free room and board, lots of hugs and the ability to sleep all day. πŸ˜‰

            Like

  • Candy Korman

    So glad I put the two of you together.

    Like

  • davidprosser

    Excellent and no pollution. But the day you get YOUR bike, I’m right behind you.lol
    xxx Huge Meeka xxx

    Like

  • greensportsblog

    Great to chat, Andrea! Thanks for the plug for greensportsblog.com. And, while it would be much better if LeBron would make a statement about climate change, this commercial will do great things for bicycle commuting in the US–which has grown a great deal already.

    Like

    • acflory

      I really enjoyed talking about climate change issues with you as well. πŸ™‚ I might do a bit of research to see if our sporting associations are doing anything here. Was not something I’d ever thought about until reading your blog.

      Like

  • pinkagendist

    I’m not going to go out and get a bycicle, though πŸ˜€

    Like

    • acflory

      -grin- Despite trying to scare the pants off David, neither am I, but I actually know some people who cycle into work – about and hour – and cycle back again at night. Not sure if they’re motivated by climate change or a desire to get fit, but more power to them.

      Like

Don't be shy!

