Music to write to… The Realm of Levitation

I’ve raved about Jo Blankenburg’s music since Nanowrimo 2012, so forgive me if I do another little rave. This time I’m in love with a song off his relaxation CD, Floatovations. [The title of the CD comes from ‘float’ and ‘ovations’ in case anyone was wondering].The track I love is called the ‘Realm of Levitation’ and I finally found a lovely youtube video that features it.

Prepare to be relaxed. πŸ™‚

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

14 responses to “Music to write to… The Realm of Levitation

  • Jon Jefferson

    No way I could listen to this when I am writing. I would fall asleep and it would throw my pacing off.

    Like

    • acflory

      lmao – not for passionate scenes no. πŸ˜‰ For some reason I find it helps me when I’m plotting. Maybe by relaxing generally, the ideas flow better. -shrug-

      Just as a matter of interest what do you listen to when you’re writing?

      Like

      • Jon Jefferson

        Lately I have been bouncing around a bit. I like iheartradio for its ability to give me similar artists and music. I switch between a new swing, steampunk, Elvis, Costello, or Lou Reed stations.

        When I play music of my own I do a combo that falls a bit into all of those genres. Allison Krause has great music when you want a mood for dystopia. I throw a decent amount of metal and heavy rock in for blood and death.

        Most of the music I listen to works great for steampunk and horror-esque. I haven’t found something that brings out cyberpunk as much as I would like yet though.

        Like

        • acflory

          I’m not that familiar with a lot of those musicians, but I assume the music has lyrics? Do they help set the mood or do you basically block them out?

          I can’t write to anything with lyrics I can understand. I find I start singing along or thinking about the lyrics or 101 other ways of becoming distracted. 😦

          Like

          • Jon Jefferson

            Pretty much everything I listen to has lyrics. But it ends up like the background music in a movie for me. The music tends to blend into the moods and feelings I need.

            My ADD downfall comes from visual stimulation. I can’t work when the TV is going. It can also be difficult if there is a lot of movement around me. Or maybe I was. Tyrannosaurus Rex in a different life. The quick movements make me think of prey.

            Like

          • acflory

            lmao! Down Rex :p Sorry, couldn’t resist. Isn’t it odd how different people react in completely different ways? I’m fine with visual distraction, although I’ve never tried to work with the TV on – that could be a step too far. lol

            Like

  • Jeri Walker-Bickett (@JeriWB)

    So very soothing. I’ve woke up three mornings in a row with a giant headache that only goes after after four or five hours. This is quite nice as it takes the throbbing in my head away πŸ™‚

    Like

    • acflory

      I’m glad it helps Jeri, but could it be your pillow that’s the problem? I have neck and lower back problems and I’ve found two things that help – a good chiropractor and one of those shaped foam pillows. Hope you feel better soon. -hugs-

      Like

  • davidprosser

    I’ve only just got up and now you’re sending me back to bed. Very relaxing to listen too. I feel quite chilled out.
    xxx Cwtch xxx

    Like

  • EllaDee

    It is lovely but it’s too different for me to work or write to, I get distracted and need my customary loud rock music πŸ™‚

    Like

Don't be shy!

