Just One Percent …

Just One Percent ….

Having recently seen something similar about greyhounds, and greyhound wastage on the ABC, I’m appalled that the same thing is happening to race horses. These beautiful creatures are not wastage. And unwanted greyhounds should not be disposable blood banks.

At least the greyhounds are drained of their blood and killed under anaesthetic. The wastage from the racehorse breeders are shot in front of each other so they die in terror.

Money is tight at the moment but I found $20 to donate to the NWER organization to try to save some of these beautiful horses.

Please, if you can dredge up even $5 that will help pay for feed, if nothing else. Paypal donations are available and safe.

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

8 responses to “Just One Percent …

  • EllaDee

    Thanks for sharing this. I saw the ABC program about the greyhounds but couldn’t watch. I only had a small bet of the Melbourne Cup, it’s a traditional thing we do, but otherwise don’t bet, so I also made a donation to NWER, and will do so again as it makes so much more sense than placing bets. At least the rescued horses will be winners, unlike me.

    Like

    • acflory

      Thanks Ella. -hugs- I always feel bad asking my friends to donate to causes but this one just made my blood boil. 😦 I’m not horse mad, but I do admire horses immensely, and the thought of them being so horribly abused just to feed our national pastime is wrong on so many levels.

      We usually have a flutter on Cup Day as well but forgot to even watch it this year. From now on I’ll do the same as you and donate what I would have bet to NWER. I just wish there was something we could do about the over breeding. Who would believe you could have what amounts to factory racehorses and greyhounds. And why isn’t the RSPCA doing something? Gah… I don’t know, this is all so unbelievable in a country where people care about animals.

      Like

  • davidprosser

    A wonderful, worthwhile cause. Racehorses should not be allowed to be treated as money machines by owners. At the end of their working lives they should be allowed to retire to well kept fields and table yards until their natural time comes.
    xxx Hugs Galore xxx

    Like

  • metan

    I have been reading the articles about the greyhounds recently with a sick feeling in my stomach. Many years ago I worked in an animal refuge where there were times perfectly healthy animals had to be put down just because their time was up. It never sat well with anyone involved.

    These greyhounds and horses though, it just makes me sick, the animals are bred just in case they are good runners. It is a bit like breeding humans just in case one might end up being a supermodel, disposing of everyone else who doesn’t live up to scratch.

    Good on you for helping out, we can only hope that more publicity means those disposing of this ‘wastage’ might look at what they do more clearly and see that it is wrong.

    Like

Don't be shy!

