A day that makes teaching worthwhile

There are days when things should go right, and don’t. Then there are days when anything that can go right does. I have just had one of those days. πŸ™‚

As some of you know, I’ve been totally immersed in a course that will allow me to [officially] do vocational teaching with adults, and get paid for it. Two weeks ago, I gave my 30 minute presentation [as part of the course], and although it went according to plan, it somehow missed that moment of rapport that all teachers live for. To me it felt… flat.

Describing that moment of rapport is really difficult because it isn’t just the teaching, or the content, but a weird combination of the teacher getting it all right, and connecting with the students, and the whole class sparking off each other. It’s the kind of moment when, as a teacher, you know your students are with you. They’re more than just interested, they’re sharing your passion, and want to know more. Maybe that’s what rock stars feel like when they’re up on stage and the audience is like one being with thousands of arms and legs.Β 

Well, I had that kind of a class today for my 60 minute presentation. Quite simply, it was a buzz. Things went slightly skew-wiff, yet instead of turning the class into a disaster they became spring boards for greater… togetherness? It was as close to perfect as I will ever get, and left me loving the whole, wide world and everyone in it.

For the first time, I’m actually looking forward to having that moment again, as part of a job I do not yet have, with people I have not yet met.

I’m so happy I could literally pop. πŸ™‚

-hugs to you all-

Meeks

Β 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

20 responses to “A day that makes teaching worthwhile

  • EllaDee

    Sometimes the best things happens when things don’t go to plan. We get so caught up in what we think we want to happen or should, and then… poof… it turns out the ways it does and we relax and take the best from it – opportunistic success takes skill to navigate, but is even more satisfying than the success of when things go smoothly. So congratualtions for surviving the … poof… and enjoying it πŸ™‚

    Like

  • Candy Korman

    Celebrate ALL the little victories!
    As well as the big ones.
    Enjoy them all.

    Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    So glad things went well, and I love that you’re savoring it. Too often we overlook these little victories, focused more on what goes wrong than what goes right, so kudos to you for reveling in it!

    Like

  • Yvonne Hertzbergery

    Now all you need is that job so it can happen again- and again. Congrats. πŸ™‚

    Like

  • davidprosser

    Please don’t go pop. After an experience like today it must show you that there’s a need for people like you that can spark the need to learn in others. If there’s no pleasure in the classroom then the subject remains flat and uninteresting. It takes a certain kind of person to lift the subject from mundane to exciting and you’re obviously one of that dying breed.
    Go on and inspire others to learn.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

  • geooorge

    πŸ˜€ i really hope you’ll be getting that feeling all the time. Or rather, at key moments so that it will feel even better.

    It’s like those moments where you are throwing one idea and the other person takes it, puts some twist on it, throws it back at you, you do the same thing and in the end you get something awesome. In the end both parties get something.

    Like

  • anne54

    There is a lot in teaching that makes you think “Beam me up Scotty”. And then you get lessons like the one you have just had, and all the others (well, much of the other!) is wiped out. May it continue!!

    Like

    • acflory

      lol – yes, been there, done that πŸ˜€ Realistically I know every class can’t be like that, but boy, when it happens it’s like giving birth – total euphoria and absolutely no memory of the pain that came before. πŸ˜€

      Like

  • metan

    I’m so pleased to hear you had such a positive experience with this presentation. Yay for you! πŸ˜€
    Funny how sometimes things going skewif can throw you off your game and completely ruin things, and other times it can just send a good thing off and turn it into an amazing event. Yay for you again and I hope there are many more wonderful classes to come. πŸ˜€

    Like

    • acflory

      I probably should have explained that part of the rationale for these presentations is to instill good organization and timing etc in the trainers [us]. Thus one of the things we had to do was ‘time’ each part of the lesson. After the 30 minute presentation I’d learned that you couldn’t cram too much into a given timeframe, so with the 60 minute one I reduced my initial lesson plan down to the bare bones.

      What went ‘wrong’ was that the class ‘got it’ much faster than I thought they would so I ended up giving them more than was officially planned. And they got that too, and wanted more. So I gave them still more. πŸ˜€

      All of this stuff was about computers, and I’d already thought about it so teaching it was easy, even though I didn’t have extra handouts to give the class.

      So I guess it wasn’t that things went wrong so much as that they went too right. πŸ˜€ That I can definitely live with!

      Like

Don't be shy!

