How I’m keeping my sanity

The Certificate IV course in Training and Assessment I’m studying is nearing the pointy end, and I’m behind in my assignments. I literally have been working my butt off for weeks now, but the official-speak leaves my brain feeling as if it’s been through a pasta maker and turned into spaghetti. 😦

The balance I used to have in my life is gone, and I miss it. But at least I do have an escape to keep me sane – gaming. I can only play for an odd hour here and there, but it’s enough. Just.

I’ve done the odd post about Final Fantasy XIV, A Realm Reborn – the latest MMO I’m playing – but none of that has given even a hint as to the sheer scope and brilliance of the game. So now here is the opening cinematic. It tells of the final battle that led to the realm needing to be ‘reborn’.

Even if you don’t give a fig for games, I hope you’ll enjoy this short piece of cinema. And the music is lovely too. πŸ™‚

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

23 responses to “How I’m keeping my sanity

  • davidprosser

    Stunning graphics and rousing music. Maybe I can understand a little better why you like your MMO’s now. I hope this course hasn’t turned your brain to spaghetti though or you won’ survive your quests.
    xxx Giant Hugs xxx

    Like

  • Jon Jefferson

    I used to play the final fantasy series on my gameboy. This was back when the gameboy first came out. When I finally saw it on the Nintendo it was a whole different game. It’s cool to see how far it has come since then.

    Like

    • acflory

      I can honestly say the FF’s are my favourite rpg series. I’ve played almost all of them and love the feel of A Realm Reborn. It also happens to be one of the best mmo’s I’ve played in a long time. They finally got it right with this one.

      Like

  • dvberkom

    Epic! Love the animation. Games have certainly progressed, haven’t they? I can see how this would be a great way to combat stress πŸ™‚

    Like

    • acflory

      -grin- Oh yeah. Had a bad day? Go out and kill some monsters. Want to feel as if you’ve achieved something? Do some in-game crafting. Sick of talking to the cats? Chat to friends in your guild. It really is my escape place.

      Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    I don’t play video games now, but back when I was in my training days, I used to unwind with Super Mario Brothers (yes, on the old Nintendo system). It was a great way to blow off steam and empty my brain.

    Good luck with your course. Sounds like the end is near. πŸ™‚

    Like

  • Yvonne Hertzberger

    I play a couple of FB games. As you say, they keep us sane. And they allow my brain to think in the background as they do not take much concentration.

    Like

  • Ilil Arbel

    “The Certificate IV course in Training and Assessment” what is this and why are you taking it?

    Like

    • acflory

      -hugs- Hi Ilil! Over here there has been a tremendous effort to standardize vocational training. Companies doing the training have to be registered and they have to offer registered, accredited training packages. Basically to do what I used to do many years ago – i.e. teach adults computing skills – I now have to be trained to train. 😦 I also have to learn how to train in the ‘system’ and that is the biggest component of the course. Despite my complaining though, I must admit I’ve learned some some interesting and useful things. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Ilil Arbel

        So this is done in order to get a full-time job, or can it be done as a consultant?

        Like

        • acflory

          The qualification makes it possible for me to legally train adults in a registered training company. That could be full-time, casual or contract.

          For example, we have things called Living and Learning centres that are run by our local Councils. These centres offer everything from short courses on macrame to official, accredited courses relating to some industry BUT if I wanted to get a /paid/ job teaching macrame or flower arranging etc, I would have to have this qualification.

          The alternative would be to volunteer as an unpaid teacher.

          Despite already having a teaching degree [for high school students] I still need this other qualification to get paid for teaching adults.

          It’s complicated, and wasn’t always like this, but in the last decade? there’s been a big push to standardize vocational teaching, and teachers.

          Like

  • EllaDee

    My sanity has gone AWOL, if you see it, can you ask it nicely to come home please πŸ™‚

    Like

Don't be shy!

