For the blogger who has everything – the Liebster award. :)

candy's liebster awardI haven’t done an award post for a very long time because I sort of ran out of things to say. Then along comes Candy’s Monsters with some interesting new questions, and I’m drooling to get started. Who am I to ignore my inner me? lol

So thank you for nominating me Candy! This Liebster is for those blogs with under 1000 followers. I know a lot of us qualify there, so if I nominate you and you choose to pass on the love, please pass it to blogs that aren’t blogging mega stars already.

Okay, here are Candy’s eleven questions, and my slightly irreverent answers. 🙂

1: Do you dance?

Frequently…around the kitchen. I did learn classical ballet as a kid, but apart from still knowing how to suck my stomach in, on occasion, I couldn’t pirouette to save my life.

2: If you could go back in time and talk to yourself, when would you “drop by” and give sage advice?

This one really made me think. My first thought was that I have no regrets, so what would I whisper sage advice about? And then it hit me! Sage advice comes in many flavours, and not all are medicinal. If I could go back and whisper something to my younger self it would be “Don’t rush through this glorious moment.  Savour it. Treasure it. Remember it!”

3: What book do you remember from your childhood?

Just the one? That’s impossible. I remember Enid Blyton’s Famous Five books, and another one she wrote called, I think, The Wishing Chair. I remember Peter Pan and Swiss Family Robinson and Grimm’s Fairytales and Greek myths and Dot and the Kangaroo and The Once and Future King and Mary Poppins…. Books are like chocolate, you can’t just stop at one. 😦

4: With an unlimited budget and a month to spend on a vacation, where would you go?

This one is easy – Japan! I’ve wanted to visit Japan since I was about ten and fell in love with The Samurai on TV.

5: What was your dream job when you were eight?

I didn’t have one. 😦 Boy, kids grow up early these days. When I was eight, the next term of school was eternity…

6: Captain Kirk or Captain Picard?

Hah! Mr Spock of course.

7: What’s your preferred fiction genre?

Another easy one – science fiction. 🙂

8: What was the best birthday present you ever received?

Strangely enough, this was an easy one as well. For my 40th birthday, dear, dear friends organized [and paid] for me to be chauffered to the restaurant where we would be having lunch. In a Porsche Carrera. My husband knew about the big present but I didn’t, so he sent me out into the driveway, ostensibly to see if our friends had arrived yet. They hadn’t, but this glorious Porsche convertible had. The driver was leaning against the car. He looked up at me, and I knew. And I cried. You see everyone who knows me knows that I’ve had an unrequited love affair with Porsche cars since my early 20s. Unrequited because up until my 40th birthday I had never even sat in one. Nothing beats my memory of that hour long drive. 🙂

9: What is your most memorable Halloween costume?

Nada. Zip. Nothing. 😦 Australia is only just starting to catch on to Halloween fun.

10: What’s your favorite city?

Paris. Just thinking about it makes me smile.

11: Are you an adventurous eater?

Hmmm… I’ve eaten frog’s legs and snail [French style, not straight from the garden], kangaroo and crocodile, but I don’t think I could stomach crispy fried locusts, or haggis, so maybe not that adventurous.

Now it’s my turn to nominate some lovely blogs.

Allergic to my life battle
Anelephantcant
Anne Lawson
AV Carden’s Blog
A spoon full of sugar

The more observant amongst you may notice that all my nominees begin with ‘A’… Well no, that was not laziness on my part. I’m following so many great blogs. How do I choose just a few? Next time I’ll nominate the ‘B’s. X, Y and Z may be tricky but I will persevere!

[Note to self : don’t forget to inform the nominees that they have been nominated]

And now to my questions to the nominees! Mwahahaha… -cough-

1. Which is the movie you have hated most in your entire life? [If you can’t think of a movie you may substitute a TV show]

2. Which is your least favourite colour?

3. How superstitious are you?

4. If you could change yourself into one fictional character, who would it be? [You can gender swap or even choose an animal – e.g. Lassie]

5. Which animal would you NEVER have as a pet?

6. You are abducted by aliens and you’re told to choose one plant to save out of all the possible plants on earth. Would you choose wheat, rice, sugar cane, or the cocoa plant?

7. Which is the worst make of car you have ever owned? [If you don’t drive you can nominate some form of public transport]

8. If you had to choose between a Da Vinci painting, or one by Picasso, or Van Gogh, which would you choose?

9. Would you rather play chess against a computer, or Solitaire?

10. Red wine, white wine, beer or spirits?

11. If the zombie apocalypse hit tomorrow, what would you take with you into your bunker – a tablet full of music or a kindle full of books?

A lot of those questions are tongue in cheek, but I am interested in the answers so please feel free to give your answers in comments – whether you were nominated or not!

Okay, the last thing I’m supposed to do is tell you all some little known facts about myself. To be honest I can’t really think of anything that would be very interesting. I mean, do you really care that I hate brussel sprouts with a passion? Or that oysters in any form make me gag?

Thought not. So how about telling me some little known fact about yourselves instead? Let’s have some fun!

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

18 responses to “For the blogger who has everything – the Liebster award. :)

  • avcarden

    Thank you so much for nominating me for this award, it’s my first one too! I’m not exactly sure what I’m supposed to do (?) answer the questions here (?) !
    I will ponder them and be back with the answers. Yours are a hoot and I so enjoyed reading them. I think your blog is fabulous and it’s lovely meeting you.
    Many thanks! 🙂

    Like

    • acflory

      You’re very welcome AV! And I apologise for not explaining properly. Basically you write a post on your blog naming the person who nominated you, answering their questions, nominating some bloggers to pass the award onto, and letting them know they’ve been nominated. You can use the same questions for your nominees or come up with new, devilish ones. 😀

      Looking forward to seeing what you come up with. 😀

      Like

  • anelephantcant

    AnElephantCant help feeling embarrassed
    Or even perhaps slightly absurd
    The fact that you read his stuff
    Is reward enough
    AnElephant cannot accept an award

    But he very much appreciates the kindness of your gesture, and thanks you sincerely.

    And his answer to question 5:
    A human, they are just way too much trouble!

    Hugs

    Like

  • EllaDee

    I have been off and online and trying to comment here… The Leibster is an adventurous award to accept, there is much involved and you have answered it so diligently and wonderfully. Congratulations. And your nominees, have the pleasure of a entertaining set of questions, to seduce them.
    You and the G.O. with The Samurai. I had never heard of it/him.
    Little known fact… hmmm, this came up at the G.O.’s mum’s recently, they were shocked – I detest barley sugar sweets 😉

    Like

    • acflory

      lol – two surprises! Your G.O. is the first person I’ve met [sort of] who even knows what The Samurai was! Please shake his hand for me and tell him he has exquisite good taste. 😉

      As for barley sugar lollies… I’m not a huge fan of super sweet things. Humbugs on occasion yes, but barley sugars… probably no. You’re not alone. 🙂

      Like

  • Candy Korman

    I love your story about you best birthday present!
    Have fun with the responses you get from you nominees.

    Like

  • davidprosser

    As free spirited as ever I see bending the rules to suit yourself. Good, it should be a laugh.In my case I just add a little balance to anne54 since I’m still a confirmed Royalist and Loyalist though I’ve never actually opened a door for her Majesty so she has me beat there.
    xxx Hugs Galore xxx

    Like

  • anne54

    Oh Meeks, you have made my day!! My first award!! A very bright spot in a frustrating day spent trying, unsuccessfully, to register a SIM card.

    They are fascinating questions, and I will ponder them before I write my Acceptance Blog. Some are easy — number 5 — and some require some thought. Hmmmm…..

    But to kick it off — a little known fact about myself? I have spoken to the Queen.
    When I was a teenager I was a Queen’s Guide — the highest badge you could get. I was selected to be a door opener for the Royal Visit in about 1970. We actually had Door Opening and Protocol Training! One of my stints was to open the car door for the Queen (I must have been a star pupil at training!). She asked me if I was a Queen’s Guide. I answered yes, but thought it was a silly question. Who else would they choose?

    [Now I am a confirmed republican!]

    Like

    • acflory

      lmao! That’s awesome 😀 You definitely have to put that in your post!!!! And I’m so glad I got to be the first one to give you an award. They’re fun and a great way to get to know other bloggers. 🙂

      I wouldn’t call myself a Monarchist but I’m not a Republican either. I wish we had a ‘Federationist’ option lol

      Like

  • mrmarymuthafuckingpoppins

    Im writing my acceptance speech 🙂 thanks so much for this 🙂

    Like

Don't be shy!

