Stop Press! And the winner is…

Thanks to timezone differences – and the fact I was out shopping – I just learned that I WON THE FLASH FICTION contest! But no Melbourne Cup photo finish was closer than this one.

JD Mader and I were literally neck and neck with the exact same number of votes. It should have been a draw. 😦

The reason it wasn’t a draw was because I got my entry in before JD. You see each flash fiction winner not only has the adrenaline rush of winning the contest, their winning entry also becomes part of the 52 stories that are published at the end of the year by Indies Unlimited. Hence only one winner can be chosen.

The way Indies Unlimited decided to break the deadlock of a draw was to award the win to whoever posted their story first. And as luck would have it, the first entry was mine. You can read all about it here.

But in terms of quality of writing, JD Mader did notΒ lose, and I will always consider this contest a dead heat.

Congratulations JD. You’ve been one of my favourite indie authors for a long time now, and I’m honoured to share the glory with you. πŸ™‚

And now, before I go away to do a happy dance across the kitchen floor, I’d like to say thank you Indies Unlimited for hosting the contest, and to every single person who voted for my story. This is literally my first ever win, and I owe it all to you guys. -MASSIVE HUGS-

-dance dance-

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

19 responses to “Stop Press! And the winner is…

Don't be shy!

