Confessions of a 60 year old fangirl

I think I suffer from arrested development. I was just thirteen when the Easybeats were top of the charts with ‘Friday on my mind’. I was sooooo in love with this cute, cheeky faced lad…

[My thanks to Bluebird for posting this blast from the past on her blog today]

Fast forward 47 years and what am I doing? I’m playing games and creating male characters that look suspiciously like….

3 boys

People often ask me why I play so many male characters in games, and my stock answer used to be that I don’t get hit on playing males. Now I’m not so sure. I think I’m actually a little bit in love with my ‘boys’. Β And let’s face it, if you’re going to spend hours running around in 3rd person view, looking at your character’s butt…wouldn’t you prefer a bit of eye-candy too?

Different people play games for different reasons – wish-fulfillment, escape, compensating for reality, fun, relaxation – you name it, the list goes on and on. I play mostly for fun and relaxation, with a smidgeon of escape thrown in.

Why do you play? And what does your character mean to you?

This isn’t psychoanalysis, it’s just fun, so leave me some words of wisdom in comments. πŸ™‚

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

24 responses to “Confessions of a 60 year old fangirl

  • davidprosser

    Sorry,I can’t talk about gaming but I can admire your taste in music. The Easybeats are a regular of mine on Youtube along with others from that era when I’m working.
    xxx Hugs Galore xxx

    Like

  • EllaDee

    I read for the same reasons you play, and there is never enough time for any of it… but we manage… dust… pah… who cares.
    ACDC and Bon Scott were my Easybeats – a lot less pretty. But I do like the Easybeats and Stevie Wright also, iconic Australian music, two members of which were directly responsible for ACDC.

    Like

  • anne54

    I’m not a gamer. If I was I think I would like to be female, just to prove that anything they can do we can do equally well! As for the Easybeats — I loved them and Friday on My Mind still gets me going.

    Like

    • acflory

      Yay! Another one of my mob. πŸ™‚ Good clean rock and roll.. more or less. πŸ˜€ And I do empathize with that feminist ambition. There are still far too few women/girls in the gaming world. Are you sure I can’t tempt you to play? lol

      Like

      • anne54

        You are a temptress….My problem is that I think I would love it! I am happy to let the housework mount up while I get lost in the computer, but I think an addiction to gaming would mean my unfinished paintings would also mount up. πŸ™‚

        Like

        • acflory

          -blush- Yes, the addiction is definitely a factor. Nowadays I usually restrict my playing to a couple of hours after dinner instead of watching TV. Gave up on the housework years ago! You paint? Do you have any pics up on your blog?

          Like

  • Candy Korman

    I’ve got Friday on my mind, too! Thanks for the “blast from the past.”

    I’m only a few years younger than you and I grew up on the other side of the world AND I’m not a gamer, but I understand the inclination to identify with male characters. When we were growing up MOST of the cool characters were guys!

    And who doesn’t want to be cool?

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes, you definitely have a point there Candy. I think Tomb Raider was the first game that feature a female being cool, instead of needing to be rescued!

      God I wish I could nudge you girls over to the dark side. πŸ˜€

      Like

  • Honie Briggs

    Your boy’s got some fancy footwork. I never heard of The Easybeats. Curiously similar, yes, you are definitely working from memory on this character. Hope your weekend is full of fun. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • acflory

      Oops, sorry. I completely forgot the Easybeats were an aussie rock band. Of course you wouldn’t have heard of them. And yes, that early conditioning obvious stuck deep in my subconscious somewhere. The funny thing is I wasn’t aware of it until today. πŸ™‚

      Like

  • Christie Meierz

    I used to play EverQuest, then EverQuest 2, mainly. Also a bit of World of Warcraft, Vanguard (I was a beta tester on that one), and DAoC. It’s been years, though. I don’t have time to play now, what with deadlines and all.

    I remember being *very* attached to my characters, to the point of getting a stomach ache if they died. Which they did. Frequently. πŸ™‚ I made my toons as pretty as I could. I preferred to play females – since I played with my husband, mostly, I didn’t get hit on much.

    What games do you play, Meeks?

    Like

    • acflory

      YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Okay, once a gamer always a gamer. πŸ˜€ I tried Everquest II but that was only fairly recently and the graphics were kind of dated [I’m a graphics whore from way back].

      Hmm… I /haven’t/ played first person shooters but a lot of rpg’s over the last 10 years or so. FFXI, WoW, Ryzom, Horizon, Perfect World International, Tabula Rasa [ick], Warhammer,Rift, Aion, Guild Wars 2, Star Wars The Old Republic, FFXIV and now FFXIV A Realm Reborn. I’ve missed a few in there but I have played a lot.

      I was great friends with two aussie husband and wife teams on WoW and I always envied the fact that they could duo.

      If you ever get some down time you should try Guild Wars 2 and FFXIV A Realm Reborn. Both excellent mmo’s.

      Like

  • Jon Jefferson

    A guy I used to play Everquest with played female characters because he preferred to look at their butts as well. I’ve never gotten into the gender swap in gaming for long periods. But now when I play fable 2 there is a point where you can gender swap your character. Every game I play to the end I end up switching and it bugs my daughters.

    Like

    • acflory

      lmao! My daughter is a gamer too and she’s cool with it as she gender swaps as well.

      I was playing last night and discovered that a friend in my guild is actually a guy playing a female character. We laughed, but there’s a lot of that happening in FFXIV. To the point where you have to assume that most female toons are being played by guys.

      I don’t understand why more girls don’t play. Ah well, maybe by the time I’m 90 it’ll be an even split. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Colin

        There’s an old jokey explanation for the acronym MMORPG. It is said to mean Many Men Online Role Playing Girls. πŸ˜€

        The only MMO I play with any sort of regularity is Eve, and I have two characters there. One male and one female. I have to admit that the male character is cuter. *cough*

        Like

Don't be shy!

