Allergic to my Life

No, I don’t suffer from anything worse than a bit of hayfever every now and then, but my friend Kathryn Chastain Treat has become allergic to virtually everything we take for granted in our modern world.

Kathryn’s fight to banish allergens from her life – so she can have a life – has filled me with awe from the moment I first stumbled onto her blog. This is one gutsy lady.

One of the hardest issues Kathryn has had to face is ignorance, both in the medical community, and from other people. People just like you and me, wear scented deodorant, or perfume or some other personal care product that we are not even aware of. But to Kathryn, those products are like a red rag to a bull, causing her allergic reactions to flare.

I would suggest that you try to imagine what Kathryn’s life is like but I know you can’t. Instead I’m recommending that you buy her book, either for yourself, or perhaps for someone you know who suffers unexplained ill health. We all need to know about this, and perhaps if we take the time to learn, life for Kathryn, and people like her, may become a little easier.

You can buy Kathryn’s book – Allergic to my Life – here on Amazon.

Or if you’re lucky you may be able to get one for free [see link below] :

http://allergictolifemybattle.wordpress.com/2013/09/18/goodreads-giveaway/#comment-3416

Help spread understanding one reader at a time. 🙂

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

22 responses to “Allergic to my Life

  • Allergic to Life – review from AC Flory | Be My Guest

    […] was wonderfully  happy to receive such an amazing review by  author AC Flory (Vohktah) of my book Allergic to Life so soon after its release.  AC Flory had been following my […]

    Like

  • dadirri7

    very interesting to learn about the extent of this problem … we avoid man-made perfumes and chemicals as much as possible as I react to them too … if we ever have to go into the toiletries aisle in the supermarket I have to cover my mouth and nose and rush for the product I want … luckily only about once a year … and on our recent holiday S was asphyxiated by men’s underarm spray in the communal shower block … he complained for days of the toxic smell … is there any chance we can ban all this rubbish?

    Like

    • acflory

      We surround ourselves with man-made chemicals because most of the time we can see or smell them and so assume they’re safe.

      I can’t use fly sprays of any sort and had to stop wearing perfume years ago because it gave me a rash – and no, this was the expensive stuff. 😦

      We buy processed food that’s load with yet more chemicals that we assume are safe. 😦

      In years to come, I think we’ll discover just how toxic all these additives truly are and maybe /then/ we’ll finally manage to have them banned. Until then all we can do is avoid as much of the muck as possible and hope it’s enough to keep us healthy.

      Like

      • dadirri7

        you are so right! we make all our own food from scratch and read ingredients on anything we buy (very little), I cannot wear perfumes either, but we do use lavender oil every day … same with fly spray and anything ‘perfumed’ … how people use commercial washing powders is beyond me … they stink! yes, we will have to wait years until they are banned 😦

        Like

        • acflory

          Speaking of washing powders, we use a product based on eucalyptus oil [and no nasty fabric conditioners].

          You know it’s funny, but talking about these things has made me realise that I’m more sensitive to chemicals in the environment than I actually thought. So many of these things have just crept in over the years I’ve stopped thinking about why I’m so ‘fussy’ about chemicals in the house.

          Like

          • dadirri7

            I am the same, when you don’t like something you just avoid it and find something you do like … you don’t necessarily reason it all out … when Costa stayed with us last year he told us he never uses deodorant because he only eats good food … he spoke at a girls school about it … junk in, junk out!

            Like

          • acflory

            Mmm… I had a friend who wouldn’t wear deodorant, but he did have BO. 😦 I still wear deodorant but only the hypoallergenic one. I definitely agree with the junk in, junk out though. My Mum was a great cook and came from a generation that made everything themselves so I cook everything from scratch as well [except for Thai curry, I do cheat there].

            The Daughter has finally started to cook but her bf is a wonderful cook himself so she kind of lacks incentive. lol The bf actually makes his own bread AND pasta AND pastry. I hope he does Meals-on-wheels when I’m too old to cook for myself. 🙂

            Like

          • dadirri7

            I like the sound of the bf!!

            Like

          • acflory

            Yup. The Daughter is a lucky girl. 😀

            Like

  • Candy Korman

    Very interesting — and a bit scary too.

    Like

    • acflory

      Yup. If this condition is acquired through exposure to certain manmade chemicals then what’s to say we won’t end up acquiring it as well? -shiver-

      I’d hate to live in the pre-industrial era for all sorts of reasons, but perhaps it’s time we reduced the toxicity of our own era.

      Like

  • sondasmcschatter

    Kathryn is my MCS sister— & there are hundreds of thousands of us who suffer from MCS– So glad Kathryn has written a book to help educate others about MCS!!!
    http://sondasmcschatter.wordpress.com

    Like

    • acflory

      Thanks for commenting. Apart from Kathryn, you are only the second person I’ve ‘met’ who suffers from this condition. It’s scary to think there are so many of you, and that nothing is being done. I really admire Kathryn for reaching out to try and make things better for others. -hugs-

      Like

  • Catherine

    My mum suffered terribly from this and was finally unable to travel on Public Transport because of all the perfumes, deodorants etc… which took the very breath from her and sometimes worse 😦
    That was back in the 1970’s and I would have thought that matters would have improved since then. Clearly not… grrr!!!

    Like

    • acflory

      Hi Catherine. To most of us this is still an invisible condition. A lot of my extended family have asthma and/or other autoimmune related conditions and I’m wondering if MCS isn’t somehow also autoimmune related, perhaps an acquired autoimmune disorder. One thing is for sure, there is nowhere near enough awareness, and research into it.

      I’m so sorry your Mother’s life became so constrained due to MCS. 😦

      Like

  • Kathryn Chastain Treat

    Reblogged this on allergictolifemybattle and commented:
    Thank you ACFlory for sharing this with your readers. Kindly appreciated.

    Like

  • Kathryn Chastain Treat

    Thank you so much for sharing my story.

    Like

    • acflory

      -hugs- You’re doing something important to help raise awareness about this condition, and to help others who have it. If that doesn’t deserve some help from a friend I don’t know what does.

      Like

  • davidprosser

    I seem remember the lead singer from Middle of the Road suffered a similar illness and wasn’t able to venture outdoors.And there was the case of the boy in a bubble who was allergic to virtually every aspect of modern life. It’s a tragedy when what some of us see as progress is actually a killer to some.
    I’m sure this book has a lot to teach about the things that can cause allergies but hopefully it will also tell us or show us how to be more careful in out approach to others who may suffer even a fraction of these ills.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

    • acflory

      I only just bought my copy so haven’t had a chance to read it yet but knowing Kathryn I’m sure it will be full of practical advice. She does that on her blog already, trying to help as many people as she can.

      Like

  • EllaDee

    A great issue to promote awareness of because we are all increasingly at risk to a certain extent of not being able to cope with various seemingly innocuous factors, and some like your friend Kathryn are dealing with the reality already.

    Like

Don't be shy!

