Flash fiction vote, Meeka fumée, and FFXIV A Realm Reborn

Yes, it’s going to be one of those posts. Let’s start with some pretty pictures, shall we?

First off we have Meeka Thara, one of my female toons on Final Fantasy XIV A Realm Reborn.

Meeka Thara

Followed by two of my boys.  This one is Takh Ahn

tahn ahn

And last but not least we have Nikko Tahn

nikko tahn

The reason I’m foisting these photos onto you non-gamers is because I’m so taken with the graphics. All of these photos show in-game graphics, not the super-dooper animations they did for the game trailer.  Computer graphics truly have come one hell of a long way in the last decade. And I have to say, Final Fantasy XIV has come an even longer way from its first launch.  Version 2 – A Realm Reborn – is everything we Final Fantasy fans were hoping for, and didn’t get with version 1. I feel as if I’ve finally come home again. Thank you Square Enix. 🙂

The odd bit of french in the title basically translates as smoked-Meeka – you know, like smoked salmon but not so pink. 🙂 I’ve just spent 5 hours burning off in my back yard and I reek. Even the dog is giving me strange looks and she’s not known for her discerning taste. Nonetheless, I’m done, and I’m relieved. All, and I mean all of the storm damage has now been tidied up and I’m that much closer to having my block ready for the coming fire season. Phew.

And finally, a request. Some of you have read my flash fiction entry for this week’s competition. Now I’m asking you to read the other entries because, sadly, they’re bloody good. I still like my story, but I suspect I’ll be voting for Jon Jefferson’s entry, it’s that good.

Anyone can vote so please check the entries out and make your mark on the future of some very good indie writers. You can see all the entries here :

http://www.indiesunlimited.com/2013/09/07/flash-fiction-challenge-the-headsmans-block/

Okay, that’s it, I’m done. Now I’m going to spend a long time in the shower so the dog will like me again. 😉

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

12 responses to “Flash fiction vote, Meeka fumée, and FFXIV A Realm Reborn

  • davidprosser

    I’m only guessing here but perhaps your nickname of Meeka came from FF? Duh ! The graphics are fantastic compared to the way they used to be. They’ve come on light years.Lord only knows what they’ll be like when your beloved daughter gets there.
    I’ll try to get to the other flash fiction but no guarantees today as it’s visitor day again.
    Sending Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

  • EllaDee

    Dammit. I missed the voting.
    I hope for you and the dog’s sake you smell better but good on you for doing your fire prep. Many people in Sydney/outskirts were taken unawares earliy this week.

    Like

  • Jon Jefferson

    True story. I actually wrote my story long this week, so it wasn’t votable. I did vote for yours though (even before I saw this post).

    I have used my shadow knight Zereq as an online name for quite a few things for years now. This was one of my Everquest characters.

    Like

    • acflory

      I didn’t realise your story wasn’t eligible until I went to vote just now. Seems as if I missed the boat in more ways than one. I really did enjoy your story Jon. I could ‘hear’ it in my head, almost as if I was listening to a radio broadcast. Anyway, thanks for voting for mine. I came second so I’m really happy. 🙂

      Great name, Zereq. Sometimes those characters can become like true alter egos can’t they? I sometimes think Meeka is who I’d like to be. 🙂

      Like

  • Candy Korman

    Very cool graphics! (And this is from one of the non-gamers.)

    Like

Don't be shy!

