The week that was, or wow I’m wrecked…

I know weeks don’t normally start or end on a Wednesday, but since beginning my new course, Wednesday has become the pivotal point of my week.

I’ve just come home from my regular Wednesday class – 9.30 to 3.30, except for today which was 9.30 to 4.30 – and my brain feels like a broken powerline that’s shorting all over the place. Β It’s not that the work is exceptionally hard, it’s not, but it does require a degree of consistent concentration my poor brain is not used to. I am enjoying it though. Sort of.

The other reason my brain feels slightly fried is that my Muse has come back with a vengeance. For the last five days I’ve been writing solidly from about 8 in the morning to 7 at night, at which point the pathetic cries of hunger from the family finally drive me into the kitchen.

Honestly? I’m on such a roll at the moment I’d just as soon not eat. But of course there’s a two-footed person, and multiple four-footed people who do not share my addiction to Innerscape. -sigh-

All of the above is a rather weak excuse for not having updated the Evil Corporation post. Unfortunately my ingrained Catholic guilt has finally got the better of me, so I’ve just googled all these names :-

Suggestions for Company Name

Unifood – I really liked Unifood, but when I googled the name… I found a unifood.com. 😦 -cries-

GC is also taken. 😦 Apparently it’s the name of a global corporation with subsidiaries all over the world. No idea what they make/do. -sigh-

Happi Β = a [Japanese?] company selling Happi coats? …

Oceanux – a software development company…

Gemso – an [Italian? Spanish?] company making who knows what….

GOCAC – this one has what amounts to an empty page on Facebook. What gives with that?

GROCAC – Leon Grocac is an ‘auditeur’ in Paris?

I’m starting to feel a little faint….

 

Suggestions for product name.

Nutrisynth – Someone has bought the domain name, possibly a speculator as there is no activity on the site. 😦

FeedUp Β – a fish food company? I think it’s Italian. 😦

Bountiful – Oh My God… it’s not taken?!?

Ambrosia – There’s an Ambrosia Cafe in Brisbane of all places but this may be a possibility

Manna –Β http://www.mannainc.com.au/ Β This appears to be a charitable organization that provides free food to the destitute in Perth.

Out of all those names, including the made up funny ones, only Bountiful [and possibly Ambrosia with a qualifier] won’t get me sued.

To say I’m suddenly feeling incredibly depressed is an understatement. It looks as if every food or biotek related name will be taken. That leaves me with only family name + something –Β If I’m lucky.

I never, ever imagined finding a name for the evil corporation of my dreams would be this hard…

-slinks off to cook dinner-

 

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

18 responses to “The week that was, or wow I’m wrecked…

  • tdmckinnon

    The secret way of getting through the day during any educational bombardment, and finishing fresh and strong, is to ‘Snack all day long’: excuse yourself for a few minutes every couple of hours and have a healthy, nutritious snack. Nuts and dried fruit are handy, easy to carry and have little or no odour, and washed down with your favourite fruit juice; I find apple juice perfectly refreshing.

    Oh, and how about ‘Acflory 11’ for taste and nutrition? Acflory (obvious) 11 (power number). By the way, when I’m really pushing the old grey matter I am bursting with writing ideas.

    Keep on keeping on, Meeks!

    Like

    • acflory

      I think that idea of healthy snacking could be a winner TD. Especially if I could avoid a lunch of carbs. Thanks for the tip. I’ll give that a try next week. And you’re right about the creativity. Instead of blocking off my imagination [as I’d feared] the study seems to be making the creative ideas more… urgent. lol Switching them off seems to be my one problem now!

      -giggles- I kinda like acflory11 too. Nothing like naming a deadly cocktail after myself. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  • EllaDee

    Yes but wow what a great way to be wrecked… creativity and words flying off the keyboard…
    What a dilemma, coming up with a name that’s not IP already. When you do, can you register it to prevent it from being infringed by someone else in the future?
    Half an hour lunch break is not enough time for our brains to recover and regroup for an afternoon of learning… I hope whatever subjects you do in the arvo are assessment/training-lite πŸ™‚

    Like

  • Candy Korman

    Maybe just a completely made up word?… PHUBS or pHUBS or Phood or AllPhood….

    Like

    • acflory

      Or maybe something made up together with a number. I really like the feel of clinical disinterest a number gives, as if feed the Refugees is divorced from compassion. πŸ˜€

      Like

  • Chris James

    Hang in there, young lady! πŸ™‚

    Like

  • metan

    Aaargh! Hmmmm… will have to go away and think of more. Oh well, if you keep on writing at that rate you never know, it might insert itself into your head all on its own. πŸ™‚

    Like

  • geooorge

    I just thought of nutriplus and did a fast check. Already taken!
    You know, just name it Evil Food Corp. Don’t think its taken πŸ˜€

    Like

  • davidprosser

    I make one last effort…Globicorps ! Multinat, Conglom. OK that’s three last efforts but I hate to her you’re depressed. I’m glad the school day is going well and that you’re enjoying it. Have you got your little packed lunch and remembered your apple for the teacher.? slight pause while I try to imagine you in a gymslip, Hmm, no, not working.
    The news that Innerscape is bounding along is great and although I’m all for that I remind you not to neglect yourself and for the sake of your continued good health and unbruised body don’t forget the other multi-legged animals out there.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

    • acflory

      -grin- I’ll look up your suggestions – and thank you. πŸ™‚

      Yes, I have to take a cut lunch as there’s nowhere nearby to buy lunch [and we only get 1/2 an hour]. The apple’s for me though. πŸ˜‰

      Like

Don't be shy!

