Survey : Only 1.52% of readers like science fiction

Q4 What is your favorite genre of fiction?
Mystery: 4.81%
Thriller: 1.97%
Romance: 81.02%
Science Fiction: 1.52%
Other: 10.67%

Those results come from a survey of 2,951 readers taken by Marie Force
[New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author]. As Marie Force is a Contemporary Romance writer, and would attract a lot of romance readers to her blog – and hence the survey – the results are not exactly unbiased. But they are still disturbing if you don’t write romance.

Not surprisingly, the most popular genre was Romance, and the most popular retailer was Amazon, however some of the other results were real eye-openers, at least for me. Apparently Twitter is not a very useful way to promote our books. The crown for marketing goes to Facebook. -sigh-

If you’re an indie author like me, you might want to read the whole article, especially the specific questions and answers, as that is where you will find the most relevant information for your own genre.  Taken with a small grain of salt, this is a great resource, and I highly recommend it.

You can find the complete article here :

http://e-bookformattingfairies.blogspot.com.au/2013/08/the-readers-sound-off-how-they-read.html

Now I’m going to go cry in my coffee. 1.52%? Talk about feeling unloved. 😦

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

18 responses to “Survey : Only 1.52% of readers like science fiction

  • davidprosser

    1.9% like thrillers and yet look at David Baldacci, and other authors like him that corner a huge amount of the market. That percentage still covers millions of books even if the statistics are true. Romance will always be a market leader as long as there are bored housewives and or women who want a quick, easy, uncomplicated story. But many of them will often have secondary reading patterns too. Look at the huge popularity of some of the greats of sci fi like Asimov and Heinlein, that should give you hope.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    Wow, thrillers didn’t rank much higher. Given I never read romance, the high number surprised me. Thanks for the link. I’ll have to check it out.

    Like

  • Candy Korman

    This is definitely too small and too skewed a sample to have any real meaning. I bet, if a popular science fiction author ran a similar survey, romance would be at the bottom and SciFi at the top. Of course my favorite genre — mystery — has a way of crossing boundaries. (Romantic suspense/romantic mystery)… LOL.. Mystery is always a contender.

    Like

  • EllaDee

    Lies, damned lies, and statistics… Technically I fall within Other but there’s not much I won’t read, and I’m easily influenced as you know… I get that you’re saying, there’s some valure in it but not much… The survey is a ridiculous as it sounds… “What is your favorite genre of fiction”… “oh, I prefer other…” So what are writers going to do, write for the readership? only Steve Hely’s Pete Tarslaw…

    Like

    • acflory

      lmao – there speaks the Voice of Reason! You’re right, the best that survey can do is indicate what her readership reads. Nonetheless, Romance is the, single biggest seller on Amazon. I guess we should be grateful for all the readers who also read other things. 🙂

      Like

  • metan

    Romance the most popular? Bleh. I guess it shouldnt be a surprise though, any time I search through Amazon for something new I have to wade through the deep sludge of romance titles before anything decent pops out its head. I am sure there are some romance novels out there that are a good read, the sheer volume of similar titles means that you are never likely to find them.

    Hmmmm…. do those statistics mean that those who love romance are more likely to hang out on the dreaded FB? Maybe we need to find a FB equivalent that is scfi friendly! 😀

    Like

    • acflory

      ‘Maybe we need to find a FB equivalent that is scfi friendly!’

      You’ve hit the nail on the head! I have been looking but so far I haven’t stumbled across this holy grail. If you find something please let me know!

      Like

      • metan

        Hee hee… Space Book. 😉
        I don’t do any of the social networking things, no FB, twitter, nothing. I’m afraid I’m not a good advocate for any of those invasive things but if I ever find one I like I will be sure to let you know!

        Like

  • josh

    Wow, I really hope there is some major sample bias in that survey. I’d rate Romance dead last among all those choices, even the nebulous “other”. I can’t say it surprises me that among people drawn to a romance writer’s blog, only 1.5% would say Sci Fi is their favorite genre. I wouldn’t read too much into those numbers. (No pun intended.)

    Like

    • acflory

      lol – thanks Josh. And yeah, the ‘other’ category made me scratch my head a bit! I’d love to see some real figures, say from Amazon, as to the breakdown of ebook sales. Hmm… I wonder if that’s already out there somewhere. I’ll go have a look…

      Like

  • Colin

    I have to say, that is a ridiculous survey. 😀 Don’t worry about it. While I don’t think as many read SF as thrillers and mysteries, the fact that those genres barely get more than SF tells me that the bias of that poll is seriously out of what. I think that thrillers and mysteries are bigger than romance, actually.

    Like

    • acflory

      I don’t read Romance [except for a few exceptions] but the stats say more women read than men, and more women read Romance that pretty much any other category, so I do think Romance is the flavour of the month at the moment. That said, yes the survey was biased because the people running the survey were Romance writers, hence respondents would be mostly Romance readers.

      Bottom line – this whole marketing game makes my head hurt!

      Like

      • Colin

        Hah, that’s the reason I’m never going to go indie. Not fully anyway. I don’t want to deal with all that stuff. I’m a writer, not a salesman. If I were a salesman, I’d be like my dad, and I don’t want that. I just have to figure out a way to become really famous so JK Rowling’s agent rings me and begs me to sign up… But how? 😀

        Like

  • Stephanie Allen Crist

    I don’t buy it. Yes, romance is more popular, but the gap is only that large IF you survey romance readers. The sample makes all the difference in the world.

    You know what they say, “Statistics don’t lie, but statitisticians do.”

    Like

Don't be shy!

