First Chapters – Indies Unlimited

In the whirlwind of the last few weeks, I almost missed this innovative book idea by Indies Unlimited.

First Chapters is an anthology of exactly that – the first chapters of a whole heap of books by Indies Unlimited contributors – including yours truly. πŸ˜€

whitman sampler

Pic courtesy Russell Stover

It’s like a sampler box of chocolates – a taste of each flavour so you can decided which ones you like the best.

As Indies Unlimited prides itself on the quality of the writers ‘on staff’, this is a good deal for readers because they can find excellent indie books all in one place. I’ve read quite a few of the books you can sample, and I have enjoyed all of them, so I’m proud to be associated with so many really good Indie writers.

For authors, it’s also a good deal because our work becomes more visible, and visibility is the name of the game in e-publishing.

If you get a chance, please check out First Chapters on Amazon. I know you won’t be disappointed. I do warn you though, you may find yourselves buying a lot of ‘chocolate’. πŸ˜€

cheers

Meeks,

p.s. My first day at ‘school’ went really well. I was particularly relieved to find that many of the 16 participants were my age-ish, and everyone was interesting. Now I have to go do my homework. -sigh-

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

13 responses to “First Chapters – Indies Unlimited

  • Stephanie Allen Crist

    What an innovative marketing technique! I love it!!! πŸ˜€

    Like

  • EllaDee

    I’ve indulged in a copy of First Chapters – it’s a bargain πŸ™‚
    When I did Cert IV Workplace Training & Assessment, it was the group I enjoyed most… diverse in ages, backgrounds and interests – adult education can be fun. Homework is still a bitch though 😦

    Like

    • acflory

      Spot on! That diversity is what makes the group come alive. And yes, my conscience is not prodding me to make a start on the homework. For this week it’s just reading one chapter of the textbook but I know it’s going to ramp up astronomically so I really should give the whole lot a quick once through. Then I’ll be ready to get into details next week. Of course what I ought to do and what I will do are very different beasts. πŸ™‚

      Like

  • Candy Korman

    Life may not really be “like a box of chocolates” but a book might fit the bill β€” with a lower caloric count.

    Like

  • metan

    Glad you had a good day at school, and that you didn’t need a Star Wars lunchbox to fit in! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  • davidprosser

    It does sound like a fantastic idea though of course many of us have chapters free through other sites and also on Amazon where you can read bits of the books at random.It’s great to have so many in one place though.
    Does Katie make sure you’ve done your homework before letting you have your ‘tea’ ?.
    Massive Hugs xxxx

    Like

    • acflory

      Hah… my daughter doesn’t cook. :/ And yes, it’s having them all in one place that is the best thing about the samples. Plus I believe after the 3 month KDP Select period is up, IU will be putting First Chapters on Smashwords where it can be free all the time.:)

      Like

Don't be shy!

