This? This? Or this? Help!

In case the title of this post wasn’t clear, I need feedback!

Firstly, I’m very tempted to change the title of my book of short stories from ‘Postcards from Torrmow’ [a bit pretentious?] to just ‘The Vintage Egg, and other stories from tomorrow’.

Yes? No? Maybe?

Secondly I’ve been wearing my fingers to the bone trying to come up with an eye-catching cover that is also appealing instead of chunderous [from aussie slang : chunder : to throw up].

Could you please have a look at these covers and tell me which one you like [if any] or which one really puts you off?

1. Extreme contrasts and neon colours, but hard to miss.

postcards black and yellow

2. Slightly less eye-watering.

postcards black and red

3. Far less eye-catching, but also easier on the eye. Would the colour scheme be too similar to that of Vokhtah though?

vintage egg purple and gold

All comments and suggestions for changes gratefully received! I love playing with graphics, but there is a reason I’m not a graphic designer!

Hugs in advance,

Meeks

p.s. Oops! I just realised the cockpit cover is missing on all 3 graphics. -sigh- Now I’ll have to find out how to export across layers. 😦

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

32 responses to “This? This? Or this? Help!

  • Ilil Arbel

    Third cover. Vintage Egg, and soft colors. I would change the author’s name to black, though, for balance with the top and a bit of emphasis.

    Like

    • acflory

      Thanks Ilil. I went with the 3rd one, but you’re right, I should have changed the colour for author name to black. The goldy colour looks fine on larger images but gets lost on the Amazon list sized images. Ah well. I’ll know next time.

      Like

  • Jeri Walker-Bickett (@JeriWB)

    I feel shorter is always better when it comes to title, and
    “The Vintage Age” is an attention grabber. I also like the font used for the title a lot more in the third cover as well, but the subtitle is a bit hard to read. The image falls flat for me though… the tires contain good detail, but the inside of the “egg” needs more visual interest (not that I’m an expert or even know how to do much with image editing).

    Like

    • acflory

      Thanks Jeri. The graphic of the Egg started out as just a concept sketch for the -cough- magnum opus -cough- I never finished. I’ve redone a lot of the exterior because I can picture nuts and bolts. Unfortunately my skills don’t extend far enough to do much with the interior. 😦

      Maybe I should make the Egg less of a focus… hmm..

      Like

  • Colin

    I think “The vintage Egg” is a much better title than “Postcards from tomorrow”. Can I say it without appearing to be dismissive or hostile, but “Postcards from tomorrow” sounds a bit bland? I love “The Vintage Egg” though. πŸ˜€

    I think the third cover is more eye-catching too.

    Like

  • Chris James

    The third cover looks the strongest to me – the text font and colour is very eye-catching. Although I do prefer the title “Postcards from tomorrow” because it’s more suggestive of something exciting

    Like

  • anneb54

    My 2 bob’s worth…..I like the third cover, as I think the font is clearer and perhaps a little more retro. However, I do wonder what that cute vehicle has to do with the stories.

    As for the title, I vote for Postcards from Tomorrow, but The Vintage Egg is good too! (As a Piscean, I am a fence sitter!)

    Like

  • Tasha Turner

    3rd cover & Vintage eggs

    Like

  • jorobinson176

    I also like the third cover and The Vintage Egg as a title. πŸ™‚

    Like

  • medmcn

    Yup, “The Vintage Egg” and the last cover both “popped” for me more than the others.

    Like

  • EllaDee

    Just to make things interesting… I prefer the first. I quite like the title Postcards from Tomorrow because that is indeed what the stories are, but if you want to highlight The Vintage Egg, then I like that as well.
    I like the font and the yellow of the first cover – it’s simple, striking and poppy.

    Like

    • acflory

      Really? I liked it when I first put it together, but then I noticed myself squinting every time I caught sight of that neon yellow. lol

      I’m marking you down as 1 each way on the title and a definite 1 on the yellow. πŸ™‚

      Like

  • metan

    I like both titles! I prefer the third font and graphic though. (Have you thought of using a desert landscape as a background?)

    Like

    • acflory

      Cool, you’re another one having a punt on both titles. πŸ˜€

      Re the desert landscape… yes, I did actually. I can see it so clearly in my head – like the country around Broken Hill – but I don’t have any pictures of my own, and I can’t really afford to buy one. Maybe one day if I can get some more stories happening I can make an omnibus with all of them and get that desert landscape for the cover.

      Like

  • Jennifer

    Chunderous, lol,haven’t heard that for oh so long.
    To the title.
    I like the colour scheme of the last one. The full black is a little too harsh, but maybe its just the title colour. The fluro is a bit much, maybe a shadow of sorts on the red one with a black background.
    I like Postcards from Tomorrow but having a ‘sneak peak’ at a story by including it on the title is good, if a little passΓ©. I’m not a huge fan of that personally.

    I hope that wasn’t too bad.
    A few ideas that just came to me.

    A glimpse of the future.
    A series of short stories from tomorrow.
    Stories from the future

    Like

    • acflory

      Hmm… you make a good point there. Maybe if I can dredge up some more stories for a second book I could call the series ‘Postcards from tomorrow’?

      And I love chunder. It’s just so /us/. lol

      Like

  • laurieboris

    I’m leaning toward “The Vintage Egg” and its font scheme. IMO, the title is more intriguing.

    Like

  • Kathryn Chastain Treat

    I like the third color the best of the three presented. I can’t decide on the title. If I had to choose, I think I would go with The Vintage Egg.

    Like

  • jenowenby

    I like the third cover and “Postcards From Tomorrow”. Good luck! These choices can be very difficult.

    Like

  • Candy Korman

    I LOVE the title “The Vintage Egg”!
    As for input on the cover, I’m sure you’ll get sage advice from your other blog followers. But as for the title… The Vintage Egg is a wonderful title.

    Like

    • acflory

      Thanks Candy. Dare I say it? I’m loving all the feedback. I’ve been messing with this cover almost non-stop for 5 days and I can’t ‘see’ it anymore, if that makes any sense.

      Like

Don't be shy!

