Back to school at 60 – for a Cert IV

money moneyFor those, like me, who don’t know the ways of the modern world, certificates [certs for short] are now apparently necessary for everything. As in, you can’t get a job in your area of expertise without one.

The particular Cert IV I’m after is in ‘Training and Assessment’. It will take about 6 months to complete, and will cost upwards of $1000. Once I have it, I will be allowed to do what I’ve done for donkey’s years, and that is teach people how to use computers.

Actually, I tell a little lie – I can volunteer to teach now, but if I want to get paid for it, I have to have this interesting piece of paper. Sadly, I do need to get paid because the bills keep coming. And yes, I know I’m a million times better off than a lot of people out there. I’m just having a little sook.

My reactions to all this are mixed. On the one hand I resent having to jump hoops like this. On the other hand, I’m relieved I have some way out of this financial dead end. And to be honest, I’ve always enjoyed learning, so that in itself is not a great hardship. But I really, really wish it was not so expensive. Unfortunately, as I already have a couple of tertiary qualifications, I’m not entitled to receive government assistance in ‘re-skilling’.

Anyway, I’ve been trawling the net most of the day trying to find a course provider close to home. No luck so far, but you’d be amazed at how many places offer there certificate courses. Seems as if there’s been a boom in this particular growth industry.

I just hope the industry will still be booming once I have that Cert IV in my hot little hands. Who’d a thunk growing old would turn out to be so… interesting.

On a MUCH happier note, I installed Corel Draw X6 last night, and discovered that those clever people at Corel kept the interface very similar to how it’s always been. There are lots of new features, but I’m taking my time discovering them one by one. It’s such an immense relief to know I’ll be productive straight away. Once I’ve learned some nifty new things I’ll write another techie post about them. Until then you’re safe. πŸ™‚

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

22 responses to “Back to school at 60 – for a Cert IV

  • JaydenCox

    The blog is great and it is very true that if you want a job today you need a certificate for that. I did my Certificate IV Training and Assessment some time back and it was a good experience.

    Like

    • acflory

      Thanks for the feedback Jayden! Getting some positive info back really helps boost my confidence. I have to give my 15 min. presentation next week so the boost is very welcome. I know I can teach. What I don’t know is if I can get all the other stuff in with just 15 minutes. Plus I’ve been scratching my head over the OHS component too. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  • EllaDee

    I did Cert IV Assessment & Training back in 2000 when the govt was rolling out the new system, and it cost me $100 and 2 nights a week plus a weekends studying for almost a year… But, I enjoyed the course, the other people and trainers. I’ve never used the qualification formally but I learnt a lot useful stuff that I’ve applied ever since. Depending on your other qualifications and experience, you may qualify for RPL (recognition of prior learning) which won’t reduce the cost but will reduce class time. That said, if the class time isn’t too onerous, it’s worth doing. I have a Cert III in Business Admin entirely through RPL, also cheap, oh those were the days πŸ˜‰
    Also, if you are looking to teach at Tafe, check what is required as a friend who had Cert IV Assessment & Training needed additional qualifications.
    As far as I know your certificate will be good for a couple of years, and then you need to doa top up course but other than that hopefully the govt will leave things as they are. Just after I completed a 3
    year counsellor training course, the govt brought in accreditation, which would have meant more study for me.
    Good luck. Have fun πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • acflory

      Ouch, you got burned on the qualifications merry-go-round. 😦

      Thank you for telling me though because it’s given me a huge boost to know that you and TD have both done this course.

      I’ll enquire about the RPL thingie but even if I can’t get any credits I’m feeling a whole lot more positive about things today. πŸ™‚

      Like

  • Honie Briggs

    Meeks, I can totally relate. Volunteering is very rewarding. Sadly though, it doesn’t pay the bills. Hoop! Oh the hoops to go back to school. Interesting indeed! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • acflory

      Further study was the very last thing on my mind. In fact it was not on my mind at all. But now that I’ve had a day to get used to the idea I’m actually starting to get excited. It’ll be nice to get out amongst people. I just hope they don’t see me as a Methuselah. Or worse, a dinosaur!

      Like

  • davidprosser

    OK. I’ve stopped trying to imagine you in a gymslip after an hour and a cold shower. I just want to check you’ll make sure you have a packed lunch and a drink in your satchel before you go each day. AND, remember to behave yourself or teacher will tell me !
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

  • tdmckinnon

    I did the same thing just a couple of years ago, Meeks; I had been training people, in various areas, for many years (like about 40 years) and I was still training & assessing at the time, but with the new rules I still had to acquire a Cert IV TAA and then just last year they changed the rules again: same Cert IV but they changed the name, TAE, and added a couple of modules; I was forced to update. Annoying, time consuming, an expense I could have done without (like you, I’m doing it out of necessity) but there are upsides to everything; I met a couple of nice people, who I get a bit of work through.

    Like

    • acflory

      Thanks so much of commenting TD. Knowing that you, and another blogger friend of mine have both done the course… and survived! has cheered me up immensely. Something else that has helped is learning that I /may/ be eligible for some concessions on the cost. πŸ˜€

      Like

  • metan

    When we were checking out the local High School for Number 1 I was surprised to find that at the end of Year 12 (if you take certain subjects) you will leave school with a few certificates, not just a pass. While this is a good thing to me it just showed that the cert system is just a series of pieces of paper!
    I am sure you will enjoy the new things you learn though, like Candy said, keeping the brain filling up with new stuff is never a bad thing!
    (Can you do it online rather than having to find somewhere close to home?)

    Like

    • acflory

      Actually, giving school leavers some practical qualifications is a very good idea as it gives them some incentive to finish their secondary education. You are right about the pieces of paper though.

      There are a couple of online options I’m looking at, but I’d really like to be able to do the course via Nillumbik Living and Learning as that is where I’d eventually like to teach.

      I’m still in the process of discovering all the ins and outs, but fingers crossed, this could end up being an opportunity. Knowing that TD and EllaDee have done this course has given me a huge boost too. πŸ™‚

      Like

  • Candy Korman

    On the upside, a French study on aging just got a lot of press in the U.S. it basically states that people who keep working keep their brains functioning. Early retirees are much more likely to slow down mentally. So here’s to 60 + and getting new Certs and continuing to work and learn and strive and, most of all, to WRITE! You’ve got years and years ahead, might as well invest in yourself.

    Like

  • jenniferscoullar

    Annoying and expensive, but you never know what opportunities further learning can bring. I reckon you’ll love it! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • acflory

      lol – you’re a pollyanna like me. πŸ™‚ I’m going to resent not being able to focus on nothing but writing [and pets and housework and cooking…] but I admit getting out of the house and talking to people in the real world probably isn’t such a bad idea. I’ve been quietly turning into a hermit. Soon I’ll even look like one… except for the long flowing beard of course.

      Like

  • Chris James

    Can’t you claim “grandmother rights”? As you already how to do this stuff, isn’t it enough that you take the exam and they give you the cert? Seems a bloody expensive way to be able to earn money doing something you already know how to do. Grrrr

    Like

Don't be shy!

