Corel Draw X6

I drive a 1988 Toyota Corolla because I refuse to throw anything away while it still works. Or perhaps it’s because I’m a keeper, and I do love that car.  Anyway, given my penchant for hoarding, you can imagine how happy [sic] I was at having to buy the latest version of Corel Draw.

For those of you who have never heard of Corel Draw, it was once the graphics program of choice. Then Photoshop happened, and Corel fell from favour. It’s still around though, so there must still be a core of Corel tragics like me out there.

corel draw 8I have been using Corel Draw for about 20 years, and the version I had to farewell today was Corel Draw 8 [released in 1998]. And before any of you do the math, that does make it 15 years old.

In the computer world, 15 years is like centuries for people, and if I were a real graphic artist, I would have had to upgrade a long time ago. But you see, I’m just a hobbyist – I like to make stuff for my own use, like the graphic of the Vintage Egg, or my maps of Vokhtah – so version 8 was all I needed.

Unfortunately, Corel Draw 8 doesn’t work properly with Windows 7. It will let me resize graphics, and export them, but I can’t save my work. Or, as I discovered today, I can’t even do that if I try anything a bit more fancy.

I knew I’d have to upgrade eventually, but I’ve been dragging my feet because of the expense, and the fact that I have better things to do than re-learn an application I know like the back of my hand.

Sadly, my procrastination cost me over two hours of work today, so I went outside, kicked a few weeds, came back inside and found a reasonably priced upgrade on Ebay.com.au.

I’m still not happy, but I got a good deal on Ebay so I’m feeling a little better.That may all  change when I install Corel X6 and discover I don’t have a clue how to use it, but such is life. Expect a rant later on in the week.

Until then, I hope you’ve all had/will have a pleasant Sunday.:)

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

30 responses to “Corel Draw X6

  • Jon Jefferson

    I hate all this upgrading just because there is a new version out. My last computer was a lap top that I had for about 10 years. It had windows xp on it and I was happy with it till it grew so slow it was taking too much of my day to get it working.

    Now that I have my IPad mini I find I like how the whole thing works. I have been considering eventually moving into an Apple desktop for work with videos and pics in the future. Even though my Ipad and my PC get along just fine I can see somethings that would be much easier if I played in the same sand box.

    Like

    • acflory

      lol – you’re one of my mob Jon! I was still using XP until about three or four weeks ago. 😀

      I like geeky things, but I can’t see the point of upgrading just for the heck of it either. Another thing with me is that I distrust Micro$oft intensely. They have come out with some really awful operating systems in the past, so I’ve learned to wait. I never did buy Vista, and I’m glad I didn’t. I have a feeling I won’t be buying Windows 8 either.

      That said, I’ve never been tempted by the MAC. I know it’s meant to be the bee’s knees for graphics, but my daughter uses Maya – THE graphics tool for games and movies – and she and her friends use the PC version, not the MAC one.

      If you do jump from the frying pan into the fire [or is that the other way around?] I’d love to know what you think of the Apple platform.

      Like

      • Jon Jefferson

        I do love my Ipad. What I have seen when I have messed with Apples recently, they are very similar in how they work.

        A big selling point for me is Scrivener. I do have it on my PC but it doesn’t link with my Ipad. From what I understand, if I had the Apple version of Scrivener I could tie it all together. It isn’t a huge thing but something that cuts down on the steps in my work is a great thing.

        Like

        • acflory

          Aaah. I don’t have an iPad – coz I’m mostly at home – and I don’t use Scrivener, but I know of it, and I can see how having Scrivener work with your iPad would be a distinct advantage. Workflow is vital so perhaps it would pay to take the plunge.

          Like

  • Colin

    To put on MY lecturer hat for a moment (as opposed to Josh’s) if you’re looking to relearn something from the ground up with another program, there is a perfectly servicable FREE graphics package called GIMP. But to tack onto Josh, GIMP is like Photoshop, it is a photography editor and not a graphics editor.

    http://www.gimp.org/screenshots/

    Like

    • acflory

      I’ve heard of Gimp, however I only really use the vector graphics part of the Corel suite so it wouldn’t be right for me anyway. Not sure why I like vector graphics so much but it’s definitely my ‘thing’. 🙂

      Like

  • josh

    To put my need hat on for a moment (like it’s ever really off) Corel Draw and Adobe Photoshop are intended for two different things. Draw is more akin to Adobe Illustrator I believe.
    I have vague recollections of using Corel Draw MORE than 15 years ago, so version 6 or 7. I was never very good at it, probably because I can’t draw! I was however, very good with Photoshop back then, using version 2.5 and 3. But I haven’t really touched it for years and I’m sure if you put the latest version in front of me I’d be lost.
    I spent a shameful amount of time this weekend playing an old computer game (c. 2003). It’s actually quite difficult to get old games to play on new systems, but there is a company that packages them for use on modern PCs. I think some of the best strategy and adventure games are still some of the old ones!
    Good luck with the new Draw!

    Like

    • acflory

      You’re so right Josh. Corel Draw is vector graphics, but it does come bundled with a photoshop lookalike. I didn’t want to get into too many technical details in the post as I thought no one would be interested! Wrong. lol Once I get the hang of the new version I may do a sort of overview of it.

      Re games : YES! One of my all time favourite games is still Final Fantasy Tactics. I haven’t played it for years because I lost the emulator software in one of my pc upgrades. But you’ve reminded me how much I loved it. Have fun. 🙂

      Like

  • Kathryn Chastain Treat

    There is always a learning curve with anything new.

    Like

  • pinkagendist

    Same thing happened to me when we changed to Windows 7 last year, except my program of choice was Photo Suite I. It took me ages to learn how to use it well. Once I knew how to do absolutely everything I find out I can no longer use it and Photo Suite 9 is a completely different thing.

    Like

  • geooorge

    I’m sort of where you are. I still use Adobe’s CS4 package even if Adobe is pushing its new Cloud service (which i dislike for lots of reasons that are not for comment box :D) And for some weeks now, Kuler is not working on CS4 and i’m guessing its because Adobe quietly pushed it for cloud only. Or cloud and CS6…

    Like

    • acflory

      What’s with this Cloud thing? Is this just so the powers that be can datamine us all in one place?

      Actually one reason I’m still using Corel products is because I kind of dislike Adobe and like to do my bit to keep competition alive. 😀

      I suppose you have too much invested in the CS package to swap to something else? Adobe’s stuff is not cheap. 😦

      Like

      • geooorge

        They did this cloud thing to be able to charge on a per month basis depending on what you use. Basically, you rent the software now. Of course people have already cracked that cloud solution…

        I don’t like their policy, but i like their software. (Or i should say “I’m too used to their software”, if i want to do something chances are i already have an idea on how to go around doing it.)

        Like

        • acflory

          Aaaah, so that’s the catch. Interesting that mmo’s are moving away from subscription based earnings but other software is moving towards it.

          So what is this Cloud based software?

          Like

          • geooorge

            Supposedly its for your convenience because they give you space on their servers to save your files and have them accessible from everywhere. But it also imposes a monthly fee for being able to use not only the storage space, but also the software. If you didn’t pay the rent, you are evicted from the software till you pay. Big studios won’t have much of an issue, but individuals will. Seriously, the only “cloud” solution that actually works is Steam. And people know that it’s DRM, but it’s a DRM that works. I don’t need to be logged on to play games, they are dirt cheap a lot of the time, and if i change my PC they are still mine. Plus, you buy it for the PC but you get it for the Mac as well if its available. Not to mention that they are now working on a solution that will make it possible to actually lend your games to other people.
            They also have a lot of services like chatting from within steam without the need to ALT-Tab out of the game and brake stuff :P, trading loot with other players.. not just space that you can do without by using google drive or dropbox.

            Like

          • acflory

            I didn’t know too much about Cloud but everything you’ve said confirms that it’s not a must have, unless you can’t use a particular piece of software any other way.

            As for storage. Really? When home pc’s have the option of harddisks with /terabytes/ of space, why would you need to store stuff on the Cloud?

            Plus there’s the issue of connection speed. If you have a fast connection then you probably wouldn’t notice a difference in processing time, but if you have a slower connection then it would be so much faster to have access to that data right there on your pc. No lag, no problem.

            Like

          • geooorge

            The cloud storage excuse is if you need to access files from what ever computer, plus it is an extra storage space in case your pc brakes down. The processing still happens in the client pc with adobe’s package i think. So basically is a rent fee.

            Like

          • acflory

            I just realised it’s the exact reverse of how an mmo works. And the subscription model is dying there. Funny about that. 🙂

            Like

  • metan

    Oh yes, the use ’em til they fall to dust theory. It is one we live by! I admit that I have a gadget addiction but once I’ve got one it is used until it is an antique…. I have a mobile phone that I hate but I can’t justify a new one until the old one croaks!
    Good luck with the change, I feel for you but remember, if you throw your monitor out of the window in a temper that is just one more new thing you will have to deal with! 😉

    Like

    • acflory

      lmao – I’ll bear that in mind, especially as I had to get a new monitor recently as well. Can’t afford to throw anything out the window for at least five years. Being a responsible adult can be such a drag. 😉

      Like

  • davidprosser

    You have my sympathy. For years my favourite graphics programme was Corel Print House and I loved the manipulation I had plus the additional Corel photo-house that was quite handy. Trouble was it didn’t work well on Vista and the longer I used it the more difficult using it became until it finally gave up the ghost.
    I bought myself a set from Avanquest that include Print Studio and Photo Studio. I’m having real problems adjusting to it and it really lacks the flexibility of my Corel. For instance I can’t write in a circle or do things similar to that.But I suppose for £29.00 I can’t expect too much.
    I hope you’re pleased with the new Corel when you get going.
    Huge Hugs xxxxxxxx

    Like

    • acflory

      Now that I’ve paid me monies I am getting just a bit excited. I learnt to do some interesting little things with the old Corel Draw so maybe there will be some new whiz bangs to discover. I just I hope I can work out the basics first! lol

      Like

  • EllaDee

    I’m impressed that you can even use Corel Draw… I haven’t ventured there.
    I empathise… my trusty 5+ year old Toshiba laptop was overheating and crashing. Getting the PC doctor’s diagnosis didn’t help. The only way to ensure it a dignified old age was to get it a younger sibling. Which last week, with the help of a gift card to celebrate 10 years at my current job, I did. I love it but it’s all new and Windows 8 & Ultrabook interesting. I love the challenge of mastering new technology (& keyboard) but my old lovely was comfortable and easy… like my wardrobe…
    I remember those same challenges though with the new now old Toshiba, and I know, it just takes time… and a lot of deep breaths and walking away.
    I’m just a little bit happy that I’m not alone…

    Like

    • acflory

      As I’m getting older I find I’m not as enthralled with new tech as I used to be, and that worries me a little. I really do believe you have to keep learning new things in order to keep your brain healthy, especially as you age. So this new software will probably give me the equivalent of a mental six pack!

      If you hear a lot of screaming from the south you’ll know it’s me… exercising. 😉

      Like

Don't be shy!

