Now why didn’t I think of this before?

bright idea 2Okay, I did think of this before, but I was caught up on size…

Gotcha! You weren’t thinking about books now were you?

But I was, I’ve been thinking about nothing but books for months.  In particular I’ve been stressing about book 2 of the Vokhtah series, and the more I told myself that I needed another title out there, the less inspired I became.

And then I flirted with the idea of publishing my short stories. The only problem was, I only had four, and couldn’t seem to think of any more, or at least none that would fit into that particular theme.  How could I publish such a small book? With a total wordcount of just under 6,000 words I’d read single short stories that were longer.

As you can see, I was completely blinded by my pre-occupation with -cough- size -cough-. In my head I saw a wafer thin book with a pretty cover, front and back, and next to nothing in the middle.  Something like this :

postcards cover

And then today, as I was looking over some of those old stories, it hit me : books don’t have to be the size of doorstops any more!

Why not expand my Vintage Egg story, and publish the shorts as a $0.99 appetizer?

Or as a free giveaway?

Or, radical idea, I could bundle Postcards with Innerscape. After all, it was the short story of Emmi that inspired Innerscape!

The more I thought about things from this slightly different angle, the more excited I became. And lo and behold, my brain is now teeming with ideas about how to finish off The Vintage Egg story.

Fate truly does work in mysterious ways, and now I’m happier than I have been in quite a while. I still have to finish Vokhtah book 2, but the pressure is off. Once I have two books out there, the third will be a piece of cake.

If any of you want to read, or re-read, any of those stories, you can find them on the sidebar, under Categories/Short Stories. As for me, I’m going to go do some writing. 😀

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

39 responses to “Now why didn’t I think of this before?

  • Jon Jefferson

    I prefer the short form. Sure novels are great, we’ve all been reading them for many years. But for me I am happy to sit down with a story I can read in one sitting most of the time.

    Dean Wesley Smith’s strategist for shorts in this new arena is great for people like me who might never write a full on novel, but still have stories to tell.

    I say go for it. Spend some time with your short stories. Readers will love you more when they have something to wet their appetite between your longer works.

    Like

    • acflory

      You, and all the other commenters have really opened my eyes to a world of reading I just wasn’t aware of. I’ve never been much of a short story reader, so my mindset has been firmly bogged in the long form.

      Thank you. You have no idea how helpful your comments have been.

      Like

  • metan

    This is a great idea! I love those small books/shorts on the kindle and I think often people want the small ones just for a quick read rather than getting into a big story. Go for it I say! 😀

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes Ma’am! -big grin-

      You know something about this project has really set off the fireworks in my head because I wrote 1500 words yesterday, and it didn’t hurt a bit. 😀

      Like

      • metan

        Maybe if you get enough shorts together you could release them on a schedule, like a series. It will end up as a small book but without the pressure.
        My vote goes for Innerscape, I want to hear more about Miira!

        Like

        • acflory

          lmao – I’ve had a run of creativity the last couple of days, but honestly, I find short stories very hard to write. I’ll definitely keep that idea in mind though. And believe it or not, I want to get on with Innerscape as well. I sometimes think that’s why book 2 is being so hard.

          Like

  • EllaDee

    As they, whoever they are, say “it’s better out than in”… so get your words out there, don’t judge them on how fat or thin they are, that’s so politically incorrect 😉 And, when in the distant future I get a breather, I’m going to check the short stories on your blog out… I didn’t realise I was missing out seeing them.

    Like

  • Tasha Turner

    Shorts are great. They let people test the waters. They add to your backlist. They make you look more prolific. They give your readers something to read while waiting for books. Sell them as individual shorts. If you do see a theme bundle together later with an extra as a bonus.

    Go you. Excellent idea.

    Like

    • acflory

      Thanks Tasha. These shorts were definitely all on a theme so hopefully they’ll give someone[s] some quick, enjoyable reads. 😀

      Like

      • Tasha Turner

        I was looking at my kindle management today and I think by August I will hit 3k in books/stories on it. I so wish the kindle app for my iPad had shelves so I could find things easier. Many nights I could use a short story just before going to sleep but trying to find one in the app wakes me up with anger issues against Amazon app developers… I’m trying to convince my husband getting a real kindle makes sense. LOL

        Like

        • acflory

          lmao – I don’t have an iPad, I have a ‘real’ Kindle but even there I used to struggle until I finally worked out how to change the way my books are displayed. [It does author name by default].

          Now my Kindle displays the newest books first which makes life just so much easier. Good luck with your hubby. Maybe a hint about Christmas would work?

          Like

          • Tasha Turner

            Oh recent doesn’t always work. Twice kindle has made me re-download all my books again. Today kindle added a new feature to automatically update books when updates become available & proceeded to update some 100 books, most of which I’d updated manually, so my recent is neither books read or bought at the moment. LOL

            I think I’m going to split our Chanukah money from his mom this year. But really I need more than author, recently added, title. I’m kinda hoping that part of the Goodreads merger will include my Goodreads shelving transferring to my kindle app.

            Like

          • acflory

            Ah hah! Sometimes old tech has its uses. 😀 I don’t have wifi, so no whispernet. I have to download everything to my pc and then transfer from the pc to the Kindle. It’s a bit of a pain, and I’m sure if I had wifi I’d appreciate the convenience. But it’s nice having control of what goes on my Kindle and how.

            Yes, the Goodreads shelves would be very handy.

            Like

          • metan

            Sticking my nose in here… 🙂
            Have you tried the ibooks app on your ipad? You can make different pages/shelves in it and sort the books. The kids have their own bookshelves on mine so I can keep my books separate.
            It doesn’t have as many free books but if you use both the kindle app and ibooks you can get the best of both! 🙂

            Like

          • acflory

            Oh…. a light dawns. You know I always wondered how people used the iPad to read Kindle books. So basically the iPad is a tiny notebook device that runs the pc Kindle app?

            If that’s right then the Kindle fire should be able to do the same thing in reverse as it’s more of a notebook than a dedicated reading device…

            Sorry, thinking aloud. I’ve only just twigged to the difference.

            Like

          • metan

            I’m not sure how a kindle fire works so I don’t know if it operates in the same way. My kindle is one of the old, old ones. No frills just books.
            The iBooks app is something you download to read iTunes books through. Some of them have interactive bits where you touch a picture and it plays a video clip or sounds.
            Yes, I am guilty of too many gadgets. 😀

            Like

          • acflory

            I don’t have a Kindle Fire but I think it’s a cross between an ordinary ebook reader and an iPad type thing. Whether it has all the functionality you’re talking about I don’t know.

            To be honest I’d love a Kindle Fire but last time I looked, you HAVE to have wifi for it to work, and I’m not going down that path just for a glorified ereader. 😦

            Like

  • Yvonne Hertzbergery

    lol. Yes, I had that dilemma as well. The third and final volume in my trilogy didn’t want to be as long as the first two. The story was finished. Now what? I decided, after consulting my editor and a beta reader that it was the length it needed to be as is, so trying to make it ‘fit’ would be counter-productive. So … it’ll be 20,000 words shorter. So there!

    Like

    • acflory

      lol – good for you! I think we all need to rethink our habitual ways of thinking about books. They really aren’t relevant any more. Of course as with all habits, they’re hard to change at a gut level.

      Like

      • Tasha Turner

        Breaking habits and looking at things from new perspectives helps when you have good friends who have tried different things and share their experiences. I think everyone I see commenting on your blog has that. We’ve either tried different things or know people who have and are all pretty good at supporting others.

        Like

        • acflory

          You are so right there Tasha. I think we’ve become a sort of informal support group as well as being friends. It’s been a long, long time since I’ve been part of such a supportive community.

          Like

  • Candy Korman

    One of the best things about e-books is that they don’t have to be 300 pages long. When you write the length that tells the story, it could be 30, 130, 230 or even 330….

    A few shorts stories together is a nice read. Go for it!

    Like

    • acflory

      Thanks Candy. I still have a ‘big’ book mindset but it’s slowly changing. And I do like the idea of putting those short stories out there. Just as a way of saying that I can write in a different style. 😀

      Like

      • Tasha Turner

        You’ll get there in your thinking. Read more Dean Wesley Smith who has been working on republishing his backlist and doing POD and/or paper versions of his shorts. I think he devoted 1-5 post on the topic including pricing, bundling, and other ideas.

        Like

        • acflory

          I’ll look him up. I rarely read short stories myself because I LOVE big, meaty books, but I realise now how short-sighted that kind of attitude can be.

          Like

          • Tasha Turner

            It’s a great way to play with characters from your big books. Write short back stories. Or fill in Small adventures between books. It’s also a way to get your work into anthologies to widen your audience… Hmm someone wrote a 2-parter on that topic on Indies Unlimited maybe you’ve heard of the site? ROTFL

            Like

          • acflory

            -grin- Yeah, that name rings a bell. I can’t remember that particular article though. It is great advice. Sometimes I get so fixated on one idea… -sigh-

            Like

  • pinkagendist

    One of my favourite books is wafer thin. A gardening guide that’s only about gardening on this coast where we live. If your stories do their thing, serve their purpose, then I don’t see how length matters.

    Like

    • acflory

      lol – Thanks Pinky. Maybe if I stick two wafers together with some chocolate I’ll have a biscuit! Seriously though, this feels right so I’m going to run with it. The worst that can happen is that nothing happens. 🙂

      Like

  • lorddavidprosser

    OMG A vintage egg? You haven’t been ‘skip diving’ round the back of that Chinese restaurant again have you? Remember what your probation officer said last time !
    And now you’re hooked on that size thing again. You know very well it’s quality that counts o maybe ‘Never mind the quality, feel the width’ is your new motto?
    Just stop faffing about woman and get the stories out there to a reasonably deserving audience. ( just don’t send Innerscape to the judge again as he’s sure you based the nasty character on him.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

  • Chris James

    Excellent idea – you should definitely do this! (And it’s always nice when neurons fire off in a different direction and come up with the goods :))

    Like

Don't be shy!

