Fifty Shades of… typos?

Forgive the blatant grab for attention. No sex toys were harmed in the making of this post. Sadly it’s all about typos. And spell checkers.

I’m so anal about spelling I was sure Vokhtah couldn’t possibly contain any typos. Wrong. I found ‘gawdy’ and ‘tpwards’ over the weekend, and I know how they crept in – duringย my final polish, that’s how. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

We’ve all done it. You correct one thing, for example an awkward sentence structure, and move on, convinced that what is on the page matches what is in your head. Except that your eyes can play tricks on you, especially when you’ve read and re-read the same words about a million times.

So I found typos, which was not happy making. However the way in which I found them really did make me laugh. You see I had to go into Amazon KDP to fix up the categories for Vokhtah. Whilst I was there, I saw a message from the Amazon spell checker[?] saying it had found over FIFTY possible typos!

50? ย How on earth was that possible?

What followed was a wee bit of a panic… until I actually looked at the list. And there they were, all the words from my Vokhtan dictionary! And no, that should not be spelled Vokhtahn.

Naturally I went through the whole list, just for fun, and that was when I discovered two genuine typos. I suspect there will be more, not obvious ones perhaps but a missing word is just as much a typo as a misspelled word. So at some point I am going to have to go through Vokhtah again to catch the little mongrels.

But not yet. I really can’t face it. I’m stalled on book 2, and before I do anything else, I will have to take my own advice and wrangle my Muse into submission. Or maybe grovel a lot and try to bribe it with chocolate.

Hmm… yes, that bribery idea ain’t half bad. I can always work on the waistline once the book is finished…

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

24 responses to “Fifty Shades of… typos?

  • Stephanie Allen Crist

    Chocolate sounds nice, but my muse isn’t listening at the moment. My muse is being petulant.

    Typos, though…little mongrels. Yep. And reports of typos where no typos exist: that’s something I’ve gotten from clients, followed by my ever so carefully explaining proper grammar is not a typo, it’s on purpose. *sigh*

    Like

  • Colin

    Heh. I have a thing with typos. I make so many of them because I really rush my writing. And then I don’t spend the time that I should fine-combing the texts. I had a good, thorough system for my school essays. But I don’t seem to employ it for my private writing. So, I tend to panic a lot about it.

    Like

  • Kourtney Heintz

    LOL. Typos are so annoying. My biggest downfall is you’re and your. Spell check never catches it either. It’s gotten to the point where I pause and evaluate each one. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  • geooorge

    Typos… I actually updated the game twice because i had typos in a place people would probably look…

    Like

  • lorddavidprosser

    Come on, admit it. You put those typos in on purpose just so you could play the chocolate card.
    I find it funny how many spellcheckers and so on are tied to US English ( Shouldn’t it be US American really?) and just hate the English spelling of words.It’s annoying in emails to be constantly looking at things underlined as errors that aren’t.
    Vokhtah didn’t have enough typos in to annoy even the most anal of readers so don’t panic about it. As Ella says, it gets so the mind sees what it expects to see and often flies past minor errors. As long as they don’t appear on every page very few people will complain.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Like

    • acflory

      Actually I was pleasantly surprised to see that the Amazon spellchecker didn’t pull up a single ‘ou’. Maybe they use different ones for each English speaking region?

      And I know you’re right. It’s just a small conceit on my part. You know ‘My book is going to be absolutely, 100% perfect blah blah’. Well, I’ve learned an important lesson – keep my mouth shut! lol
      -hugs-

      Like

  • Chris James

    Oh my, that is SO true about putting typos into the text during final edits, but it applies to all publishing. Often when I read a trad published book, 99% of it is perfect, but I find a little cloud of 3 or 4 typos over a couple of pages which someone must have edited/added at the very last moments. It’s important we care about them, and getting rid of them, but try not to get too exercised ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • acflory

      Yup. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I know you’re right because those little bastards were not there before. My editor has an eagle eye so this was all my own doing. You know I think that after I’ve done the final, final, final proof I’m going to run a contest asking people to find typos and the one who finds the most -shudder- will get a gift card. lol Like distributed processing. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

      • Chris James

        That is a good idea. One of my favourite authors, the military historian Max Hastings (whose books sell by the millions, natch) has this cute thing on his website, very self-effacing. He says nobody’s perfect, so if you spot a typo in one his books, please let him know so he can give his publishers a jolly good thrashing (or words to that effect).
        That’s the attitude I think all authors should have ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

        • acflory

          -giggles- Don’t you just wish we had the kind of klout that would /allow/ us to thrash a publisher? But I agree with your point completely. Not only do we owe readers the best work we are capable of producing, but we can also engage them as part of the process.

          Maybe I’ll make up a new award icon – Typo Spotter Extraordinaire? Only those who have found and reported a genuine typo get to have one. What do you think?

          Like

  • metan

    I hate typos in anything although, they drive me CRAZY! But, as EllaDee said above, when I speed read they are less likely to be noticed.

    Actually, I put two new games on my iPad last night, both with utterly beautiful graphics and music but both have typos in some of the explanatory sentences floating in the background. Aargh!

    Now I’m off to look up what a Vokhtahn is…. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    • acflory

      Oh. She does play games. ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ll bet they’ve been translated from something else. Some of the Korean and Japanese games [mmos] have truly head-scratching translations!

      Like

      • metan

        Oh yes, I love a good game, as evidenced by the collection (read ‘ridiculous waste of money’) on my ipod and ipad! I just can’t get into the games where you have to walk around a world gaining exp points and treasure though, I need instant gratification!
        I am not sure if these games are translated, I think it is just poor proof reading, where instead of were, that kind of thing….

        Like

        • acflory

          Oh! I see. I guess a lot depends on who developed the games. There are lots of indie game developers these day too, and some are more focused on the action than the prose. The fact you enjoy them is all that matters.

          Like

  • EllaDee

    Oh, I know, not from editing a novel… I wish… but cross referencing legal documents and spreadsheets… I speed read anyway (which is probably why I didn’t notice โ€˜gawdyโ€™ and โ€˜tpwardsโ€™) but something I’ve looked at 10, 20, 30 times… you no longer read it, your mind see what it wants to see and moves on, rapidly.
    On the upside, I think Vohktah is a really good read, so re-reading it shouldn’t be such a hardship for you ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    • acflory

      lol – thanks for the vote of confidence but after almost 9 years it /is/ a chore. But I will definitely do it with a lice comb before I attempt to have it printed.

      Like

  • laurieboris

    It does. I’ve tried it. And Amazon’s KDP spell checker is amusing. Apparently, it does not know Yiddish, either.

    Like

  • Candy Korman

    The chocolate bribe works!

    Like

Don't be shy!

