The Baby Boomer Generation Gap

“(Special Note: The Joke’s on Me, ebook edition, will be on sale for $3 off its regular price from Friday, June 28 through Saturday, June 29)

The burgeoning genre of Baby Boomer Lit fascinates me. I love the stories authors are telling about the challenges confronting this generation as we face our mortality but still want to squeeze more out of life.

Often forgotten, however, is that technically, baby boomers represent (mostly Americans) born between 1946 and 1964. That’s a span of eighteen years, for those of you good with math or who happen to have a calculator handy. So theoretically, two generations could be contained within this one moniker: two generations with very different goals and ideals….”

I’m a Boomer too, and can identify with the expectations of both sub-generations. We expected to make the world a better place, but we also expected to have fun doing it. And despite growing up, and growing old[er], we still expect the same things.

To read the rest of Laurie Boris’ intriguing post please click the following link :

The Baby Boomer Generation Gap.

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

17 responses to “The Baby Boomer Generation Gap

  • Stephanie Allen Crist

    I’m the daughter of Boomers, American ones. I’ve always associated the Boomers more with my dad, but I guess my mom is part of the sub-boomer category as you have defined it.

    Like

  • Colin

    Retirement? Pension? What is that. 😀

    I doubt I’ll ever get anything of the sort. 🙂

    Like

    • acflory

      Meh…. yes, I think the world will be a very different place by the time you’re old and grey. 😦

      To be honest I never thought I’d even /want/ a pension. I think I thought I’d be rich and? famous enough not to need one. Har de har har. 😀

      Like

  • lorddavidprosser

    Ha, I may have to suffer the jibes about being older than you but at least my year of birth supposedly made me safe from increases in the pension age………at least until 2011 when they suddenly decided that I was born in the wrong part of January (?????) and that my pension entitlement would be put off until October of my pension year. A close friend who was born exactly 2 weeks, yes a whole fortnight, earlier than me was safe ! Those 2 weeks cost me a whole pregnancy later. I’m starting to get the impression that the Government tell fibs and can change the goalposts when they feel like it.
    xxx Hugs xxx

    Like

  • EllaDee

    I miss out by 4 years but still feel the influence and effects of the Baby Boomers. I like to think I have the best of both worlds, and subscribe to you may grow old (in years) but you don’t have to grow up 😉

    Like

    • acflory

      Oh I relate to that ‘don’t have to grow up’ bit. 😀 There’s being responsible and then there’s just being boring. So many ‘grownups’ fit the boring category. :/

      Like

  • Candy Korman

    The only thing that stuck from the one economics class I took in college was the image of the baby boomers as a pig passing through the gut of a python as a metaphor for the impact of the generation on the economics of the U.S. The professor considered the last 5 to 8 years as boomer bacon. LOL It is a notable generation on several fronts and a few of them may rewrite the book on what it means to age.

    Like

  • Honie Briggs

    Missed that moniker by three years, but still expected to make the world a better place and have fun doing it. Boy, did my generation get hosed! No new deal and probably no social security! Dude, what the hell? 😉

    Like

    • acflory

      Sadly I’m just young enough to keep getting my pensionable age postponed. I’m 60 right now.

      As at June 2013 it’s at 64.4.
      Come July 2013 it goes up to 65
      In 2017 [when I will be 64] it will go up to 65.5.

      At this rate I may never get it lol, so you’re not alone.

      Like

  • laurieboris

    Thank you for reblogging, fellow Boomerite! 😀

    Like

Don't be shy!

