Laurie Boris – author and editor extraordinaire!

Long before I ever spoke to Laurie Boris, or asked her to become my editor, I read her book, ‘Drawing Breath‘ and absolutely loved it. On the basis of that one book I knew I could trust her with mine. That was all it took. I didn’t ask for her CV or anything sensible like that, but if I had, this is what I would have learned :

“Laurie Boris has been writing fiction for almost thirty years, inspired by the work of Joyce Carol Oates, TC Boyle, John Irving, Vladimir Nabokov, Gail Parent, Nora Ephron, and many other brilliant, prolific, and funny writers.

With a degree in advertising and psychology from Syracuse University’s SI Newhouse School of Public Communications, she started writing articles for her local newspaper and promotional copy for freelance clients. Between projects, she tried a few short stories, some which were published in small literary magazines and later, on the Web. Two won honorable mention in a Writer’s Digest annual competition. One took first place in a contest sponsored by a women’s website, judged by author Katherine Center.”

You can read the rest of this amazing Author Spotlight on Morgen Bailey’s blog :

http://morgenbailey.wordpress.com/2013/06/18/author-spotlight-no-267-laurie-boris/#comment-68028

Oh and Laurie? I can hardly wait for ‘Sliding Past Vertical’!

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

13 responses to “Laurie Boris – author and editor extraordinaire!

Don't be shy!

