Notifications is back! Thanks WordPress.

The title of this post says it all, well almost all. After a day of total frustration yesterday, I logged in just now and clicked the little orange notifications icon… out of habit. Low and behold it worked!

I am very grateful, but I can’t help wondering what on earth happened in the first place. 

Yesterday, I asked other bloggers [who were experiencing the same problem] about their browsers, but could find no commonality there. If anyone has any theories, or better yet some facts, please let me know.

cheers

Smiley-Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

12 responses to “Notifications is back! Thanks WordPress.

  • metan

    I’ve noticed that sometimes these weird little things happen with WP, I know they are tweaking it all the time and sometimes a small change goes unexpectedly haywire. I noticed a few others were complaining of a similar thing when I checked the forum so they probably got onto it quickly.

    (I did notice that when I went to the orange notification and checked the archive there were a few old ones in the Unread that I am sure weren’t there be.)

    Like

    • acflory

      Yeah, I’ve noticed little glitches like that too. In one way it’s great that WP is constantly trying to improve the program, but sometimes I really wish they’d just leave good enough alone! lol

      Like

  • EllaDee

    I received a WordPress.com News email detailing notification changes, bug fixes etc for Android… maybe things went a little awry during the process…

    Like

    • acflory

      Could be. When I finally got around to checking the forum, there were a couple of comments about the engineers finding a couple of little things, and fixing them. I suspect those little things were the gremlins to blame.

      Like

  • lorddavidprosser

    I’m so glad you’re back to normal- and the programme is too. xx Hugs xx Limps away at speed.

    Like

  • Honie Briggs

    Hurrah! good evening/morning (for me). I have no facts about the intermittent issues that come up from time to time. My notifications flash orange sometimes even when there isn’t a new one. So, gremlins?

    Like

  • josh

    Apropos of nothing in this post, I just wanted to say I’m well into Vokhtah (about 22%) and I’m really enjoying it so far (I just can’t spell it without looking…)! I have work travel coming up next week so I’ll probably finish it soon, and I’ll definitely leave a review when I do.

    Like

Don't be shy!

