Nice feature WordPress!

I’ve been noticing something strange in my stats lately, so tonight I looked at them more closely, and discovered a really nice WP feature in the process. Basically it allows you to look at the stats of individual posts over time :

Image

If Β you already know about this little gem then please ignore the rest of this post. If not, I’ll show you where to find it.

Click on the Stats tab of your WordPress page [the main one, not Dashboard], and look on the right hand side where it lists the top posts and pages :

wp feature

 

If you click on that little zoom icon, the stats for that particular post will be displayed. Β And they’re amazing. πŸ™‚

I still have no idea why my post on the Samsung Galaxy SII is getting so much attention all of a sudden, but I know I’ll be playing with the zoom icon from now on. Gotta love some of the toysΒ um, I mean tools WordPress gives us.

Goodnight all!

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

23 responses to “Nice feature WordPress!

  • EllaDee

    Clicking around the Stats is interesting. My best ever for elladee-words day views was 103, and an old post, it’s not easy being green, is still the top viewed other than my About page. I also enjoy seeing which countries the views come from:)

    Like

  • Kathryn Chastain Treat

    That is good information. The more we have the better. I am going to be checking this out on my stats page.

    Like

  • Jeri Walker-Bickett (@JeriWB)

    My best one day view for a post was close to 900, but it was a classroom activity on playing people bingo!!! Tracking stats can be helpful in determining which types of posts get more organic search traffic. People are searching for techie stuff all the time. The WordPress SEO plug-in by Yoast has really helped me get better at understanding proper use of keywords, though I still feel like I largely don’t have a clue in all of this… πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • acflory

      Oh! Can you use Yoast with wordpress.com or is it only for .org? I’m only using the free .com version and there are a lot of plug-ins I can’t use.

      Re the techie stuff. Yes, my non-fiction related posts get a small, but steady following via the search engines. It always surprises me because I assume my location on the search lists must be a long way down. Not that I’m complaining. πŸ™‚

      Like

  • lorddavidprosserDavid

    It’s fascinating isn’t it? My best day 182 views. It”s also interesting to see how my older posts still get some attention. It is worrying that my viewing stats have dropped but I attribute that to the fact I don’t post as often as I did rather than to my boring writing.
    I’m surprised at how many followers the blog has but so few people ( all regulars) comment. I wonder if it’s just me that finds that.
    XXXX Huge Hugs XXXX

    Like

    • acflory

      182? Nice one David! I think my best ever was 166. I try to ignore those big spikes though as I know I can’t repeat them. lol. As for commenters, I think that’s the same for everyone. After all, how often do you find people who share ALL or most of your interests in real life? -hugs back-

      Like

    • metan

      I agree! If only I got half as many hits in a day as I have followers I would be thrilled! I wonder if there are any regular readers of my blog out there who never comment, I would love to hear what some of them had to say!

      Like

      • acflory

        I suspect some of our zany comments probably make them giggle! Or roll their eyes in disbelief. You really should have a warning on your blog – “Warning, Aussie humour at work!” And yes, that was a shameless misappropriate of ‘Men at Work’. Miss that band…

        Like

  • Yvonne Hertzberger

    Thanks, Meeka, I had no idea.

    Like

Don't be shy!

