New pricing for Vokhtah

I’ve just changed the price of Vokhtah on Amazon to $4.99.

I did not do this out of greed. Or arrogance. Please believe that.

Raising the price was the only way I could think of to send a message to readers that Vokhtah is not some slapdash, mistake-ridden indie novel that has been published to make a quick buck.

I want Vokhtah to be taken seriously by the kind of readers who have turned away from indie authors because of bad experiences with the quality control, or lack thereof, in so many indie ebooks. 😦 I know I’m taking an awful risk, but after the comments I read on Goodreads yesterday,  I knew I had to do something drastic.

To compensate for the price hike, I’ve decided to offer review copies free to anyone who asks.  My definition of  ‘review’ includes any kind of feedback at all.  If you want to go to town with a full-blown critique I will love you forever. If you just leave a three word comment on my blog [or anywhere else] saying “I hated Vokhtah” that will do me too.  All I really want is to have my work read.

I can provide review copies in  .MOBI format which is compatible with the Kindle. The only downside is that you will not have the convenience of Whispernet.

In my next post I will detail how to read any .MOBI file on your Kindle, including Vokhtah.

To receive a free review copy of Vokhtah, or any of my future novels, please fill in the contact form that you will find on my new Contact page.

contact page

 

 

 

 

Thank you for all your support. I really hope you will stick with me in the future too.

-hugs-

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

34 responses to “New pricing for Vokhtah

  • Stephanie Allen Crist

    Good call! Your book deserves a decent price, and it’s well worth it. Any chance a physical book might be forthcoming any time soon?

    Like

  • anneb54

    Pricing is always a vexing issue for hand crafted things, and I include your writing in that. Please don’t feel guilty about putting a reasonable price on your work. It is important that artists factor in a wage for the work we do. I am sure that even at $4.99 you are still not recouping all the hours you have put into it. I rarely buy ebooks (but I am going to buy your when I get organised, because I have been so intrigued by the snippets you have posted!) but I would consider something around the $5 mark before the $1 mark. It does speak of quality.

    Like

    • acflory

      I would love for you to read Vokhtah but please don’t pay for it. When you’re ready just send me an email and I’ll get it out to you. And I’m so glad you see that price point as signaling quality. You’ve really reassured me. -hugs-

      Like

      • anneb54

        No! No! No! Thank you for the generous offer, but I think you deserve to get paid for your work. The reassurance is free!! 😉

        Like

        • acflory

          Oy! Now I can’t even give it away? -grin- Sorry for the terrible Jewish mother imitation, and thanks for the reassurance, very welcome at any price. 🙂

          Like

          • Tasha Turner

            Hey good friends want to support their friends by paying for books. Do you have any way to electronically sign your books?

            Like

          • acflory

            Oh… I … don’t think so? If there’s some way of electronically signing books I haven’t come across it yet.

            Like

          • Tasha Turner

            Kindlegraph, Autography http://www.autography.com/ , and I know there are others out there as I think Digital Book World did a 2-part article on the topic over the last couple of weeks.

            I love the way Autography integrates the digital autograph into the book. I think it was $9.99 to sign up and I’m not real clear on how exactly it works but you get to do totally customized autographs like you’d do in a physical book. If you want to learn more about this I can put you in touch with someone who uses it and demonstrated it at RomCon last year.

            Kindlegraph is bigger but I know less about it.

            Like

          • acflory

            Thanks for this Tasha. I checked out that link but I still can’t quite get my head around how it works. I’ll have a look at that Digital Book World article in a sec. In principle though, this sounds like a really nice value added feature.

            Like

          • Tasha Turner

            Kindlegraph is easier to understand but doesn’t incorporate into the book as well.

            I have seen how autography works and I can’t wrap my head around it but my friend is great at explaining it to anyone but me… LOL

            Like

          • acflory

            I wonder if there’s a video on youtube about it. Hmm… might check that out. 🙂

            Like

  • Jeri Walker-Bickett (@JeriWB)

    Your new price is definitely fair, and like it or not, most consumers tend to equate price with quality. It can be disheartening that many indie titles are chock-full of errors, but in the end, I feel it’s up to the reader to be diligent enough to read the sample before they decide to download. After Candy’s un-review of the setting of your book, I’ve added it to my TBR list and will happily buy it when the time comes. Oh, and I’m adding your to my RSS reader and unfollowing you in WordPress, so please don’t think I’ve disappeared!

    Like

    • acflory

      Thanks Jen! But please don’t pay for Vokhtah. 😦 I’m serious. Grab a ‘review’ copy instead. I’d feel awful if regular visitors paid, especially now I’ve put the price up. And thanks for warning me. lol Unfollows are kind of scary. -hugs-

      Like

  • Tasha Turner

    I read an article recently that said that 3.99 is the new sweet spot and that many indie books are selling better at higher prices rather than lower prices… Here is the link http://blog.smashwords.com/2013/05/new-smashwords-survey-helps-authors.html

    Like

    • acflory

      Great article Tasha – thanks for providing that link. Solid numbers are vital to get an idea of what the market is doing. I might ask on Goodreads whether price influences those readers who currently shy away from indie books.

      Like

      • Tasha Turner

        When looking at the top 100 best selling in fantasy many of the books are clearly indie books. I’m finding that drilling down into the best selling and best rated in your genre/sub-genre on Amazon kindle you can see major price differential and most of the books under $5 are indies and over $8 are trad. It was quite shocking to me how much things have changed in just a few months with a good 50% of the books on both list in fantasy and romance being indie versus 3-6 months ago when it was more like 10% indie.

        Like

        • acflory

          Yes, I’ve noticed that price differential as well. As a reader I’d be prepared to pay up to $10 for an ebook but no more, not for any author. It’s a fine line between asking readers to pay a fair price for an author’s work, and killing off readers’ willingness to take a chance.

          Like

  • Chris James

    I think you’ve done the right thing. I played around with the prices of my novels a few times over the years, from $1.99 up to $7.99, but have settled on $3.99 and will probably stay there. If you’ve done a good job, and you know you’ve brought a quality product to the market, you shouldn’t sell yourself short. On the other hand, thousands of Indies are using KDP Select to give millions of copies of their books away, and this willful devaluing of our products can only be bad for all of us. Still, that’s market saturation for you.
    Cool discussion on GR, too, thanks for linking to it 🙂

    Like

    • acflory

      I tried KDP select for the 3 months and then cancelled because I wanted to be in control of my ‘product’. I think giving things away for free can be a very valuable strategy but not the way it’s now used on Amazon.

      Speaking of GR, I think giveaways would work there because you could target them to your own genre. I really wish I’d taken the time to explore the groups sooner. Ah well, better late than never. 🙂

      Like

  • lorddavidprosserDavid

    The most difficult thing facing most indie authors is setting the price of an ebook. 99p often seems a good price to start the ball rolling and get downloads but you often run the accusation of just trying to sell a poor book. £4.99 seems a good price until you wonder if you aren’t pricing yourself out of the market that leaves somewhere in between. In the end I settled on £2.99 after see-sawing back and forth but I definitely think yours is worth the increase and it’s a good indicator of the quality of the book and your commitment to the readers as a serious author.
    Don’t worry, we’re sticking like glue. xx Huge Hugs xx

    Like

  • alexlaybourne

    The pricing of indie book is a kengthy and never ending discussion. Well done for taking a chance. I look forward to hearing how it worked for you.

    Like

  • metan

    I have noticed that the 99c price is often used by writers of dubious editing skill, it is probably a good idea to set yourself apart by raising the price.

    If books are under five dollars, to me they are worth splashing out on even if you aren’t sure how they will go. Hopefully raising the price will help you get a bit more attention. Good luck!
    (Of course Vokhtah is well worth the five bucks!)

    Like

  • EllaDee

    I checked out Vokhtah’s reviews, and there is only good there so you must be referring to other books. I think $4.99 is a fair price, and so generous of you to offer freebies for reviews. I’m hoping Indie authors will get a boost when people realise that for the price of a cup of coffee, or a little more, not only can they get a good read but support an Indie author and send a message to the corporate publishers. The only way Indie authors will improve if they lack editorial quality is if the reviewers tell them so.
    Also, I wanted to mention something I found out earlier today. I share it as it was given to me “Did you know that if Author’s have over 50 copies of their book distributed across libraries in Australia, then they can earn money annually via “The Public Lending Rights Scheme’. If you know any ‘non-famous’ authors all you need to do is ask your local library if they have their book and if demand is there they will get it hopefully and provide some financial support to Author’s who struggle to write because they have to also go and earn a living….just a thought.”
    Let me know if you are interested, and I will petition my local library.

    Like

    • acflory

      Wow… thanks Ella. I had no idea that deal with libraries even existed. I don’t yet have a print version of Vokhtah, unfortunately. But Jennifer Scoullar has two rural romances in print. She’s an aussie author and traditionally published, but her work deserves more recognition. There aren’t too many romance type novels I would read but I definitely make an exception for hers. 🙂

      I wrote a review of her Brumby’s Run novel if you’re interested.
      http://wp.me/p25AFu-eT

      Like

  • Laurie Boris

    I’m right there with you. Did I miss the Goodreads comments?

    Like

Don't be shy!

