‘Summertime’ on a dreary Monday Downunder

I have always loved Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess, in particular the song ‘Summertime’, so I was thrilled when I found this delightful jazz version in my inbox.

The artist [on flute] is an Indie musician and composer by the name of Hannah Sterry.

Hannah is multi talented, and I know she will achieve great success and recognition, eventually. For now though, she is like all of us Indies – struggling to be heard.

If you enjoy this video clip as much as I did, please visit Hannah’s website and check out some of the tracks she has composed herself. Go Hannah!

And while I’m on the subject of talented Indies, I recently stumbled on a very talent young photographer by the name of Leanne Cole. Leanne is an Aussie like me, and I was gobsmacked by the surreal beauty of the photos she took right here in Victoria [my home state].

When I look out my window I see grey skies threatening rain, and everything looks dull and washed out. But have a look at what can be achieved when you have an artist holding the camera!

Royal Botanical Gardens, Cranbourne, Victoria

Despite having lived in Victoria most of my life, I did not even know there was a Botanical Garden in Cranbourne!

Happy Monday to you all,

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

20 responses to “‘Summertime’ on a dreary Monday Downunder

  • metan

    We certainly have been dropped into winter now haven’t we? I am feeding the fire and I don’t see it going out in the foreseeable future!

    Like

    • acflory

      I must say I love the smell of woodsmoke, at least in wiinter. It’s been freezing lately. Every available surface in my office is covered in pets who think it’s cold too! Btw chicken soup tonight. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • metan

        Chicken soup, yum! I love seeing the smoke drifting out of the chimneys and through the valley, it makes me feel very content.
        I made a bacon and egg pie this afternoon to use up some eggs (and because it is my favourite) and tonights stew just went in the oven to slow cook for a few hours πŸ™‚
        I love winter for being able to cook again, I can’t stand over the stove in summer, I don’t deal well in the heat, but in winter roasts, stews and all manner of deliciousness is the order of the day!

        Like

        • acflory

          Me too! Winter is the time for experimenting with new recipes and flavours. Summer is for salads and as much cold stuff as possible. The egg and bacon pie sounds divine. Is that like a quiche?

          Like

          • metan

            Yes, it is exactly like a quiche but it is also just like something my nan was making back in the days when they were plain old bacon and egg pies. The local bakery sells yummy quiches and it took me ages to train them to know that a bacon and egg pie and a quiche are the same thing! So much yummier when they are from your own eggs though. πŸ˜€

            Like

          • acflory

            Aaaah. πŸ™‚ I love quiche but with more bacon and a bit less egg. And then there’s toasted bacon and egg sandwiches… You know I think I might be able to give up meat if I had to but I’d have to get a papal dispensation for bacon. Could never give that up.

            Like

          • metan

            Yep, gotta be heavy on the bacon. πŸ™‚ Mmmm, bacon and egg sandwiches for brekky on a weekend are a favourite here.

            Like

          • acflory

            I’ve been trying to reduce carbs in my diet but there would be a lot of protein in that, right? -grin- Sunday brunch. πŸ˜€

            Like

  • Honie Briggs

    Makes me wish I played the flute. This was a very nice way to begin my Monday!

    Like

    • acflory

      I’d love to play the flute too. I knew a girl at university who was studying the flute at the Conservatory of Music. She let me have a try one day. Couldn’t even get a squeak out of the damn thing. All the wind instruments are hard, very hard. Have huge respect for anyone who can master one!

      Like

  • lorddavidprosserDavid

    You continually surprise me. I’m not a lover of jazz at all but Hannah’s version of Summertime was uplifting. It reminded me of Jethro Tull’s Ian Anderson for some reason. ( I must stop standing on one leg like this).
    Leanne’s work is fantastic. Considering he weather she did well at Cranbourne and the skies helped her create very evocative and moody shots. I’d say you’ll be paying Cranbourne a visit soon to enjoy the creations there. Fancy there being such a beautiful and almost unknown place in your State.
    xx Hugs xx

    Like

    • acflory

      lol – Now there’s a name from the past! Haven’t thought of Jethro Tull in decades. I’m not a jazz afficionado either but I do love the flute, and Hannah is so very talented.

      I’m not sure about going to Cranbourne. I fear the reality could never live up to those photos. You would really really have to be at the right place at exactly the right time. I’m sure it’s beautiful at any time but not like /that/. -hugs-

      Like

      • Hannah Sterry

        Thank you! πŸ˜€

        I love playing Summertime, so I’m glad you enjoyed it too! I seem to get quite a lot of comparisons to Ian Anderson – people haven’t really heard fuzzy-edged rock/jazz flute anywhere else (even though it’s great fun to play)!

        Leanne’s really got the feeling of moody skies in those photos too! Loving the flow of those garden designs too! πŸ™‚

        Like

        • acflory

          Actually I was amazed you’d even heard of him – Jethro Tull was a million years ago. Then I found that he’s still touring.

          I think there’s room for real musicians to get back into the rock scene, or perhaps to kick start a new renaissance!

          You and Leanne work in such different mediums, but to an outsider like me, the creativity seems very similar. πŸ™‚

          Like

  • EllaDee

    I’m with Candy, I straight away thought of Janis Joplin but I do like Hannah Sterry… her Summertime gives you a lovely buzzy feeling, like a cool caffeinated fizzy drink.

    Ah, so you found Leanne. Her photography and what she is building is wonderful… another type of Indie. I also loved the Botanical Gardens and her clouds are wonderful.

    Like

    • acflory

      lol – Did I find Leane’s work through you? If so thank you! I guess it’s true that like calls to like. πŸ™‚

      And yes, that’s a great description of Hannah’s version.

      Like

      • EllaDee

        I’m not sure… I haven’t included a link to Leanne for a while.
        I often see bloggers I follow & vice versa commenting on other posts… makes for nice community πŸ™‚

        Like

        • acflory

          It really is starting to feel very homey isn’t it? Makes me think of that 6 degrees of separation saying. We are all recommending people to each other. Love it. πŸ™‚

          Like

  • Candy Korman

    I saw the recent, fabulous and, somewhat controversial, production of Porgy & Bess on Broadway last year. It was wonderful and “Summertime” has always been a favorite of mine. (I even sang it back when I was a kid taking singing lessons.) But somehow β€” no matter the singer, I always think about the Janis Joplin recording. Wow… It made me feel cool for likely Gershwin.

    Like

Don't be shy!

