This is addictive! Yes, more music…

Okay Anneb54, I blame you for this. If you had not posted that Gordon Lightfoot video and made me sing along, I would not have remembered Roberta Flack, and this song :

And then I couldn’t stop, could I? Especially when I stumbled on this little number. Aussies of a certain vintage should remember this one. It’s a fun song so give it a try.

And finally, something a little different, but still a classic. πŸ™‚ <<evil laughter>>

Where will it end?

-hugs-

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

23 responses to “This is addictive! Yes, more music…

  • EllaDee

    Will it end? I went searching for who I remembered singing Windmills of Your Mind… I think is Dustty Springfield but it was also performed by Hank Marvin http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XYVni_zsu-o and in doing so I came across Apache http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RB91ayDlQLE which takes me back to second class when we performed a dance to Apache at a school musical…
    I love my Roberta Flack CD, as well as your other 2 choices πŸ™‚
    And before you ask, I cannot do a music post… I would never emerge. Occasionally I drive the G.O. nuts, at home or in the car on a trip when I do a musical down memory lane… remember this… I LOVE this…

    Like

  • Kathryn Chastain Treat

    I have Roberta Flack’s CD. That is one of my favorite songs.

    Like

    • acflory

      I used to have the LP… gawd I had to stop and think what those big, round things were called! I might have to buy up a whole swathe of singles and make my own compilation CD.

      Like

  • Candy Korman

    Not just Aussies…

    I also remember the midnight showings of Rocky Horror Picture Show at a theater in Greenwich Village. The audience was more than half the show!

    Like

  • Jeri Walker-Bickett (@JeriWB)

    The Frank-N-Furter clip brings back so many memories. I dressed up as such in the tenth grade and my best friend was Magenta for Halloween.

    Like

    • acflory

      Ah hah! Well, as you’ve opened the flood gates I can confess to doing the same for a New Year’s Eve party that lasted till dawn. I wouldn’t get past 10pm these days. :/

      Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    I haven’t seen The Rocky Horror Picture Show in years. Thanks for letting me revisit it!

    Like

  • metan

    I don’t think it will EVER end! Colin really started something….
    Aaa ah, the lovely Mr. Curry. There is nothing he can do wrong, acting, voice over, singing… He is fantastic!

    Like

  • lorddavidprosserDavid

    Selecting different versions of the same song you’d have to post both so we could vote. I love the Sonny and Cher ‘I got you babe’ but Ju preffered the UB40/ Chrissie Hynde version. I loved the Chi-Lites ‘Homely Girl’ but other prefer the UB40 version and then there’s Roberta Flack with ‘Killing me softly’ versus the awful version by The Fugees. This could become a music site Meeka. xxxx Huge Hugs xxxx

    Like

    • acflory

      lmao – I notice you’ve avoided posting YOUR favourites on your blog. Your self-restraint is admirable. My brain is definitely taking a nostalgic journey this week. I think I shall have to have words with young Colin. He has a lot to answer for. But no, if I made this a music site I’d have to start posting more classical and opera as well and then there would go the neighbourhood! I’ll stick to words. πŸ™‚

      Like

  • anneb54

    I was tempted to post Peggy Seeger singing ‘The first time ever…’ because it was her husband Ewan McColl who wrote it. It’s s very different version. I am thinking about different versions of the same song. Now that would be an interesting wormhole to wander down….. You are right Meeks, this will never end!!

    Like

    • acflory

      This is also turning into a great learning experience! I had no idea there /were/ other versions of this song! I did however come across a version of Barbra Streisand singing Windmills of your Mind. The version I remember was by a rock band. Can’t remember their name of course.

      As addictions go, I don’t mind this one. πŸ™‚

      Like

  • Chris James

    Nice selection, Meeks πŸ™‚ Tim Curry should have got an Oscar for that performance – sheer joy to watch over and over πŸ™‚

    Like

Don't be shy!

