I’ve just had a ‘duh’ moment.

You know how sometimes your left hand doesn’t seem to know what your right hand is doing? And then something happens, and you go ‘Duh, I have two hands, why don’t I use them?’

Well, I’ve just had one of those moment, and it has to do with marketing.

I discovered I had two hands when I read this post by Catherine Caffeinated, and realised that social media is just word of mouth on a grand scale.

Now that simple concept may be obvious to you, but I it wasn’t obvious to me. I saw word of mouth as the only real way of achieving success, yes, but I dismissed social media as nothing but advertising.

Not all social media, of course. I love my blog, so it doesn’t count as advertising, but Twitter? Facebook? Goodreads? The truth is I don’t love those media.  Why should I waste valuable writing time on something that is just <<cue evil music>> advertising? Especially when it doesn’t seem to work anyway…

I doubt my ‘duh’ moment will increase my presence on either Twitter or Facebook, however it will increase the time I spend on Goodreads. Why? Because I love talking about books with people who share my passions. The only thing that has kept me away from Goodreads in the past has been my dislike of the user interface. It really is horribly clunky.

So there you have it – my personal moment of revelation. If you’ve been like me, and avoiding social media like an STD, please read this eye-opening article.

Happy Monday!

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

23 responses to “I’ve just had a ‘duh’ moment.

  • Carrie Rubin

    I’ve been slowly increasing my presence on Goodreads. I’ve joined a few groups and am trying to interact more. I enjoy getting in on the discussions, and it’s fun to see what others are reading and what they’ve thought of the books.

    Like

  • Laurie Boris

    I’ve been easing into Goodreads, joining a few groups and such. But I’m such a Facebook hound. I know it’s good to mix those things up. And it feels really good to be in a place where I get to talk about other people’s books. Balance is good. 😀

    Like

    • acflory

      As Ella said, there are only so many hours in the day. 😦

      I think we all have to find that sweet spot where communication is both effective and pleasurable. For me it’s my blog, but I recognize that 12 million readers are a target market too big to ignore! The only problem is deciding what to cut back on to make time for more Goodreads. -sigh- I’ve often thought a clone would be really nice.

      Like

  • EllaDee

    There is only so much time! I Facebook selectively, and keep it separate from my blog persona. I love Goodreads, and write the occasionaly review… should do more, and haven’t been in any discussion groups either… given the choice, I’d rather read.

    Like

  • Kathryn Chastain Treat

    I read this blog post earlier today. I have a twitter account linked to my blog so my posts go there and am trying to post something off and on when I can. I haven’t gotten my facebook author page up yet but hope to have it up and running soon. I also am slowly getting myself on Goodreads as well.

    Like

    • acflory

      My posts are linked to FB and Twitter as well, but I don’t do much more than that. Mostly when I hop on Twitter it’s to retweet stuff other friends had posted. Goodreads I’ve been with for almost a year and a half. I’ve met some very nice people there but the interface tends to put me off. I will make myself stop being so lazy though.

      Like

  • lorddavidprosserDavid

    At last you’ve seen the light.The big problem is finding out which social site is best to sell your books. So far I’ve relied on Facebook and Twitter but until now I thought that was enough ( other than my blog) but I hadn’t thought of Goodreads as a selling platform by targeting an audience for my genre. I’ll have to work on that a bit more.
    Thanks for passing on this helpful blog post, and the best of luck now you’ve decided to give it a real go.
    xx Huge Hugs xx

    Like

    • acflory

      Thanks David. It really was a mini epiphany. Of course suiting actions to words is always where things come unstuck. But I really will make more of an effort on Goodreads. See you there!

      Like

  • Stephanie Allen Crist

    Okay, you read my blog regularly. I swear I’ve talked about this! *drops head in shame* Where did I go wrong?

    Seriously, though, I’m glad you’ve figured this out. True, a lot of business people use social media as if it were advertising. But, the thing of it is that traditional advertising is about mass communication, mass marketing, like mass media.

    Social media is personal, it’s intimate, and it can work if you treat it as such.

    But, I agree, sometimes it just takes too much time.

    Like

    • acflory

      I’m sorry Stephanie. The fault was not yours but mine. Somehow my brain just wouldn’t connect up the dots until I saw ‘word of mouth’ and ‘social media’ in the same sentence.

      What is even weirder? more weird? is that I always saw my blog as being more like word of mouth… but I didn’t really see it as ‘social media’.

      Can I plead encroaching old age?

      Like

      • Stephanie Allen Crist

        lol In this case, social media is “word of mouse.” But that’s just a bit too cute for me.

        Part of it, I guess, comes down to the language we use, yes. In marketing, we talk about pitching. While it takes more preparation and practice, it’s basically talking about a product or service and making a plea based on how the conversation goes.

        You can do that on social media, including blogs, the difference is that it is more about conversation and less about pitching (a bonus for you) AND you start the conversation by providing content (posts, links, etc.) that will interest your fellow conversers. You can’t be, “Oh, look at me! I’m a writer and I want you to buy my book!” You’ve undoubtedly seen people who do exactly that. It doesn’t work.

        But, talking about your passions (including your book) builds connections. Talking about who you are (including a writer) builds connections. You can say, “Hey, if you like [insert topic] then you might want to try my book, because [insert relevant tie-in].”

        The key is relevance and connection. It works for other social media just as well as a blog–just in shorter, more chaotic bursts.

        Like

        • acflory

          ‘word of mouse’ !!!! Cute or not I love that. 🙂 May I pinch it? No idea where I’d use it, yet, but it’s just too good to ignore.

          I accept what you say about social media, in particular blogs, but I guess on my blog I feel as if I’m home amongst friends, giving rather than going gimme gimme your $$ so it’s not painful to me, or my readers [I hope]. Twitter doesn’t give me the scope to be myself. I just can’t be pithy and witty at the same time. And FB is about popularity contests, which have always scared me silly.

          I have, however, started to enjoy Goodreads more since I learned there are actually interesting groups having interesting discussions.

          Bottom line : I can poke my head out of my comfort zone to a point, but beyond that everything just gets too unpleasant for me. I’m a wimp, I know. 😦

          Like

        • Stephanie Allen Crist

          Pinch away. It’s not “mine.” Whoever came up with it never seems to get any credit for it. It’s been in common use for at least five years, possibly longer.

          Twitter isn’t really my thing either: 140 characters isn’t enough for me. FB does have a lot of popularity stuff going on, but I don’t get into any of that. But, again, I don’t use either effectively right now anyway.

          I haven’t done much with Goodreads, other than join, so I don’t have any good tips on that.

          But, I will say, wherever you go, your idea of your blog is right on. Not necessarily as in duplicating content across social media outlets, though you can do that, but being yourself, but online. It shouldn’t be about “gimme $$$.” It should be about “I’ll give you a little of me and I hope you’ll give me a little of you, and we’ll find where we connect.”

          The assumption, of course, is that your are not absolutely off-putting to everyone you’ve ever come into contact with, that you do indeed have redeemable qualities that make you someone at least a few other people are going to want to know. I’m not saying this for your sake, because you obviously are a person other people want to know, but there are those who simply have toxic personalities and should stay away from social media altogether. Unfortunately, far too many of them don’t.

          Like

        • acflory

          “I’ll give you a little of me and I hope you’ll give me a little of you, and we’ll find where we connect.”

          I love this. It describes exactly how I feel about my blog. And I have to say, I have been extraordinarily lucky in meeting really nice people through my blog [and through visiting their blogs].

          So far, I have only come across two toxic examples of the dark side of socia media. One was on someone else’s blog. This poor girl was literally being bullied and hounded by a group of blood suckers. The other occurred recently, again indirectly. I know these people are out there but I’ve been lucky enough to avoid them 99.9% of the time.

          Fingers crossed I never have to deal with someone like that on my blog. That would be like having my home burgled. 😦

          Like

        • Stephanie Allen Crist

          It happens. It’s very unfortunate. If it happens here, you don’t have to tolerate. Comments can be deleted. Commenters can be blocked. That, too, is unfortunate, but sometimes it’s necessary. Free speech is all well and good when it’s restricting the government, but it does not restrict people protecting their own online property. That choice is yours to make.

          Like

  • roseshadows

    I have quite a few ‘Duh’ moments so welcome to my world.
    I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award, if you are interested the details can be found here.
    http://roseshadows.wordpress.com/2013/05/24/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Like

Don't be shy!

