A challenge – music from my favourite decade.

Colin from Colinology challenged me to come up with a post about the music of my favourite decade. Well, for me that would have to be the 70’s.  I’ll give my reasons at the end,  but for now, sit back, relax and enjoy some golden oldies in no particular order [coz I’m lazy]. 🙂

1978 : Gerry Rafferty – Baker Street. I love the sax on this track, and the musician-ship, and the story in the lyrics.

1973 : Pink Floyd – Money. Lots of synthesizer but also some gorgeous live instruments. In fact, most of the track is instrumental, highlighting the musician-ship of the band. See a pattern emerging?

1971 : Led Zepplin – Stairway to Heaven. No visuals on this clip but just listen to the intro. Melody, lyrics, muscian-ship. This song has it all.

1978 : The Doobie Brothers – What a Fool Believes. The Doobies didn’t write the song but they sure made it famous. I lived through a breakup listening to this song. 🙂

1971 : The Doors – Riders on the Storm. I can’t say I loved everything the Doors wrote but I did love this particular song for the same reasons I’ve given for all the others. Very jazzy with an emphasis on musician-ship. They were bad boys but they knew how to play… instruments. 🙂

1971 :  Yes – I’ve Seen All Good People. I came to Yes late and used to have great debates with my ex about which was the better band – Supertramp or Yes. I thought it was Supertramp but I can’t include a list of  the 70’s without at least this one song.

1974 : Supertramp – School. Crime of the Century is such a fantastic album it’s hard to pick just one track so, as I’ve already featured other tracks from the album,  I thought I’d include School this time. Same amazing musicianship I’ve gushed about before, but also a bit more rock. Love, love, love.

1972 : Deep Purple – Space Truckin’.  No way I could create this list without Deep Purple. Another favourite track from their Machine Head album.

1970 : Bobby Bloom – Montego Bay. Never heard of Bobby Bloom? Don’t worry just enjoy this nice, boppy little song that makes you feel good.

1979 : The Knack – My Sharona. Okay before you kill me, this is just a fun song that I remember with a lot of affection, and I thought it would be a nice low-brow end to the 70’s!

I grew up with classical music and didn’t discover pop/rock until my late teens. So while I love heavy metal and hard, driving rock, I tend to gravitate towards modern music that has its roots in classical. Most of the tracks I love the most feature great musicians who wanted to break out and do something new with their skills. And they did. 🙂

The 70’s was the decade when this kind of music was at its height, before production began to take over from musician-ship, and image superseded talent. There was some brilliant music in the 80’s as well – e.g. Eurythmics – but the times they were a-changin’.

Now I won’t name names, but I know some of you are really into music as well – in particular classic Aussie rock – so if you feel inspired, why not take up the challenge and let the world  know which was your favourite decade!

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

40 responses to “A challenge – music from my favourite decade.

  • TD McKinnon

    I love all your music picks, right from the very first one from Gerry Rafferty (one of my favourites of all time). I would only add Dire Straits to the 70s mix. I do have a lot of favourites from the 60s (yes I know, showing my age) but let’s face it that was the beginning of good, innovative rock. This is my first visit, Meeks, I like your style, but where do you find the time?

    TD

    Like

    • acflory

      Hi TD! Welcome, and I hope this won’t be your last visit.

      I love Dire Straits too, especially the Love Over Gold album. I just couldn’t fit everyone in. I think Mark Knopfler single handedly started that fad for wearing headbands.

      As for time? I don’t work at the moment so I have the time to devote to all this. Once I get back into the workforce I know things will change but till then – carpe diem!

      Like

  • Meeka’s Music Challenge | Anne Lawson

    […] threw down the gauntlet to Meeka, who threw it out to us. Metan picked it up. Now here are my offerings. The challenge was to blog […]

    Like

  • More music. Curse you Meeks!! | Buried words and Bushwa.

    […] quickly throwing together a post on Friday for Meeka’s music challenge I spent the entire weekend saying to myself ”Aaarrgh! I should have included that one, and […]

    Like

  • Jennifer

    Love love love baker st, and the doors are pure classic!

    Like

    • acflory

      Wow – I’m amazed you youngies know so many of these great bands/songs. I honestly thought I was the only one who still remembered Baker Street. 🙂

      Like

      • Jennifer

        I love all those old songs and growing up Baker Street was one of my favourites. I may not be the same vintage, but the classics will always be played.

        Like

        • acflory

          You know I have been completely amazed at the reactions I’ve been getting from people, many of whom weren’t even born back in the 70s. I think you’re right, the classics live on. 🙂

          Like

          • anneb54

            Baker Street takes me right there, to that shared house. I loved seeing the clip again 🙂 What is it about the sax? It must have been a feature of music in the 70s, because it turned up in many of my choices for that period. Beautiful sound.

            Like

          • acflory

            I lived in a student house for a while too and that’s where I first heard Supertramp, Black Sabbath, Jethro Tull…. and then there was the radio. Somehow music seemed to be a part of absolutely everything in the 70’s. And I agree about the sax. I swear I didn’t notice it way back then but now, listening to all these wonderful tracks it’s amazing how often it featured. Wouldn’t be too many rock bands these days that would know how to play one, forget about playing it so /well/. Oops, I think I just did a grandma thing. 😉

            Like

  • Music: The Doors, alternative, rock, pop, 70s | Colinology

    […] over at her blog mentioned that she didn’t like everything about The Doors, which was such a sacrilege ( ) that I had to go to youtube and construct a playlist of The Doors […]

    Like

  • Colin

    Thanks for rising up to the challenge. I must object to your dismissal of The Doors though 😀 because I just love them. The End and Light my Fire are great musicianship AND lyrics track. 🙂

    Like

  • lorddavidprosserDavid

    I agree with most of the artists here though maybe I’d have chosen different tracks from a couple. Listen to the Music by the Doobies is still an all time Fave and perhaps Bloody Well Right by Supertramp would have been my choice. Baker Street can’t be beaten by Gerry though I did love the Stealer’s Wheel days too.
    When I’m writing I sometimes like music. I choose a track like Baker Street on YouTube then as it ends choose another song by a different artist from the list on the right hand side. It’s funny how far doing that ten times takes you musically sometimes.
    Pick the Mama’s and Papas favourite song ( California Dreaming) and try it yourself and see what your tenth choice is.

    Like

    • acflory

      Sorry, my all time favourite song of Supertramp is still Crime of the Century but I’d already featured it a few months? ago so thought I’d go with something a little different.

      So glad you like Baker Street too. But how can you write when you have to stop every couple of minutes to select another song????

      I may be weird but I have the whole album on repeat for hours. Sends me into a kind of writing trance! Love it.

      Like

  • Chris James

    Very nice selection – thanks! I think Crime of the Century is one of the most underrated albums of the whole decade. It amazes me how all the “experts” have no trouble singling out Dark Side of the Moon, etc, but poor old Supertramp always seemed to get blanked. It’s a scandal!

    Like

    • acflory

      I know! And the irony is I had to look up the songs on Dark Side of the Moon to remember them, but I had no trouble remembering the Supertramp songs. As well, at least there are some of who keep the faith. 🙂

      Like

  • metan

    A great selection! Thanks for the inspiration too, I was really stuck today 😀

    Like

  • A perfect-ish day. | Buried words and Bushwa.

    […] inspiration struck when I read Meeks’s post about her music challenge. Thanks Meeka! Now all I have to do is narrow down music from my favourite decade. Hmmm… not […]

    Like

  • Honie Briggs

    What an awesome list. Every single one brought back a memory. Nice!

    Like

  • Candy Korman

    It’s amazing how a song can “bring you back” to a time and place in a sudden rush. The coffee bar I go to after the gym (and sometimes later in the day, too) plays an eclectic mix. Motown one morning, blues the next, romantic tunes from the 40s, etc. This morning it was bubble gum pop from my childhood.

    A time traveling vacation for the price of a double espresso & a yogurt or a muffin. Gotta love that kind of bargain travel!

    Like

    • acflory

      -grin- I had a rather strange experience not long ago. I heard Kylie Minogue’s Locomotion on the TV and it took me back to the cafe where I first heard the song. And no, it is /not/ on my favourites list! But it did take me time travelling too. 🙂

      Like

  • EllaDee

    Even though I was born only 5 years before the 70’s it’s the decade I’d choose as well. Your choices are mine… except for Montego bay… but which was a nice blast from my country 2NM radio station days past.
    My Sharona takes me to time and I place, the same time and place as Turning Japanese, released only a little later in 1980 & sharing radio air time…”no sex no drugs no wine no women no fun no sin no you no wonder it’s dark…”
    I would add ACDC with Bon, The Angels, Foreigner, Status Quo, Mark Bolan & T-Rex; the Rollings Stones, Bob Dylan, Eric Clapton… the list is endless… it was the greatest decade of all, although I’m fond of some later stuff as well – Pearl Jam, Nirvana, Powderfinger, The Screaming Jets, John Butler Trio…
    It was only the popular stuff of the 80’s I had a little trouble with but even it’s been around long enough to find a little place in my psyche.
    I’m thinking the person you’re thinking of won’t be able to resist.

    Like

    • acflory

      -grin- I’m thinking you’re right. 😀 In fact I know you are!
      And thanks for reminding me of Foreigner! I’m sure in the coming days I’ll be remembering more and more fantastic music. This truly has been a pleasurable walk down memory lane. 🙂

      Like

      • EllaDee

        I think after reading both yours & Metan’s post, I love something from each decade… except what I hate… which is subject to change… B-52s & Bob Marley… this has been fun 🙂

        Like

        • acflory

          lol – I”ve never been a Bob Marley fan and I can’t remember the B52s so we’re cool. 🙂 Glad you have fun.

          Like

          • EllaDee

            I hated Bob Marley & the B-52s to start with, then I got them… I think a lot of music is about time & place. I ended up some great memories linked to Bob Marley & the B-52s, and other music of course.
            When my last marriage ended I played Damien Rice and James Blunt a lot… afterwards I had to throw the CDs out… I couldn’t stand them.

            Like

          • acflory

            Mmm… yes. I remember playing Linda Rondstadt’s version of Blue Bayou for a month after a break up. Haven’t listened to her since. Music is funny like that.

            Like

  • frontrangescribbles

    I agree the sax in the “Baker Street” is a killer, just as good as the sax in Bob Seeger’s “Turn the Page”

    Like

  • laurieboris@earthlink.net

    I love your selection! (Closet My Sharona fan here; fun is good.) I grew up with Mom’s show tunes, Dad’s classical, and older brother’s Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, and Frank Zappa. It’s great to hear my old favorites, 😀

    Like

Don't be shy!

