High, high and higher!

I’ve just finished my thebookcast.com interview, and it was so much fun. Yes, fun.

Bill Thompson, the interviewer [and owner] of thebookcast.comΒ has been a broadcaster for decades, and his experience shows in the ease with which he made me feel comfortable. However Bill’s talents also include being a great listener, and knowing how to ask those big, insightful questions. He is also funny, and very kind. In a word, he’s a great person to talk to, and talk I did. πŸ™‚

The interview should go live on either Friday or Monday, so expect another very excited post when it does!

But wait… there’s more!

Over the last few weeks I’ve been getting to know an indie author by the name of Christie Meierz. I found Christie through her novel The Marann, which I enjoyed a great deal. Christie writes in a genre that is a fusion of romance and social science fiction, and her world building fascinated me from the word go.

The aliens in Christie’s novels are humanoid in appearance, but scratch below the surface, and they are very different to the rest of us upright apes. It was this difference that I loved the most. As Christie has sold over 5,000 copies of her first book, I’m obviously not the only one who likes her world, and the people in it!

Christie has just released the second full length novel in the series, The Daughters of Suralia, and it is even more engaging than the first one [The Marann] because this time we get to see how the Tolari live, think and feel… from the inside. Β And there are some interesting personal relationships going on as well!

So you can see why I’m so thrilled Christie read my book, and reviewed it. πŸ™‚

http://christiemeierz.blogspot.com.au/2013/04/a-different-point-of-view.html?showComment=1366665441111#c2686185142599740910

And then, on top of everything else, the sun has come out, and I don’t have to cook tonight! Life just doesn’t get much better than this for a writer. πŸ˜€

-hugs-

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

14 responses to “High, high and higher!

  • metan

    Yay for you! I am glad you enjoyed the dreaded interview πŸ™‚ That, some sun, and no cooking? Definitely a great day πŸ˜€

    Like

  • lorddavidprosserDavid

    I’m not going to question ‘The Daughter’s’ taste in meals but I’m standing well back if you used garlic again in the cooking.
    I’m glad the interview went well but ‘I told ya so’ ! And Christie’s review of your book was great. No wonder you had such a good day. I hope your fears were wrong and you didn’t jinx today.
    I hope Ella’s right and the good weather is around for ANZAC day.
    Hugs galore.

    Like

    • acflory

      Of course I used garlic! Heaps of it. πŸ˜€ Plus oodles of sour cream as well. It’s not a dish for the faint-hearted. πŸ˜‰ Sadly it just started to drizzle but I think a little rain overnight can be forgiven.

      Like

  • EllaDee

    Christie Meierz writes a fantastic review πŸ™‚ You have so many good things happening, so different to prior to the dreaded interview… you’ve conquered, and are now rewarded. I hope the sunny weather sticks around for ANZAC Day. I love no cooking nights πŸ™‚ I also don’t have to cook tonight, just sit in the car for 6-ish hours but my reward is a long weekend at Taylors Arm.

    Like

    • acflory

      I truly have had a wonderful day. Now let’s hope I haven’t jinxed myself for tomorrow. πŸ˜‰

      6 hours??? Is that because of traffic or is Taylors Arm so very far away?

      Re cooking – I made a massive pot of stuffed peppers last night. The Daughter took some for lunch today and seemed keen to have them for dinner again so… -shrug- Who am I to question eating stuffed peppers for 3 meals in a row?

      Like

  • Yvonne Hertzberger

    That’s great. So few interviewers really have to skill to set you at ease. I’m glad you had fun.

    Like

  • Laurie Boris

    So excited for you that it went well! I can’t wait to hear it. And Christie’s new book…well, I won’t say a word. πŸ˜€

    Like

Don't be shy!

