So you’re tired of hearing about “rape culture”? Reblogged

A blogger I follow pointed me towards this post, and it shocked me so much I just had to share it with you. Why? Because I did not know this kind of thing happened in the 21st century. I did not know modern men and women could allow such a culture to exist.

To read the whole post – something I strongly recommend – follow the link at the end of this short excerpt.

“TRIGGER WARNING:

The following includes descriptions, photos, and video that may serve as a trigger for victims of sexual violence.
Please be advised.

Someone asked me today, “What is ‘rape culture’ anyway? I’m tired of hearing about it.”

Yeah, I hear ya. I’m tired of talking about it. But I’m going to keep talking about it because people like you keep asking that question.

Rape culture is when a group of athletes rape a young girl, and though there are dozens of witnesses, no one says, “Stop.”

Rape culture is when a group of athletes rape a young girl, and though there are dozens of witnesses, they can’t get anyone to come forward……. “

http://rantagainsttherandom.wordpress.com/2013/03/19/so-youre-tired-of-hearing-about-rape-culture/#comment-934

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

10 responses to “So you’re tired of hearing about “rape culture”? Reblogged

  • littlemissobsessivesanatomy

    this is sad…the fact that victim is not getting any support fromt he community is shocking…how can we let our kids act like this…the boys are getting all the support and sympathy…sports is not above a girl’s dignity… Rape is sad and scary reality that wont go away unless parents make changes in their home…

    living in a country where rape happens everyday i know how far we are from getting rid of Rape culture…while a lot of people in my country argue that it happens because of no education i say it happens because parents dont teach their boys to defend honor of girls and women they are going to go school with or work with…

    when we do end up knowing someone who is a rapist we also end up defending him by giving reasons or blaming the victim for being provocative…
    rape is topic that makes me sad and angry

    Like

    • acflory

      I’m sorry, I know the rape and death of that poor girl in India upset you a lot. I do agree though that we have to talk about it as a global phenomenon. The mindset behind these cultures of rape MUST change.

      Like

  • EllaDee

    I don’t always read reblogs but in this case, reblogging Lauren’s post was a good call by you. Lauren’s post on Why I Won’t Publish Your Comments About False Rape Accusations was also very good. What is there to say that hasn’t already been said? It only takes 3 words. Rape is wrong. We all know it’s wrong.

    Like

    • acflory

      I don’t do many reblogs myself unless something really makes me sit up and take notice, or really shocks me. Lauren’s post did both. The rape culture thing is still a little hard to take in. My head knows its true but my heart is saying ‘People can’t really be that callous… can they?”

      Like

  • metan

    When I looked at the news reports a few days ago and saw the sadness on the face of one of the boys fathers I wondered if there was more sadness because his son had committed such a crime, or because he was caught and that his wonderful future was gone.
    It seems as though there was more concern for the fate of the boys than there was for the girl, as if being drunk made it ok for them to do what they wanted without concern for her.

    How is it that people have so little concern for others? 😦

    Like

    • acflory

      I think people’s sympathy is tied to the perceived value of the person. Those boys had brilliant futures, or so we’re told. The victim however has been painted as a drunk, and possibly a no-hoper. Even her own friends supposedly didn’t care what happened to her.

      Nowhere in the media have there been any stories about what a bright little girl she was, how kind, whatever. I’m just guessing here because there is no info to go on.

      All this good boy/bad girl reporting has completely turned black to white in the public mind. And that scares the hell out of me.

      Like

      • metan

        I haven’t heard any positive statements about her either and I expected that it was because of the social status of the boys who committed the crime too. If the victim was a drunken no-hoper I have to wonder what kind of life/parenting she had beforehand and that makes me feel so sad for her too. If she was a girl full of potential, now she has been publicly tarred with the loser brush and that is so unfair for her.
        Nobody can win after something like this, those boys did something that ruined more lives than their own. I bet the girl will be the one that bears the brunt of the anger from a community that seems to value sportmen more than respect for the lives of others. 😦

        Like

  • lorddavidprosser

    This is a subject that won’t go away, and why should it.? It needs to be faced and the mindset that protects the rapist and blames the victim must be changed.
    That an athlete can play another game, or a bright student complete their studies is not worth the degradation that a rape victim has to endure by the endless questioning, medical tests and counter accusations they have to go through. How hard must it be to bear the rape and then hear “You must have brought it on yourself”
    Those who disclose a rape victims name must be prosecuted. Those who cover up the name of the perpetrator must be prosecuted until this is stamped out.
    If it’s proved that no rape took place and the accusation is false then the perpetrator of that should be prosecuted also.
    Rape can happen to either sex by either sex and must both be held to be abhorrent in the eyes of the law and of the public. No more making the rapist out to be a victim because of what privileges they may lose in life. What they do is a crime and there must be a punishment no matter what their place in society. In this particular instance, having some prowess on the field of sport does not make them special or put them above the law.

    Like

    • acflory

      I agree wholeheartedly, however the media and advertising industries have a case to answer too. I think those ads shocked me as much as the culture that spawned them. 😦

      Like

Don't be shy!

