KDP free promotions

I didn’t really have a marketing plan when I published Vokhtah, and to be honest I still don’t. I know what I should be doing – blogging, tweeting etc – and I am doing my best, but I have a very low threshold for boredom so I only spend about 10 – 15 minutes on Twitter per day. ย Sadly it’s not enough. Or, depressing thought, it’s having no impact. One month after launch, Vokhtah has sold 16 copies and has had no borrows.

Time to bring out the big guns and yes, go FREE! -cough-

If I understand the whole KDP Select thing correctly, Amazon gets exclusive distribution rights to Vokhtah for three months, and I get five days in which I can let people have the book for free. This is a great promotional tool, but only if my marketing has generated some kind of ‘product awareness’. In other words, if the name Vokhtah has been seen by enough people to make getting a free copy tempting.

To be honest, I have grave doubts about the effectiveness of my marketing to-date, but I’m the eternal optimist so I’ve just scheduled Vokhtah to go free for the full FIVE days starting March the 1st.

Why use up the full five days in one hit?

Well, part of the answer is that I read recently that three days is no longer an effective period. The writer is a successful indie author and recommends four days. ย But what then do I do with that orphaned one day? If I were a whiz at marketing I might be able to blitz the air waves enough to make a one day promotion worthwhile…

Who am I kidding? The marketing blitz is just not going to happen. One has to be realistic about these things.

If I could carry that spare day over into a second 3 month period then it might make sense to hang on to it – like saving up unused annual leave. Unfortunately I’m pretty sure KDP Select doesn’t work that way so I decided to just blow it all on one promotion. You never know, it might work to my advantage. Maybe on that fifth day some bored, yet influential person might pick Vokhtah up, read it and-…

Ahem.

I know science fiction/fantasy is not everyone’s cup of tea, but if you are looking for a sci-fi book with a difference – or know someone else who is – please put March 1 – 5 on your calendar. I think Vokhtah will go free around lunch time on March the 1st.

If you forget to put the free days on your calendar, don’t worry… I’ll remind you. ๐Ÿ˜€

cheers

Meeks

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

17 responses to “KDP free promotions

  • Rebecca "Sweet Mother" Donohue

    stay strong. this marketing sh*t feels awful for all of us. trust me. but, you get around and a lot of the wp bloggers LOVE you – me included – so you’ll get readers. xoxox, sm

    Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    I know some authors that this has worked quite well for. I wish you luck!

    Like

  • metan

    Five days in a row sounds like a good idea, you don’t want people finding out on the second day and not having time to get the book before the offer runs out.
    Good luck! (and I don’t envy you the whole marketing thing ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes! That was my thought too. I’m forever missing deadlines myself so the longer the better.

      I’m kicking myself at the moment because I’ve missed a two-for-one offer to the Australian Ballet’s Don Quixote. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ The flyer was sitting in my letter box, buried in all the junk, and I didn’t find it until I finally cleared everything out yesterday.

      My fault I know but I’m still pissed off with myself.

      Like

  • geooorge

    I went back to have a better look at your tweets and most specifically your tags. I noticed that there aren’t many tags. Basically i haven’t seen something like #book #novel #reading #literature and stuff like that. The broader the selection of tags the more chances of someone seeing it. Perhaps someone may be looking with a wider scope than just scifi, or knows someone that would be interested.

    Like

  • lorddavidprosser

    I’ll tweet for you as sooon as the period starts. I’ve not had a single loan on KDP either but my free periods did see my books go up the Amazon charts. The higher up the charts, the better to be seen. Hugs

    Like

    • acflory

      Thanks David. ๐Ÿ™‚ I wonder if a lot of readers are as confused by the borrows as I am. Every time I see the option available the ‘to Prime members’ bit puts me off as I don’t know what’s involved in becoming a Prime member. If it’s more forms to fill in then I can see why people don’t bother.

      Like

  • candy korman

    I think we’re all making up this promotion process as we go along. There is no, single recipe that works. I hope your 5 FREE days go well. I think five in a row is a good idea, as it’s a way to build awareness and that takes time. I’ll RT your Tweets about it and promote it on my Candy’s Monsters Facebook page.

    Like

    • acflory

      Thanks Candy! Definitely flying by the seat of my pants here. If it works then I’ll be ecstatic.

      Btw how is Waltzing in the Snow going? A free serialization should have people breaking down your door. lol Only 3 more days until chapter 3. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  • Jennifer Scoullar

    Would you like to do a strategically timed guest post on my blog? 300-500 words? I’ll post it whenever you like …

    Like

  • Honie Briggs

    I look forward to seeing your results. As marketing is not my strength, I too have been challenged by that illusive word of mouth which is so important to generating interest. Good luck!

    Like

    • acflory

      I’ve learned a lot from Candy and David Prosser, but as Candy said, we’re all making it up as we go. And it doesn’t come ‘naturally’. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      I don’t want to bore people but I might post strategic milestones and things that work in case my experience comes in handy for someone else.

      Like

Don't be shy!

