‘Smoke on the Water’.. and in the air.

It’s quite a lovely day today, with clear skies, very little wind and not too much heat, but I’m sitting at my desk with dry eyes and a blocked nose. Am I coming down with a cold? Nope, there’s just a lot of smoke in the air. None of that smoke is coming from nearby but it still makes me nervous.

I managed to squeeze in a couple of hours of writing first thing in the morning, so I’ve accomplished something, but now I’m facing an afternoon of boredom listening to talk-back radio on ABC 774. [774 is the official bushfire warnings channel].

Oh joy, now they’re talking about nasty biting things and antivenom. As someone who is terrified of snakes and redbacks, this is not reassuring.

Why can’t 774 just play music interspersed with bushfire warnings and news reports?

Never mind. A song just came on. Clearly the ABC and I have different tastes in music. 😦

Have I mentioned I’m really ready for summer to be over? I want to be able to listen to Two Steps From Hell and write without checking the CFA website every five minutes. I want to cook roasts and big pots of hearty soup. I want to be able to go for a walk without coming back looking like I’ve been through a car wash…

Okay, enough! I’m sinking into a deep depression here. Time for something more upbeat. I was going to save this for the weekend but I need it now! Enjoy. πŸ™‚

Meeks waves goodbye as she bops towards the coffee pot. Thank god for caffeine.

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

16 responses to “‘Smoke on the Water’.. and in the air.

Don't be shy!

