Update to the Firebug post.

I recently wrote a rather angry post about a possible firebug in the Warrandyte area. I honestly thought we’d never know for sure how that fire started, so I’m really thrilled to be able to tell you it wasn’t a firebug, it was a campfire.

This is the comment I received from Andrew, a member of the CFA :

Hello All, For your information, This fire started as a result of a campfire that was not extinguished properly. The fire Started along side the Yarra river and burnt 4 hectares of bushland south east up steep terrain in Warrandyte State Park not far form the Clifford park scout center in Wonga Park.

VERY fortunate the weather conditions were favorable for firefighting.

Regards Andrew (CFA Volunteer)

Thanks Andrew, not just for providing that welcome information, but also for doing such a great job keeping us all safe. The CFA volunteers put their own lives on the line in so many ways : they fight bushfires and give up huge chunks of their time every summer. All without getting paid or receiving much thanks.

You guys [and girls] are much appreciated even if we don’t say it enough.

-hugs-

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

10 responses to “Update to the Firebug post.

  • candy korman

    That is very good news. I guess the next step is to remind everyone to full extinguish all campfires and that campfires aren’t always a good idea.

    Like

  • ktelega

    We don’t give our firefighters and first responders nearly enough credit for the incredible work they do. Glad you don’t have a firebug on the loose.

    Like

  • lorddavidprosser

    I’m sure they’ll appreciate knowing how much you recognise the wonderful work they do.I think it’s fantastic that they let you know the cause and the area covered by a fire too. Hopefully, it’ll be some time before another one is able to start in the same area and maybe it’ll act as a firebreak for others in the area. I’m so pleased you’re safe.

    Like

    • acflory

      I have no idea how Andrew found my blog but I’m so glad he did. And I’m even more glad to know it wasn’t a firebug.

      We’re definitely safe at the moment as it’s been raining most of the day. 😀 It won’t last, of course, but at least it’s put some moisture back in the ground. We’re due some warmer weather again next week so I’m enjoying this hiatus while I can. 😀

      Like

  • josh

    Good news! I’ll take carelessness over maliciousness any day.

    Do you have Smokey the Bear down there? Or maybe Smokey the Kangaroo? “Only YOU can prevent brush fires!”

    Like

  • Dale

    That was a good outcome. I know what you mean though. Fires scare me especially now we live in the bush.

    Like

Don't be shy!

