Carol Wyer’s Grumpy Old Men

Okay, I know that title is pretty cryptic, even for me, so I’ll walk you through it.

Carol Wyer is a writer of very funny books, and she also happens to be a contributer to Indies Unlimited, one of the best writer hangouts I’ve found.

So Carol wrote a piece for Indies Unlimited about optimism and never giving up. The article is serious but it’s written with Carol’s signature humour.

As part of an example why we writers should never give up, Carol tells how joining HARO lead her to fame if not fortune. 🙂

The Indies Unlimited article, called ‘Always look on the bright side of life’ is here. And yes, I’m singing those immortal words from Monty Python.

The article that splashed her name across NBCnews.com is here.

I’d tell you more but I’m off to sign up with HARO! Surely someone wants to know about bushfires, or alpacas, or something…

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

10 responses to “Carol Wyer’s Grumpy Old Men

  • carolewyer

    Had to pop over and say a hello and give you a wicked grin. Hope you’re still whistling along.
    Many thanks for mentioning Indies Unlimited, me and the article. You have made my morning which was looking pretty grim to be honest – Mr Grumpy is in a bad mood because we are still stuck in snow..
    Me singing “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life” didn’t go down too well on Sunday when we were stranded at an airport on an aeroplane for four hours with screaming kids and no food or water. Ah well, I can’t please everyone,can I?
    “When you’re feeling in the dumps
    Don’t be silly chumps
    Just purse your lips and whistle – that’s the thing
    And… “

    Like

    • acflory

      STOP!!!!! lol No more! Please. 😀 Metan and I have been haunted by that song for a whole day already! Next you’ll start talking about the Spanish Inquisition and then we’ll be lost. 😉

      I know you must be sick of the snow but just at the moment it sounds divine. We’ve just sweltered through another hot day with a warm [26C] night to come. We’re praying for rain but I’d make do with snow. The screaming kids I’ll have to respectfully decline. 😀

      Like

  • metan

    When you’re chewing on life’s gristle,
    Don’t grumble, give a whistle….

    I am not sure I can thank you for that, now I will have it in my head all day!!

    Like

  • Kathryn Chastain Treat

    I just subscribed to Indies Unlimited.

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes! They are the nicest bunch of people I’ve met, apart from all my friends here of course. They are also very talented writers in their own right. I’ve read quite a few of them and ALL of them produce quality books.

      I really think you’ll like them Kathryn. 🙂

      Like

  • lorddavidprosser

    Thanks , Carol sound like a fun lady but have you noticed your posts are getting pretty witty these days too. STAY OUT OF MY GENRE AND I’LL STAY OUT OF YOURS !! Hugs though. xx

    Like

Don't be shy!

