Only 29,995 to go!

I hopped onto Amazon a few minutes ago to check that Vokhtah was really there [I was getting bruises from pinching myself so often] and noticed those interesting bits of information Amazon adds at the end. This caught my eye :

Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #29,996 Paid in Kindle Store

Hence the title of this post. Go on, do the arithmetic. πŸ˜€

I’m feeling extraordinarily happy though because science fiction is obviously much less populated than say Romance/Paranormal/Glitter. And of courseΒ that means I have a much better chance of going up in the ranking as there’s much less competition.

I know I’m being wildly optimistic here but I believe I could reach #25,000… one day. πŸ˜‰

Okay, I’ll stop cracking jokes now as I know I don’t do funny very well. If I’m to be serious, though, and honest, I’d have to say that I really don’t expect to hit the dizzying heights of Amazon ranking for some years.

Yes, that’s right… years. And I’m okay with that, pretty much, because I’ve learned that the only secret to success is longevity, and a massive pinch of luck.

This past year I’ve come to know some amazing writers, most of them indies. You have met them in my reviews, but what you many not know is that I’ve learned from their blood, sweat and tears. All my indie role-models have produced top quality work, really, seriously, good stuff, yet none of them are on a best-seller list. They should be, but they’re not, not yet.

I know they get disappointed at times, but none of them are giving up. They keep writing, keep polishing, keep putting out wonderful, honest, beautifully written books. And they keep hoping for that pinch of luck to come their way.

Slogging on seems incredibly easy to me at the moment because I’m still floating around on a cloud of euphoria, but I know it won’t last, so I’m putting my resolutions into this post, to remind me not to give up when the going gets tough.

This post is also a carte blanche to all of you. If you see me getting all negative and woe-is-me-ish, you have my permission to apply boot to bum – your boot, my bum. πŸ˜€

Love you all,

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

20 responses to “Only 29,995 to go!

Don't be shy!

