Ame no oto – the sound of rain

Apologies to haiku buffs for messing with that famous line, but in south eastern Australia, the sound of rain is always special, and deserves a haiku of its own. Particularly in summer, with bushfires raging in three states.

I know this rain won’t last, and I know it probably hasn’t spread past the coastal areas, but by god it’s welcome here in Warrandyte, and it’s a lovely sound to hear as you wake up!

Armed with a cup of coffee and a hoodie, I went outside to see the miracle of rain from close-up. Leaves that were drooping from lack of water yesterday are standing tall and proud today, and even the dry, yellowed grasses are sporting a blush of green. That’s how quickly it happens.

Once the rain finally stops, I’m going to get out there and weed a few spots near the house in preparation for the return to heat later on. In the meantime, I’m getting stuck into my proof-reading, happy in the knowledge that Warrandyte won’t burn today. It truly is a great weight off my mind, even though I know it’s only temporary. 

I go through this state of siege every summer, but it’s been worse this year because so many other places are under attack from fire. I can’t help thinking it will be our turn next. 😦

My thoughts go out to the people in regional Victoria, New South Wales, and of course, Tasmania, who are living with the reality of bushfires right now. You are not alone. 

-hugs-

Meeks

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

6 responses to “Ame no oto – the sound of rain

Don't be shy!

