Chilli chocolate and the cover design for Vokhtah!

Just a quick update to let you know two, totally unrelated things. The first is that I just ate my first ever chilli infused chocolate and it was amazing… in a very good way. πŸ˜€

I was given a late Christmas present of boutique chocolates and didn’t know what I was eating until I started to feel the heat. As I’m not very adventurous when it comes to chocolate, it’s probably just as well the chilli chocolate snuck up on me. But it really was delicious.

The second delicious thing I have to report is that I’ve just seen the first draft of the Vokhtah book cover, and I’m over the moon! The designer is a family friend who moonlights as an architect. Personally I think his talents are being wasted on buildings!

Anyway, I can’t show you the pic yet because it’s part of my birthday present to me, and I don’t want to spoil the surprise. But watch this space because barring any major stuff ups on my part, Vokhtah will go live as an ebook on January 12th, Australian daylight savings time! [For you northern hemisphere types that should be sometime on the 11th].

I’ll be self-publishing [on Amazon], Β and asΒ  I’ve never done anything like this before, I’m desperatelyΒ  hoping I’m geek enough to pull it off without a hitch. You’ll know if I did… and you’ll definitely know if I didn’t! Β I may ask for donations of tissues. πŸ˜‰

So, that’s my news for tonight. I’ve been trying to stay cool, calm and serene – OHM – but my good intentions just went flying out the window. Soooooooo excited!

Goodnight me lovelies,

-hugs-

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

27 responses to “Chilli chocolate and the cover design for Vokhtah!

  • alexlaybourne

    It all sounds rather exciting Andrea, I can’t wait… and am now very hungry also. ha

    Like

  • anneb54

    I had chilli chocolate for the first time this Christmas. My niece works in a speciality chocolate place and brought a mixed box for Christmas dinner. It was a shock, as i was not expecting the chilli, but I really liked it. Exciting news about your book!!

    Like

  • metan

    Mmmmm, chilli chocolate. Everything tastes better with chilli πŸ™‚

    Dying to see the Vokhtah cover now, happy soon-to-be-birthday to you! Yaaaaaay! πŸ˜€

    Like

  • laurieboris

    Yay! So excited for you! And the chili chocolate…mmm…but I can only eat a teeny bit at a time. Enjoy!

    Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    I’ll take your word on the chili chocolate. I like to keep my chocolate and my chili two separate things. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  • kmtreat

    I have never had chili chocolate myself either. Sounds interesting as I have heard the two compliment each other. Can’t wait to see the cover and hear that it is available. I am still trying to work on my cover. I am going to dedicate the next couple of months to it. I am never going to get the book out if I don’t get the cover done. Well done.

    Like

  • lorddavidprosser

    I’m trying to decide if I’m interested in a chocolate that leaves my temperature soaring afterwards and possibly leaving me without a chocolate taste.
    I’m thrilled to bits for you over Voktah but disappointed if you’re only doing the ebook version.If you wanted to sty with Amazon you could do a print copy on Createspace and it only costs you the price of the proof copy. If you’re happy with that you just OK it and they put it on sale and I can start requesting a signed copy.
    Not long till Saturday. xxxx

    Like

    • acflory

      -giggles- I would never have believed chilli and chocolate could enhance each other but somehow they do. Trust me. πŸ˜‰

      Originally I was going to bring both the ebook and paperback out together but realised I’d misjudged the time needed to get a copy of the book in physical form – i.e. not in time for my actual b’day.

      I know it sounds very odd but I’m almost superstitious about these big birthdays. The memorable event has to be /on/ the day. That’s why I opted for just the ebook, because I can control when it is published.

      To be honest, this whole thing is dinner-before-breakfast because it has very little to do with the publishing and everything about the b’day. -shrug- It really is my present to me. πŸ˜€

      Like

  • Candy Korman

    Chili and chocolate is one of my all time favorite combinations. Perhaps the only one I like better is dark chocolate with caramel and sea salt. Yummmmmmmm

    So excited about the cover design. I can’t wait to see it. Covers do tell a lot about a book. It’s a selling point and it gets people into the right mood for the story.

    Like

    • acflory

      Dark chocolate, caramel and sea SALT???? Hmm… clearly I’m going to have to explore the realm of chocolate a bit more. πŸ˜‰

      I agree about covers. There’s something about that visual impact that bypasses the logic centres and goes straight for the gut. My cover is ‘sci-fi’ in feel but, I don’t know, is more subtle than the average sci-fi cover. I just hope it has the desired effect.

      And yes, now that the euphoria has worn off I am getting nervous again! Gah.

      Like

      • candy korman

        Go with your initial gut reaction on the cover design β€” you liked it. It’s good. Second thoughts are cloudy in this sort of thing.

        Also, if you’ve ever had a chocolate covered pretzel, the combination of chocolate and salt is classic, add the caramel and it’s heavenly.

        Yes, explore exotic chocolates! It’s a great hobby.

        Like

Don't be shy!

