Cat’s Cradle Time Yarns & Erinyes

Apologies for the uninspiring title to this post but I couldn’t think of any clever way of linking the two ebooks I just bought.

cats cradle smlThe first, Cat’s Cradle Time Yarns, is a new anthology featuring a short story by Candy Korman.

Candy is one of my favourite authors so I had to buy it. Besides, I’m a sucker for all things feline, and this anthology looks as if it’s going to be fun. Congratulations Candy! I honestly don’t know where she finds the time to sleep. πŸ˜‰

The second ebook, Erinyes, is a science fiction novel by an author I’ve never heard of before. So why did I buy it? I’m damned if I know. It certainly wasn’t the blurb. I enjoy the concepts of worm-hole jumps and cryogenics, but on their own, neither would have been enough to make me click that Buy button.

The truth is, I think I was hooked by theΒ nameΒ of the book. Erinyes is a good, strong name, and it’s unusual, however it could mean anything, and belong to anything. Β Is Erinyes a person? A place? Something else entirely?

I have no idea what this name means but it was enough to get me to buy the book. I’ll let you know whether it was worth the outrageous sum of $0.99 in a few days. Β Until then it might be fun to just ponder the power of names.

Are they as effective as a distinctive book cover? Or – rank heresy – is it possible a catchy title can do more for a book than its cover?

Okay, enough random musings, I have about 14 more chapters of proof reading to do if Vokhtah is to arrive on schedule so I’m off to the salt mines again.

cheers

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

24 responses to “Cat’s Cradle Time Yarns & Erinyes

  • candy korman

    Thanks for getting Cat’s Cradle. I hope you enjoy “Locard’s Tale.”

    I think there’s an intriguing topic lurking in your blog post β€” a big one for writers β€” and that’s the mysterious process of picking books. Now that we’re shopping on the internet (usually alone and sometimes in our pajamas) we’re no longer asking a helpful bookstore owner for suggestions. We’re basically on our own, judging the veracity of reviews and books by their covers.

    Why do I click “buy” for one book and pass on another? Price? Title? Glowing reviews?

    Sometimes I buy ebooks impulsively. The timing is simply right to say YES!

    Like

    • acflory

      Absolutely! The way we choose books now is completely different to how we did things say, five years ago.

      I would miss the physical experience of going to a bookstore and wandering up and down the aisles except for one thing – I usually ended up frustrated. They rarely stocked any of my favourite authors, unless they happened to be on some best-seller list, and the books they did stock tended to be the same old, same old.

      In fact, thinking back, one of the reasons I first started buying books from Amazon [long before the advent of the Kindle] was because Amazon seemed to stock absolutely /everything/.

      Of course, since getting my own Kindle, the shopping experienced has changed yet again. Now I can indulge in a $3 lucky dip whenever I wish. πŸ˜‰

      But getting back to your point, I always start with the Title, and/or the cover. Then to the blurb and finally to the reviews. And sometimes I skip all the sensible stuff entirely! lol

      Like

      • metan

        I’m with you, title and/or cover, blurb, reviews. A great book with a bad title will be skimmed over, bad for me, and the author!
        I love the cheap specials on the kindle, I wouldn’t go and buy just anything in a bookshop, at that price they are an investment. The disappointing book I buy for a dollar or two for the kindle never puts me off looking for an unknown bargain the next time.
        I’ll have to go and look for these ones next time I am browsing πŸ˜€

        Like

  • alexlaybourne

    Sometimes buying something on a whim is just the ticket. I like to make most of my important decisions in live in that way. Not because I am reckless but because we know what we want all along, but just don’t admit it. Therefore, but elimiating all the self doubt and over thinking I can move on with live.Happy New Year Meeks, and Happy belated birthday!

    Like

  • lorddavidprosser

    If it wouldn’t cause her problems walking through doorways I’d admit that Kandy is a favourite of mine too.Her first title intrigued me and I loved reading it and then reviewing it. A clever title certainly helped there. Just recently I’ve been reading books by Jinx Schwartz , again because of the great titles but also because her subject is such a feisty woman who in real life would scare me to death. As she says, Hetta Coffey is a woman with a boat and she’s not afraid to use it.
    Currently I’m reading a book called A Presence in Russell County by S J Sprague but in all honesty I’m not sure I’m enjoying it. though I will persist a while longer. I’m at the halfway point now and we’ve known the bad guys for a long time. The introduction of the cavalry seems superfluous since we already had good strong characters, and the cavalry seem a little unreal as a secret organisation of helpmeets one of whom is disabled yet is in love with the heroine before meeting her in the flesh and then is slapping flesh with her on day one.Still , maybe jealousy is laying a part here……..
    Hurry up with Voktah, that birthday is fast approaching Meeks.
    Huge Hugs. xx

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes, this business of titles is a curious thing. I just finished a book called Turing Evolved. Both the title and the cover intrigued me, but the story left me dissatisfied. It wasn’t boring or anything, it just didn’t quite live up to my expectations. I’m still mulling over exactly what was missing, or perhaps should have been missing.

      And I’m working on it Bloss! Not sure how much I’ll get done tomorrow as it’s going to be a scorcher. I may just spend the day prostrate and praying for rain. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  • metan

    continuing above comments…….
    Old Man’s War is under $7. A short one of his is ‘An Election’ for 99c and equally enjoyable. πŸ™‚

    Like

  • Larisa Biyuts

    Glad to be one of the contributors for the anthology. Thank you Erin Lale.

    Like

  • Russel Ray Photos

    Best wishes for health, happiness, peace, and prosperity to you and yours for 2013 and beyond.

    Like

Don't be shy!

