Ammunition is the key!

The news here in Australia has been full of the Sandy Hook tragedy. I thought it couldn’t make me cry any more, but then tonight I watched a ‘talking head’ describing the defensive wounds on the dead children. Defensive wounds on hands and arms where they tried to shield themselves from bullets…

Then there was another segment where so called experts were discussing whether Obama would do something, and if he did, how much success he would likely have. That’s when a sense of hopelessness set in. It lasted until just five minutes ago when I was catching up on some of the blogs I follow. I can across a post by T.M.Mulligan [Becoming not became], that was so fiendishly clever I just had to reblog it.  The gist is in this quote, but please read the whole post because it is awesome.

“So here’s my idea: Treat ammunition for publicly owned firearms in the same manner our society treats prescription drugs. If you want ammunition you need to go to your local police department; there they’ll write you a legal dispense order for thirty rounds only and non-refillable within a thirty day period. The federal government would monitor ammunition shops like they monitor pharmacies.”

Newtown Might Be Anytown.

hugs

Meeks

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

24 responses to “Ammunition is the key!

  • metan

    Weeks later I saw this news item and thought you would want to see it.

    http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/breaking-news/new-jersey-towns-schools-get-armed-cops/story-e6frf7k6-1226546861083

    I asked the kids how having armed guards at their school would make them feel and the answer was “Scared, it would make me think they knew something bad was about to happen.”
    Not sure what the solution is but I don’t know if this is it 😦

    Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    I like that idea. Of course, I prefer there to be no guns at all, but sadly, I don’t think that’s about to happen any time soon in my country.

    Like

  • T.M. Mulligan

    Thank you so very much for reblogging my recent post. I envy your literal distance from this abomination. I fear for my country and countrymen.

    I’m still crying. Especially for the amount of preciously rare innocence lost that day. I fear a crevasse of cruelty ripping open the discouraged plains of humanity, swallowing acres of hope, kindness, and gentility, and inoculating the survivors with indifference. I am bipolar and when in the throes of mania I experience a dangerous degree anger. But what horrible thing happened to the shooter to drive his anger over the edge as a torrent of hatred, retribution, and cowardice expressed by slaughter. I’ve been suggesting that “me-me-meism” has replaced the codes of propriety. It’s fueled by social networks falsely promoting the dull and oft mundane daily rituals of people as provocative, riveting, and jocular thus supplanting society with a horde of myopic pronouns (I, me) quacking of their importance and disintegrating the powerful influence of society.

    Like

    • acflory

      I believe in the individual but… There is always a but isn’t there?
      Society is an unspoken contract between all individuals. The contract requires that individuals give up some of their individual freedoms – i.e. the ‘right’ to kill each other whenever the mood strikes – in order to gain the safety of the collective. Somewhere along the line we reneged on that contract and, as you say, we reverted to me-me-me instead of us-and-we.

      I don’t know how to fix things in the US because we have a different mindset in Australia. We are anti-authoritarian and irreverent, but we also believe that society has responsibilities for those less fortunate. So we pay medicare levies and get angry when our social services aren’t up to scratch.

      I truly hope that doesn’t change but… the times are evolving and we all have to play catch-up.

      Like

  • Candy Korman

    Brilliant, simple and sensible idea about ammunition.

    Also, the pundits keep advising parents to limit their kids’ TV time with the shooting the lead story on every news report. I’m not a child, but… I’m limiting my exposure this week. I can’t handle those details right now. Read a book or watch a movie or play a game… step back from the video.

    Like

    • acflory

      I know the media are only doing it because it’s sensational, but I pray the unexpected result will be a tidal wave of public outrage that will finally force government, and even lobby groups, to begin the process of change.

      We can hope, right?

      Like

  • lorddavidprosser

    Like most brilliant ideas, quite simple. Now it’s a case of getting them to adopt it. There are many ways to improve things without removing their toys totally since I know some who’d scream and throw their dummy from the pram but the first one that should be, no MUST be done is to pull back all automatic weapons since there’s no excuse for having one in the home.
    Teachers in America often get a bad press, this shows just what heros and heroines there are who care for our children. It’s time to honour them by making sure no others have to put up with this happening again.

    Like

    • acflory

      Yes and yes. Military grade weapons are insane. And I hope those teachers receive a posthumous medal of valour. No consolation to their families, no consolation at all, but perhaps the rest of society needs that formal recognition of bravery to give us the courage to do what must be done.

      Like

  • littlemissobsessivesanatomy

    Meeka the sandy hook tragedy is just too hard to not think about… i read about this teacher who hid her students and told the gunman that they all were in gym..he killed her and walked away…she died a hero…

    defensive wounds is so saddening 😦 how could that guy look into the faces of innocent kids and do this

    Like

  • metan

    I am a long time reader of Becoming not Became and read his post this morning, I too think it is a good idea. I know that there are people out there wh have the ability to create their own ammunition but surely to considerably restrict the availablility of it can only help.

    Like

    • acflory

      I know nothing about guns but I figure we’re all into convenience so not having bullets would have to dampen the enthusiasm a bit.

      Like

      • metan

        And then the horror of this suggestion today by republican Mark McCullough, that teachers and school supervisors recieve training so that they can carry firearms at school and school events.
        His idea is to stop these kinds of shootings by having more guns. I depair of a solution ever being found when people like this have a say 😦

        Like

        • acflory

          I know… it beggars belief. I mean, shooting someone isn’t something you can ‘train’, at least not into the kind of teacher I used to be. Complete madness, but then everything seems mad at the moment. 😦

          Like

          • metan

            A few days later and I thought you might be interested in this article about all the other US shootings in that week(in case you haven’t already seen it). http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/world/obama-vows-action-after-online-petition/story-fnd134gw-1226542151230

            Like

          • acflory

            62 mass shootings in the last 30 years? That is… christ, it’s beyond insane. I knew things were bad but I had no idea how bad.And the NRA’s solution?

            Like

          • metan

            What a great solution it is too, giving the community even more guns. 😦
            I don’t understand how they think guards in schools will help. Unless the shooter starts up right where the guard is stationed how will they be able to help?

            Really, there are very few school shootings aren’t there? So all it means is that the guard will be trained in skills they are not likely to ever have to use, and have to wait in a totally non-threatening environment on the alert for a danger that is unlikely to ever come. What great job satisfaction. Another recipe for disaster I think.

            The summary of other shootings in that article are heartbreaking. The lives of those who love of that child shot while sitting in a car are no less ruined that those of Sandy Hook but no guard would have helped there would it?

            P.S. you might want to change your amount of replies, some of the comments on your original Sandy Hook post are veeeeery skinny 😉

            Like

          • acflory

            Agreed to all your points, especially the one about the effectiveness of ‘guards’ who have nothing to do year in year out.

            And apologies for the skinnies! I originally set the nesting level to 10, not realising /how/ those ten levels would play out. 😦 I’m not game to change it back to something more reasonable in case I lose some of those skinny comments. Will definitely fix things for the next post.

            Hope you and your family have had an awesome Christmas Day.:)

            Like

          • metan

            Don’t apologize! 🙂 I thought you probably didn’t realize they were getting so thin. I wouldn’t want to chance losing the comments by changing it either!

            I hope you and the daughter had a great xmas, and that santa bought you all you needed 😀

            Like

          • acflory

            You know I wish there was some way you could print off all these incredible comments onto one long wall hanging. They gave me back my faith in the goodness of ordinary people, my friends in particular. 😀

            Love you all!

            Like

Don't be shy!

