A community service announcement – freebie alert!

I’m Australian and we don’t really do Halloween, although I believe the custom is growing amongst the younger generation – by which I mean anyone younger than 50! So please don’t come to my door expecting treats coz you ain’t gonna get none!

There is one treat I can offer though, and that’s a free novella or three. 😀 My good friend Candy Korman is literally giving away her wonderful stories for free until November 1st, including her brand new one – POED. I’ve been waiting for this one for quite a while,  so as soon as I finish here I’ll be heading over to pick up my own copy to complete my collection. You can expect a review tout suite, but honestly, why wait? If you have any doubts, you can read my reviews of Candy’s first two Monster novellas here, and here. Trust me, POED will be every bit as good as its siblings.  And if you haven’t read any of Candy’s Monsters then jump in and grab yourself 3 bargains as well as 3 very special treats! 

And now, over to Candy :

Tricks & Treats!
Posted on October 29, 2012

A few years ago I made an unusual New Year’s Resolution: I will eat only good chocolate. It turned out to be one resolution I could, and did, keep. It’s extended to every year since.

Even my Halloween offerings are good chocolate or not chocolate at all. Living, as I do, in an apartment building with few Trick or Treating aged kids, I hang a black, spider-web shaped basket on my doorknob and fill it with sweet treats. My neighbors and the staff in the building know where to find “the good stuff” so I have no need to advertise. I also fill my pockets with give out candies all day long.

This year, I’m expanding the reach of my Halloween treats to my Internet friends and their friends. All three of my Candy’s Monsters ebooks will be FREE for three days! October 30, October 31 & November 1 are FREE MONSTER DAYS.

Three Monsters?

Yes, three! If all goes well (Frankenstorm & formatting folks) POED will be available in time for Halloween and FREE!

POED is my tribute to the master of gothic horror, Edgar Allan Poe. I hope that both Poe fanatics and readers who haven’t dipped their toes into the depth of Poe’s dark and twisted, macabre stew since they were 12, will enjoy my story.

“The Mary Shelley Game” (my mystery inspired by “Frankenstein”) and “Bram Stoker’s Summer Sublet” (my dark comedy, vampire un-romance inspired by “Dracula”) and “POED” are my Halloween treats for readers. I’ve got some nice dark chocolate caramels for my door. Too bad I can’t send them along with the ebooks.

* * *

Breaking News! Just before posting, I received an email from Candy. She is in NYC and has been hit hard – no electricity, no hot water, no nothing – and had to go to a friend’s place to get online. If you can help her do some last minute marketing I know she would be very grateful.

Meeks

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

11 responses to “A community service announcement – freebie alert!

  • metan

    No hot water? That is the ultimate insult 😦 Poor Candy, I have been wondering how she was going.

    Monster books as a freebie for Halloween is very appropriate, isn’t it! I have already zoomed over and got POED, hopefully others will too 🙂

    Like

    • acflory

      I have it too and I’m hoping this awful catastrophe ends soon. I remember back when there was that gas explosion in Gippsland? About 20 years ago. We had to go to Mum’s place to shower for 3 weeks because she had electric hot water. I just can’t imagine not having any water at all. And no lights and no heating. It’s getting chilly over there. 😦

      Like

      • metan

        We were lucky back then and had electric hot water. My family lived up the road and came over for regular showers until all was restored. We really take for granted how easy life is don’t we? As soon as we are deprived of what we consider the neccessities life falls apart. So many people in the world don’t even have these things to be deprived of them. Doesn’t make it any easier for those in NY though 😦

        Like

        • acflory

          You’re so right. 😦 And our modern life makes situations like these ever worse in a way. Living in a modern city you can’t just go out into your backyard and make a bonfire to warm yourself up, or a bbq to cook some food…

          Like

          • metan

            I would really hate to be living in an apartment building without power, you can’t just wander outside for a breath of fresh air without negotiating darkened stairwells 😦 Scary stuff.

            Like

          • acflory

            Ugh – I hadn’t even thought of /that/. 😦 It just seems to get worse and worse the more we imagine what it must be like.

            Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    Poor thing–what a time for her to be without power. I’ve downloaded my copy, and I’ll go spread the word on Twitter. 🙂

    Like

Don't be shy!

