An explanation and a question

This wasn’t the post I meant to write today but after getting the single, biggest weekend response to my post – Janome MyLock 744D – I had no choice.

First and foremost, apologies to my regulars. I know I’ve done a few strange posts in my time but the Janome one definitely takes the prize. You see, it was not really meant to be a post at all…

So what happened? As they say in the classics, it was a comedy of errors and started when I decided to sell my overlocker [sort of like a sewing machine but not] on Ebay. Being a first time seller, it never occurred to me that buyers might want to see what it looked like, so I didn’t attach a picture with the sales blurb. Imagine my embarrassment when two potential buyers messaged me asking for a picture. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Then the thick plottened. When I tried to upload a picture after the fact, either my browser, or Ebay itself, chucked a wobbly and I simply couldn’t upload this all-important picture.

What was I to do? Being a resourceful blogger I quickly inserted the picture in a post and directed my Ebay buyers to my blog. Never, never, did I expect anyone else to bother looking at that un-post. I rarely post on a weekend because so few people read my blog on a weekend. I should have been safe. Instead, 51ย people checked it out. I was flabbergasted as I had only directed 2…ย two… people to that picture. Where did everyone else come from?

I still don’t know what happened with that un-post, or why it received so many hits on a weekend but I’m kind of devastated that it did. Putting that post up took maybe 5 minutes at most, and that included taking the pic and resizing it. My ‘real’ posts take hours and involve much thought, editing and careful checking. My better posts get hits between 50 and 60 if I’m lucky.

What am I doing wrong?

Cheers from a very confused Meeks.

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

29 responses to “An explanation and a question

  • Stephanie Allen Crist

    Some “readers” prefer pics. It’s as simple as that. This whole digital Internet thing is, like trailers, a very visual medium. For those of us who aren’t very visual…it can drag down our numbers.

    Like

  • Colin

    I have stopped being puzzled about what brings people to my blog. My top articles are about sex and religion, and I don’t really write about either. I don’t have anything to offer to people seeking god, except “stop looking for him!” and *cough* I don’t talk about that other stuff, unless there’s an obscure joke I can make about it.

    But why are you selling whatever it was called? My aunt has this huge sewing machine, and she’d never think of selling it.

    Like

    • acflory

      For me the question is more ‘why did I ever buy it in the first place?’ I’m really not that into sewing at all. I must have had a moment of pre-christmas madness when I bought it. Anyway, I’ve now sold it! So with the proceeds I’m going to buy a very basic, ordinary sewing machine with no fancy, confusing bits. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  • littlemissobsessivesanatomy

    hahaha…Meeka i wish i could…i too fall in category where the good days for my blog gets just 40-50 hits… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  • Patricia Awapara

    LOL!!! that was a fun post to read after a week of being disconnected. All the comments above have a good point. Try Google Analytics to search for better tags.
    By the way, I hope you sold your machine! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  • Candy Korman

    A picture is worth 51 words?

    Maybe the search algorithm liked the photo? That would be my guess. and, if you were selling a lot of things on a e-commerce site, you might moan that 51 responses were way too few.

    LOL… A perfect storm, storm of a generation, etc. is hitting the east coast of the US right now. I’ve got silly storm thoughts invading my brain. Everything is off kilter.

    Like

  • alexlaybourne

    I’m not sure I can really be of help on the stats question Meeks, I struggle to understand my own or how to generate more. I believe that good writing will find people, so I would advise to just carry on doing what you are doing. Your posts are great, and the people will come.

    Like

  • geooorge

    It’s because a lot of people were looking for what you were selling and checked the image. They either just didn’t bother looking asking for the image, or they came in after you posted it.
    Don’t think you are doing anything wrong ๐Ÿ˜€ It was advertisement.

    Like

  • kmtreat

    I say don’t question why but enjoy the fact that many more may have found your blog through this comedy of errors and may have learned more about dysautonomia in the process. Cheers!

    Like

  • Jennifer

    Same here. My more random posts have been widely read, while others I think are worthy, get no response… ??
    I came over as it appeared in my email and I wondered what the hell you writing about an over locker for…
    Carrie Ruben, it’s an over locker, or maybe called a serger.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  • metan

    Did you check out your stats to see what kind of search engine terms bought the views?
    I zoomed over as I have been following Blueys conversation about sewing and thought that you might be showing us something related to that.
    I know that my most popular posts are sometimes completely unexpected too and make me doubt what I normally write about and the ones I worked most on might barely rate a mention.
    Maybe it was just that the title you used for the post was search friendly and this spring cleaning weather has bought out all the home tailors?

    Like

    • acflory

      I’m so glad I’m not the only one. And yes, you could be right about the spring cleaning weather. I did check the search terms and they didn’t seem to be related so I’m totally baffled.

      Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    I’m still trying to figure out what a Janome MyLock 744D is… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  • jenniferscoullar

    I put up a photo of a birthday cake, and a gingerbread house once. they are still my second most popular search terms. After your experience, I’ll just post some random domestic-goddess-type photo when I want more hits!

    Like

    • acflory

      LMAO – I’m going to make a new category called ‘Domestic Goddess’ and experiment too! You know the odd thing is I didn’t even bother to put any tags on that photo… -shakes head-

      The most unexpected part though is that I’ve started chatting with 3 of the potential buyers and they are such nice ladies, really forgiving of my lack of experience and very helpful with advice as well. Go figure. Life is strange but nice.

      Like

Don't be shy!

