Janome MyLock 744d

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

16 responses to “Janome MyLock 744d

    • acflory

      lmao – NO! I knew I should have added an explanatory. You see I’m actually trying to /sell/ the overlocker on Ebay! Someone asked for a picture and Ebay was glitching on the upload so in desperation I put the pic on my blog.

      I did make the attempt to use the overlocker but then I discovered that even with my reading glasses on I couldn’t see well enough to work out how to thread it. 😦

      If it sells then I’m going to buy just a very basic sewing machine that will allow me to make doona covers and repair stuff. That’s really all I wanted the overlocker for as well. I’ve never done any fancy sewing. -sigh- Sometimes I’m not very sensible.

      Like

      • Courtenay Bluebird

        OH! Well, that’s all right then!

        Question: What’s a doona cover?

        Second question: Are you planning to sew stretchy fabrics or woven fabrics? (For instance, stretchy might be a jersey knit t-shirt and a woven might be a broadcloth button down shirt.)

        Of course you’re sensible. Most of the clothes that we own are finished with a serger/overlocker that does that four way stitch. It would make sense to want to get something that will recreate those stitches for repairs.

        However, a sewing machine is much more straightforward, especially one that just sews. (Unlike, say, a sewing machine/embroidering machine because there are some that do both and that’s quite confusing.)

        Not that you needed my approval/opinion/two cents, et al. Gosh, I’m feeling chatty tonight! Hi Meeka! πŸ™‚

        Like

        • acflory

          -giggles- Hi Bluey!

          Question 1 : a doona cover is probably what you’d call a duvet cover??? Feather doonas [duvets] are very popular here but I don’t like the channeled ones. Instead I buy japarra [very fine weave suitable for holding feathers] and good quality down and make my own. It’s dead easy. Just sew a big rectangular sack [double seams] fill with about 1/2 kg of fine down. [The down goes everywhere no matter how careful you are so I always do the filling the the bathroom. πŸ™‚ Sew off the open end and you have an old fashioned, European style doona. It has to be shaken every night but in summer I just shake the down to one side and I’m super comfortable, even in the heat.

          Question 2 : no, I really don’t have much in the way of ‘stretchy’ stuff so all I need is a very basic machine. I sew things like curtains, pillow cases, duvet covers etc. I’m not really a fine seamstress. πŸ˜€

          Like

        • Courtenay Bluebird

          I am learning so much from you! I just looked up japarraβ€” it’s a name for a type of fabric I know, but had no idea what it is called! And the duvet instructions are dead useful!

          I’ve always wanted to make a down duvet cover. They look easy, but the feathers, oh my gosh, the feathers!

          Please talk to me about curtains. I really need decent curtains and drapes in this house. The ones that are up are sad affairs, and some windows, like my office, have a temporary covering (a rather nice bamboo door cover that should be back on its proper door)!

          Tomorrow, my quilting class begins. *Gulp!*

          Like

        • acflory

          Gah… the last time I made curtains they were for my daughter’s room upstairs. Her large windows look fantastic but would have cost the earth to cover because…they come to a point at the top. 😦 I managed it but… I’m not going to tell you how much I hate sewing curtains now.

          Good luck with the quilting. You can do it!

          Like

  • pinkagendist

    It’s a JEWEL!!!!!!!!!!!!! You can’t sell that. What’s troubling you with the threading? Have you used a threading wire to help? I can only thread a machine with a wire (and usually getting down on my knees so I can stick my head very much closer to it…)

    Like

  • kmtreat

    My mother has a serger. I have never really wanted one. I sew, zigzag or pink my seams.

    Like

    • acflory

      My sewing needs are pretty basic so I never really needed an overlocker : I just wanted one. Then I discovered that it scared me witless AND my eyesight has become worse as I get older so now I can’t thread…. -sigh-

      Please read my latest post to explain about the Janome.

      Like

  • lorddavidprosser

    I’m just happy to find out this isn’t your new alter ego or an admission that you’re really from outer space. Phew !!

    Like

  • metan

    The Ol’ Janome being put out to pasture eh? I read the title of the post and thought that you were about to unveil some sort of recently created masterpiece!

    We will be keeping an eye on you…. are you sure you are buying a new machine? πŸ˜‰

    Like

Don't be shy!

