Wednesday update

Yes, it is Wednesday here in lovely, downunder Australia. The sky is overcast but the sun is shining through, in spots. In other words, it’s a typical spring day in the southern part of Oz. When I look out of my office [read broom cupboard] I can see the alpacas gorging themselves on the spring grass. Just for now, the grass is winning as it’s growing faster than the alpacas can chew.

My fruit trees are also doing a wonderful job of embracing spring’s call to go forth and multiply. At last count I have 3 peach trees covered with tiny green fruit, one apricot, one quince, one fig, and if I’m very lucky, maybe one apple as well. This year’s crop of garlic is promising to be twice as lovely and smelly as last year and my deck garden is blooming. The only thing that is looking a little sad is the large pot of watercress – the cats seem to enjoy sitting there. Ah well…

There is growth happening in my digital world as well. My blog for readers – The Books your favourite Authors read – has grown with the welcome addition of Jennifer Scoullar, author of Brumby’s Run. Jennifer is another aussie, like me, and her love for and understanding of this ancient, peculiar land informs every word she writes.

In other news, I’ve just started reading a book called, ‘Hello, My Name is Cancer’. This book is not a novel. I wish it were. Instead it is the very real story of Lady Julia Prosser [wife of Lord David Prosser of My Barsetshire Diary fame’]. Anyone who has read any of Lord David’s books will know her as ‘Lady J’. I’ve never met Lady J but I feel as if I know her. She is feisty, witty, an animal lover – especially when it comes to horses – and she is one of the bravest people I have ever come across.

Lady J has pancreatic cancer but her book is inspiration rather than gloom because she talks with great courage about how toย liveย with this deadly cancer.

A couple of years ago I had a brush with cancer myself, a very treatable cancer and I’m 99.9% sure it won’t get me. But that little bit of fear is always there. It’s not something I talk about because, like Lady J, I am more concerned with life than with the possibility of death. After all, none of us have any written guarantees that we won’t be run down by a bus or suffer any one of the many possible accidents that life can throw at us. So living is what matters. Each day. Every day. As well as we can, and with as much kindness and generosity as we can muster.

So, to anyone who has poor health of any sort, I say read Lady J’s book, and let yourselfย live. It really is a wonderful world out there people. ๐Ÿ™‚

love

Meeks

 

About acflory

I am the kind of person who always has to know why things are the way they are so my interests range from genetics and biology to politics and what makes people tick. For fun I play online mmorpgs, read, listen to a music, dance when I get the chance and landscape my rather large block. Work is writing. When a story I am working on is going well I'm on cloud nine. On bad days I go out and dig big holes... View all posts by acflory

18 responses to “Wednesday update

  • kmtreat

    Thank you for a wonderful post. I couldn’t find this book on Amazon. It is available though on Lulu.com. I have made a note of it on my bulletin board and will order it as soon as I get caught up my current stack of books to read on the shelf. By the way to join the author blog does having a book in the process of submission count to join?

    Like

    • acflory

      I set a rather arbitrary rule that I’d include only published books but the instant you publish, however you publish, I’d love to have you on the blog! lol I’m not allowed on there either.

      Like

  • Candy Korman

    it seems like almost everyone I know has their brush with Cancer. For me it’s melanoma โ€” twice. My vampire-pale skin is a tribute to my care about the sun. Oh, well… you do what you have to do.

    Spring in Australia sounds lovely and the Alpaca lawn mowers just make me giggle. In this hemisphere we’re moving quickly toward the dark and cold winter, but Autumn is, famously, fun in New York so there are compensations at both ends of the calendar.

    Like

    • acflory

      Ouch. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Melanoma is a major worry here in Australia too because we are sun lovers, hole in the ozone layer or no. My skin is olive so I’m fairly safe but I still try to stay out of the sun during the worst hours. Remember, ladies used to carry parasols to keep their complexions pale and lovely! You’re just a little outside your natural era. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  • Carrie Rubin

    “So living is what matters. Each day. Every day. As well as we can, and with as much kindness and generosity as we can muster.”—Loved these words of yours. So much truth.

    Oh, and I wish I had a peach tree in my backyard. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  • Madame Weebles

    I really wish I had an alpaca. They’re so cute. I’ll have to look for Lady J’s book. It’s books like that that can help put everything in perspective and keep us remembering the good, big stuff instead of the little pesky details.

    Like

  • lorddavidprosser

    Having people like you in the world and all the positive people out there makes it a much better place. It certainly is for me because instead of getting down in the dumps I just have to read some of the letters.
    Yes Ju’s book is only with Lulu at the moment, they take ages to get t on Amazon. Hopefully it will be on kindle soon but please don’t expect a book of epic proportions and great thoughts. This was just Ju’s thoughts from her blog posts so deals mainly with how she feels about her horse friends. She’s not prepared to die and give them up.
    Hugs my friend. xxxxx

    Like

  • Patricia Awapara

    I am glad to read that you are doing well. Attitude makes all the difference.
    All the best! and a really big hug xoxo

    Like

  • Lilly Sue

    That sounds like a very good book. I am going to have to put it on my list of books to read. Thanks for sharing ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Don't be shy!

